learning japanese

XasakuraX

hihi ppl. just found this thread after goggling for bunka sch.

i m currently looking for jap sch to learn jap, ultimate aim is to take jlpt tests.

i took jap lang in uni already as elective till level 2 so most prob would prefer to take placement test. any idea how much those schs charged for placement test and what is the format of placement test?

main considerations in choosing the sch is the quality of teacher n price of course.
ikoma is more exp than bunka?

if u r in any sch, is there a particular teacher tt u would highly rec?

thz in advance =)

dimitri_can

Sakuraさん、

HWZへようこそ。

来年以降、JLPTはレベルが五つになってしまい、新しい2級はもっと難しくなります。

イコマのほうは入学試験がありませんが、先生のご相談が必要です。文化のほうも同じですね。

2級のクラスに参加したかったら、イコマのほうがいいと思いますが、受講料は高いです。
でも、ノートはすばらしいと思っています。

そちらで、金井美奈子という先生がいらっしゃっています。

人によって、それぞれの意見がありますので、いろいろな意見を聞いてから、自分でお決まりください。

それでは

XasakuraX

omg. thz for the welcome but is this my placement test from u? hahaha. i took my level 2 2yrs ago lah. forget most liao. if take placement test i will mug thou. haha.

think u misunderstood sth, my level 2 means the level of the jap elective in my uni, not the jlpt level 2. my teacher said complete level 2 is ard jlpt 3-4 standard. haha. anyway,i not so zai to understand all u wrote. haha.

"来年以降、JLPTはレベルが五つになってしまい、新しい2級はもっと難しくなります。"
from i understand, u r saying that from nxt yr onwards, jlpt will be reclassify into 5 levels n the new jlpt level 2, which is N2 from what i know, would be more difficult than current jlpt 2.

"イコマのほうは入学試験がありませんが、先生のご相談が必要です。"
there is no placement test from ikoma n i have to talk to the teacher if i wan jump class?

"文化のほうも同じですね" => i dun understand. haha.

"2級のクラスに参加したかったら、イコマのほうがいいと思いますが、受講料は高いです。でも、ノートはすばらしいと思っています。"
dun really understand oso. u saying the course fees is expensive but the notes are good?

"そちらで、金井美奈子という先生がいらっしゃっています。"
u r saying these 2 teachers gd?

"人によって、それぞれの意見がありますので、いろいろな意見を聞いてから、自分でお決まりください。"
u saying diff ppl got diff opinions, so i have to make the decision myself?

haha. hopefully i interpreted correctly. lolx.

oh, btw, is asakura, not sakura >< dunnoe y so many ppl see as sakura leh. lolx.

dimitri_can

asakuraさん、

失礼いたしました。

"文化のほうも同じですね" => i dun understand. haha.
ー>placement もないです

dun really understand oso. u saying the course fees is expensive but the notes are good?

->そうです

"そちらで、金井美奈子という先生がいらっしゃっています。"
u r saying these 2 teachers gd?

ー>1人だけ。金井先生です(JLPT2級)

XasakuraX

"placement もないです" means what ar? what is monaidesu?

is one teacher ar? haha. i tot is 2 cos i read as 金井美奈子 と いう先生. lolx. so this teacher only teaches jlpt 2 classes? meaning is advance de class?

so u r student of ikoma now? how's the teachering style like?

Ah_keong

i m currently looking for jap sch to learn jap, ultimate aim is to take jlpt tests.

i took jap lang in uni already as elective till level 2 so most prob would prefer to take placement test. any idea how much those schs charged for placement test and what is the format of placement test?

main considerations in choosing the sch is the quality of teacher n price of course.

thz in advance =)
Hi Asakura!
I was wondering if
u mean u took Jap as UE/GE in NTU for elective till level 2?

azumangadaioh

thz in advance =)

In Bunka, placement tests are FREE. You can choose to take multiple tests of different levels ALL at the SAME TIME [ only need to call in to inform the reception desk, best to finish your papers before 1830hrs on weekdays before evening class starts ]. Since you mentioned it has been some time since you studied, you may want to look at the various textbooks of different levels [ the main textbook for the course ] by asking from the reception desk.

Format of placement tests [ all written ] will include a table of conjugation to fill in the various forms, fill in the blanks [ particles ], fill in the blanks [ change a word into it's suitable form to fit into the sentence ], write the correct kanji when hiragana is provided and vice versa [ for Intermediate levels and higher ], translate sentences into Japanese [ between 5 to 10 depending on level ] and answering questions from a passage.

Price wise, I think you can compare just by looking at websites bah. I join the school because I only need to pay 230+ [ Int levels onwards ] every 2 months [ and get to take a break if I want, plus 2 FREE replacement classes per course if I have something on ], rather than cough out a fair amount for a 6mth course, not knowing if my work will interrupt, something comes up, or go overseas, etc.

The best person in my opinion will be the head trainer, teaching Pre-advanced classes [ sometimes PA1 if you are lucky, but normally PA2, PA3 ], Advanced, BJT, in-house training for companies. But you have to be able to take the heat, as she is blunt in pointing out mistakes, most of my coursemates in JLPT3 prep class were quite stressed being taught by her. Benefit is you get instant feedback right at your face, so to speak.

XasakuraX

thz for the advice!

does bunka open classes thru out e yr or only during dec?

i dunnoe which level cos i see the bunka website highlight some stuff learnt in elementary course then some learn b4 some nvr. lolx,

do u have the email of the bunka admin so i can email them to ask some questions? their on9 feedback form is bugged! i cant submit using all different browsers and bunka doesnt even leave a contact email...

hayami2008

hi folks, i've lurking on the forum for very long, and really enjoyed reading all your posts, it's been a great help for me to get info about jlpt test and school. Recently I think of signing up the jlpt prep course in ikoma next yr, i was told that iwata, moriyama and kanai sensei will most likely be teaching the course. May I know which of them is good? thanks!

and i'm also struggling between the pre-adv course in ikoma and bunka. I heard that bunka pre-adv course focused more for speaking, is it true? can anyone who has taken bunka or ikoma preadvance course advice on what is a typical day in class like? thanks thanks

anfield22

@asakura they have new classes starting throughout the year. you can check their course schedules through their site.

my experiences are limited, but maybe i can share some stuff; in general, courses conducted by the schools are meant to be learnt as a whole, not in parts. for example, you can say that bunka's PA focuses on conversation, but that's probably because alot of grammar had already been done in the INT levels.

they do this for a number of possible reasons; the importance they place in foundations, strong foundation enabling students to learn more advanced aspects more quickly, student motivation being higher at the beginning etc.

if you love the language and stick with any good school for a reasonable amount of time, whichever school you choose, you will still end up being proficient in the language.

don't be too concerned about being able to pass the jlpt. is there any other way to pass the jlpt than by being good in the language? then worry about being proficient in the language instead, it will make you happier.

and if cannot email then call lah, instant response, i guarantee you they will answer whatever queries you have on the spot. no need to be shy :D

XasakuraX

bunka placement test is free ar? but they wrote must decide the class u wan upon the results of the test leh.

"(a) If you pass, you are obligated to pay up the full amount for the course that you have decided on"

as in it sounds like u r obliged to enroll in their class once u take their placement test? i mean althou i m looking for courses to join, i dun really like the feel tt u r obliged to join their sch. hahaha.

dimitri_can

hi folks, i've lurking on the forum for very long, and really enjoyed reading all your posts, it's been a great help for me to get info about jlpt test and school. Recently I think of signing up the jlpt prep course in ikoma next yr, i was told that iwata, moriyama and kanai sensei will most likely be teaching the course. May I know which of them is good? thanks!

and i'm also struggling between the pre-adv course in ikoma and bunka. I heard that bunka pre-adv course focused more for speaking, is it true? can anyone who has taken bunka or ikoma preadvance course advice on what is a typical day in class like? thanks thanks

Ikomaと文化のコースは会話コースです。来年、2級を受けますか。したっけ(札幌弁)、イコマのコースのほうがいいと思います。一応、IkomaのPre-Advancedコースと文化のPre-Advancedコースと、どちら選んでも、2級が受けられません。Ikomaは1月の中旬、2級準備コースが行い、Bunkaは6月だと思います。

学校で聞いたら、いいと思いますね。

XasakuraX

wow. a whole bunch of jap again... u japanese or u learnt jap?

no offence intended but it does get bit annoying to see whole bunch of words i dun understand n having to decipher word by word..it's not like we r at a japanese forum or a thread that u have to use pure japanese. thread name is "learning japanese" so i suppose most of us here are not really tt proficient in japanese as u supposed we are? unless u r japanese and have problems expressing urself clearly in english, i would really appreciate if u can avoid using japanese unless really necessary ;)

so wld u mind translating what you just wrote?

Lew_Lian

asakuraさん、

haha sorry for butting in. yup one might feel that the course fees are expensive. however i feel that the fees are worth it. the notes are good, and really ALOT.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.