LED lights really not worth it sia

BunnyPancake

We were always told the 'benefits' of it - it saves electricity and can last very long, blah blah.

But then when you ownself want to replace, it is a bit complicated. Either need to hire handyman or ownself refer to tutorials and ownself figure out.

I managed to do ownself... But it is hell. I cannot replace it at night then must endure until next morning... Have to use table lamp. Then next morning when want to replace, must unscrew so many parts. Then I realised we got tricked because we were told LED light could last 5,000 hours or what, but then when I counted it barely even reached 2,000 hours as advertised.

And depending where you installed the LED light, it can be pointless. For example, toilet... You don't use toilet for hours what. At most, at night or during dark rainy days, and you usually just use 5-30 mins max.

And if you notice, the LED lights are usually in serial connection (one connecting to the next), so if suay suay after the first LED is burnt, the rest all cannot on liao since there's no 'closed' circuit. And you don't know where is the fault sometimes, the connection or LED adapter.

When want to replace, usually must replace the whole damn thing... Then must unscrew here and there, and replace the compartment just to slot out the LED parts.

I rather stick to my old 8 watt light bulb sua. Just unscrew and put in. Easy.

Also, replace normal light bulb - $5-8. Anyone can do, even your parents or grandma or grandpa.
Replace LED, $15-20; if hire handyman add in $30-50.

BunnyPancake

you can use E27 LED bulbs
still easy to replace
Hannor... Really regret.

Last time HIP scheme, they kept telling us to do LED because save power, bla bla bla.

Then that time govt still give out what "climate change voucher" to encourage people to go LED and/or switch to electricity-efficient appliances.

But in the end, the inconvenience and hassle to replace is just not worth it.

Now I see my other room's LED lights... Jialat, the LED is like inside another plastic shell while the LED adapter is at the other side. Want to replace means must dismantle everything. I'm so not looking forward to replacing that in future.

pippo20

Got so many E27 led easy screw on lightbulb or T5 led lightube, most likely u install those gimmickly led light fittings. Those might as well throw the whole set away, next change u will come edmw post again. Thats how difficult it is to change.

Krabs.

neighbourhood shop's $17.90 led ceiling kit can be bought for $6 online ........ it's meant to chop carrot for people who need it immediately cannot wait

i dont like those kits because CRI less than 80 and they dim 10-15% less every year of intense usage , but it's suitable to use with the existing casing

articland05

Hannor... Really regret.

Last time HIP scheme, they kept telling us to do LED because save power, bla bla bla.

Then that time govt still give out what "climate change voucher" to encourage people to go LED and/or switch to electricity-efficient appliances.

But in the end, the inconvenience and hassle to replace is just not worth it.

Now I see my other room's LED lights... Jialat, the LED is like inside another plastic shell while the LED adapter is at the other side. Want to replace means must dismantle everything. I'm so not looking forward to replacing that in future.
I'm planning to use my climate voucher to hoot led lights for my false ceiling:o

BunnyPancake

neighbourhood shop's $17.90 led ceiling kit can be bought for $6 online ........ it's meant to chop carrot for people who need it immediately cannot wait

i dont like those kits below CRI less than 80 and they dim 10-15% less every year of intense usage , but it's suitable to use with the existing casing
^ THIS!

That time my toilet light also down. I ownself replace too.

But that time my father helped me go and buy the LED since I wasn't at home. I told him I will pass him money later.... I was expecting $15 max.

He got scammed. He paid like $26-28 for it and they upsell him what "RGB LED". When I go online check, knn, that "RGB LED" is like $15 only; while the just normal white LED light is just $8.

F**king scammers. No wonder the shop boss huat until can have foreign wife and smile all day.

shidenx

We were always told the 'benefits' of it - it saves electricity and can last very long, blah blah.

But then when you ownself want to replace, it is a bit complicated. Either need to hire handyman or ownself refer to tutorials and ownself figure out.

I managed to do ownself... But it is hell. I cannot replace it at night then must endure until next morning... Have to use table lamp. Then next morning when want to replace, must unscrew so many parts. Then I realised we got tricked because we were told LED light could last 5,000 hours or what, but then when I counted it barely even reached 2,000 hours as advertised.

And depending where you installed the LED light, it can be pointless. For example, toilet... You don't use toilet for hours what. At most, at night or during dark rainy days, and you usually just use 5-30 mins max.

And if you notice, the LED lights are usually in serial connection (one connecting to the next), so if suay suay after the first LED is burnt, the rest all cannot on liao since there's no 'closed' circuit. And you don't know where is the fault sometimes, the connection or LED adapter.

When want to replace, usually must replace the whole damn thing... Then must unscrew here and there, and replace the compartment just to slot out the LED parts.

Also, replace normal light bulb - $5-8. Anyone can do, even your parents or grandma or grandpa.
There are led gu10s. Your issue is with led strip not led technology itself.

wongminmin

lol. led don't spoil... what spoil is the driver. heat is main cause for driver to spoil

i tell chiu a funny story.....
my frd bought a compact easy to replace led light..... i told her... this design no air circulation, the driver will easy spoil.. but she insist.... Less than 1 year spoil liao. :LOL::LOL::LOL:

my led so far work 5~7 years without any issue. only got 1 time the led burnt less than 2 years.
Anyway, only cost $1~$3 each. local selling like $8~15. lol

led can't see the diff in electricity.
However, led is brighter... meaning u use 18 watts , can achieve 36 watts brightness.

Now factories, hdb, lta, nea etc also using led liao...

also not hard to replace... just get this..... less than 5 mins work.
sg-11134103-7rdxo-m05q4i34rbhi42.webp

if chiu find it hard, just change to e27 socket..... and use led light bulb.
sg-11134103-7rdwi-lyx0aeq1iqss7e.webp

weng0202

^ THIS!

But that time my father helped me go and buy the LED since I wasn't at home. I told him I will pass him money later.... I was expecting $15 max.

He got scammed. He paid like $26-28 for it and they upsell him what "RGB LED". When I go online check, knn, that "RGB LED" is like $15 only; while the just normal white LED light is just $8.

F**king scammers. No wonder the shop boss huat until can have foreign wife and smile all day.
Physical shop usually is more expensive because of rental, staff, utilities, etc. if you don't wanna wait, of course must pay more. Why you make it sound like they trying to scam you? If you don't wanna pay, then buy online and wait a few days lor.

I bought my led downlights online and they are quite lasting. I think some already used for 10 years liao but over time they do become dimmer.

Joseph12

Yes
Actually it's a electrician's job
They must be secretly laughing when asked to go to change lighting at people's houses

o blong

^ THIS!

Dun tio scam bah

Light strip minimum standard is xiaomi or philips. Use long time no problem

If u trust contractor bring xyz brand to ur house means is cumg0ng

weng0202

Yes
Actually it's a electrician's job
They must be secretly laughing when asked to go to change lighting at people's houses
The most important thing is the electrician who did the wiring for your lights during renovation must do properly. This will help a lot when you wanna change lights and stuff. Luckily my lights seem to run parallel so if one got problem, the rest still works.

OddEye

Tough part is the wiring those wires are so thin...

tyhand39

He is referring to the LED strip light?

you really think so?

"When want to replace, usually must replace the whole damn thing... Then must unscrew here and there, and replace the compartment just to slot out the LED parts."

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.