LED lights really not worth it sia

shidenx

d51b09d950704b8d823b1a8e79d604a5

Gu 10 led bulb. No wiring no led driver. Buy screw in throw also.

pwongkk

How come TS got problems? Unless he is not electrical trained.

15 years ago when I did my reno, I was still deciding to go LED or not. Prices in sg was high. I bought 2 LED lights in from TB 6 months before my reno. I have some doubts on the quality since it was so much cheaper than in sg. When arrived, the connection was damm simple, 3 connections needed - E, N & L. I connected these 2 units to the 3 pin plug and powered them up to simulate normal usage. 3 months of testing, no problems encountered and I purchased in large qty in, with 3 extras in case they blew. Till now all the led lights are still working well, zero replacements done. Nobdimming over the years. The brand is Philips.

If need to change the unit, it's quite simple, at the sides there are 2 spring clips to hold it to the ceiling. Just need to push the clips up and the unit can be taken down.

My altar also used LED, LED strip. Powered on for 15 years 24x7, only turned off for half a day for cny cleaning. To date, the LED strips still working well, only changed 1 power supply.

Over at parents house, modded the round florescent light to LED. Closing to 10 years, it is still working well.

wongminmin

those LED ceiling kits like to give these tool-free connector free
i used it once ..... 1 week later it loosen because the wire itself don't like to be bend .......... since then i rather use back my own connectors the traditional screw type .... too many in toolbox cannot use finish for decades
this 1 is for thin wires
if thick 1, u still need to use screw type connector.

Krabs.

Anyone using this type for rooms?

8718699619060_800x.jpg
ufo type focus more to downward and less wasted at shining sideways on wall

the maximum is 24watt only i think

if the ceiling socket is at middle of room or kitchen ...... if what you are doing is near the edge of the room and facing the wall .... example cooking on stove , reading on desk ....... your head will directly cast a shadow and make your task darker , cannot see into the cooking wok
second bad point is the ufo ontop collect dust and oil more than pineapple shape bulb ....... pineapple shape philips have up to 50watt in e27 socket

Krabs.

old stock philips e27 are CRI 80 ...... newer stock these few years have CRI 90 ........ exclude those 40w 50w industrial bulb which are still CRI 80

CRI is the color vibrancy when you look indoor at night
fluorescent tube are CRI 70 and below , excluding those CRI 90+ for photography studio
when you go from F tube to LED .... that 10 CRI difference can be felt immediately all the colorful objects that never meet sunshine looks more lively , you've never seen that object in that color before

tyhand39

At most 3 for the E wire.

Unless his contractor cut cost by tapping the wire from 1 to another. That makes it 4 to 6 wires.

all the LED light plates sold on market only 2 wires for connection - 1 live, 1 neutral

ichinisan

Using this Phillips UFO LED bulb for store room, I think mine is either 40 or 60w daylight, it's very bright for toilet or storeroom

I use this in the kitchen. Very bright and last a long time.
I will buy another one to replace another dimmer LED, when it breaks.

ufo type focus more to downward and less wasted at shining sideways on wall

the maximum is 24watt only i think

if the ceiling socket is at middle of room or kitchen ...... if what you are doing is near the edge of the room and facing the wall .... example cooking on stove , reading on desk ....... your head will directly cast a shadow and make your task darker , cannot see into the cooking wok
second bad point is the ufo ontop collect dust and oil more than pineapple shape bulb ....... pineapple shape philips have up to 50watt in e27 socket

Was thinking of using this type of E27 ufo led light for rooms. Saw some up to 100w on Lazada.

So this type isn't suitable for rooms?

BunnyPancake

only two wires leh... nothing to unscrew

dun bluff us ok
Sorry, need to clarify: what I meant by "unscrew many things" is the fixture...

Like example, ceiling fan + light... You need to take out the canopy, find the adapter, then still need to take out the LED compartment part to replace the LED light, etc etc. For my model, the LED adapter and everything is below the ceiling fan and in a circular compartment. The LED adapter is at the top which I can see as soon as I unscrew the part... But the LED light part is under a layer that is also screwed to. So I need to do a lot of unscrewing just to replace. Maybe it is just me suay la got this type of fixture...

Anyway, I appreciate everyone for giving recommendations like 'replace socket to fit e27' but my ceiling fan's light compartment won't be able to fit that. But will consider that for other fixture that can fit in.

And thanks to @wongminmin for the suggestion, I think that 2-pin connector will help me tremendously.

Krabs.

Was thinking of using this type of E27 ufo led light for rooms. Saw some up to 100w on Lazada.

only philips brand uses real wattage ....... label put 24 you can really get 23watt on power on ...... as it heat up it drop to 20watt

other no brand china led ..... label say 100watt ....... u only get 30 to 60 watt when you power on and it dips further as it heat ........ 100 only worth's its printed ink to get you to buy , totally unreal

maxsee039

Actually, LED light is worth it on the basis that you make sure the lighting shop helps you to reconfigure your LED lights before selling it to you. My is plug and play LED light so if any LED light is spoil, simply pull out the old one and plug in the new one. *Simple :cool:

coolmyth

But but LED lights much cooler than traditional light bulbs leh. :LOL:

pwongkk

You must unscrew the thing and screw back properly
Good luck if you electrocute yourself
Won't electrocute unless those kam gong go change with the power still on.

I already up 1 level further to DIY repair the drivers. Usually LED or ceiling fans "spoil" is because the capicator in the driver circuit spoil, usually bloated. Changed the capicator and it's back to normal. Over the years, I saved at least a thousand dollars from replacing all the ceiling fans in my house.

menthol28

Can use for rooms, because of it's IFO shape, it's meant as ceiling light which have a far throw of the light, I suggest getting at least 60-100w. I bought this from Mr DIY around $30-40. Btw u got to check your bulb holder base is screw or the pin type, usually it's screw

ichinisan

only philips brand uses real wattage ....... label put 24 you can really get 23watt on power on ...... as it heat up it drop to 20watt

other no brand china led ..... label say 100watt ....... u only get 30 to 60 watt when you power on and it dips further as it heat ........ 100 only worth's its printed ink to get you to buy , totally unreal

I also feel that the 100w is a gimmick lol. So small can reach 100w? :s13:

ichinisan

Can use for rooms, because of it's IFO shape, it's meant as ceiling light which have a far throw of the light, I suggest getting at least 60-100w. I bought this from Mr DIY around $30-40. Btw u got to check your bulb holder base is screw or the pin type, usually it's screw

How many watts are you using? For your storeroom?

Godeau

Who call u install proprietary led systems lol. This is not led problem, it's user problem

Enola88

I start counting the light bulbs at home and just realized there are quite a lot.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.