LED lights really not worth it sia

yuri2

I just replace my ring 32W fluorescent light with LED. Now they make it so easy.
From outside, it looks exactly like FL light, just need to remove the starter and plug in.
It cost $3 more than the FL light.

I have lots of E27 and E14 LEDs. No need to mess around with adapters or single LED. If they break, just throw away. It's not that expensive nowadays.

rider83

Just get those screw types, got E27 and E14 etc..... if u need just get adapters only.

Otherwise, usually just change driver only right?

Joseph12

huh? what's so complicated about LED lights that ownself cannot do?

All I ownself replace at home
You must unscrew the thing and screw back properly
Good luck if you electrocute yourself

wongminmin

my frd give me his philips light bulb..... i find not bright...i just throw away. sg is full of philips fans. :cautious:

from tb, each light bulb cost $1.40... after shipping, $2+ each.... u buy $50, can use for decades.

O1CN01hJNIzm1Jor9vF08Sb_!!0-tbbala.jpg_960x960.jpg_.webp

O1CN01ZAr1s41lmOG2owIvq_!!0-rate.jpg_960x960.jpg_.webp

jowaii89

buy correct socket fixture like e27, then can screw as often as you want.user skill issue.

Flexamoria

Wah jialat my whole house led, plus cove lights, downlight, berak light, feature wall also led :o

Eddedd

Think about it, the replacement part can be tedious because traditional circuit uses more than 1 component. After that phase, you only need to connect just 2 wires for subsequent replacement.

Alphas

My whole house uses about 20 led lights, got cove, spotlight, ceiling light, e27, smart led. Only 1 spoiled in 5 year.

standarture

Now got those tube type even better. Just take out starter can use liao. But LED uniformity really sux to the max and glaring. Your house will a weird shade to it. The distribution pattern is far inferior to the fluorescent lighting. Honestly is a downgrade in every way.

weathersohot

I don't think there's a need to ask handyman to replace LED lights though

The only one that's slightly more tricky is LED light strip, if you need to replace the strip itself - because it requires soldering. But most of the time, it's the driver that has problem.

charlieangel123

We were always told the 'benefits' of it - it saves electricity and can last very long, blah blah.

But then when you ownself want to replace, it is a bit complicated. Either need to hire handyman or ownself refer to tutorials and ownself figure out.

I managed to do ownself... But it is hell. I cannot replace it at night then must endure until next morning... Have to use table lamp. Then next morning when want to replace, must unscrew so many parts. Then I realised we got tricked because we were told LED light could last 5,000 hours or what, but then when I counted it barely even reached 2,000 hours as advertised.

And depending where you installed the LED light, it can be pointless. For example, toilet... You don't use toilet for hours what. At most, at night or during dark rainy days, and you usually just use 5-30 mins max.

And if you notice, the LED lights are usually in serial connection (one connecting to the next), so if suay suay after the first LED is burnt, the rest all cannot on liao since there's no 'closed' circuit. And you don't know where is the fault sometimes, the connection or LED adapter.

When want to replace, usually must replace the whole damn thing... Then must unscrew here and there, and replace the compartment just to slot out the LED parts.

I rather stick to my old 8 watt light bulb sua. Just unscrew and put in. Easy.

Also, replace normal light bulb - $5-8. Anyone can do, even your parents or grandma or grandpa.
Replace LED, $15-20; if hire handyman add in $30-50.
no lie to u how to keep the world moving with your money

Jjxjjjyy

Actually the first led u replace have the most steps; I have hip dud contact do one led replacement for me nia(no coys will do just one if do also kan ex). Wa Kua him unscrew a lot like what u mentioned, strip the wires to connect to connector and new led replacement is magnetic. So the first replacement better get an electrician he also took 10-15min. Subsequent replace post this first initial one wil be easy as now all magnetic

Krabs.

those LED ceiling kits like to give these tool-free connector free
i used it once ..... 1 week later it loosen because the wire itself don't like to be bend .......... since then i rather use back my own connectors the traditional screw type .... too many in toolbox cannot use finish for decades

kawarides

As mentioned from others those easy type magnet attach LED.
After 8 yrs replace mine for $10 only , 2 wires connectors only.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.