Let's DELL

Gribber

can it be used for self defence in the event that someone saw your beautiful Dell laptop and want to steal it for himself/herself.

With the Dell Inspiron 15 7000? Oh no. One shouldn't use such a powerful notebook for self defense. You should sacrifice yourself for the notebook!:s13:

With the new Skylake processor, it means longer battery life because skylake is designed to have enhanced power efficiency over performance in mind. Intel is aware that today's processors are powerful enough.

Do note to those interested in jumping over the new bandwagon that Skylake's U and Y variants support one DIMM slot per channel, while H and S variants support two DIMM slots per channel.

A new SO-DIMM type capable of intersupport either DDR3 or DDR4 memory chips, called UniDIMM are being introduced as well.

Hope this helps for people wanting to move over to Skylake system. Oh ya, looks like they will be removing VGA support for Skylake as well.

No wonder the Dell Inspiron 15 7000 does not have any VGA ports

mosmos

Wonder Dell Inspiron 15 7000 (7559) model that listed on Dell sg website will have the same fan noise and overheat issues as Inspiron 15 7000 (7548) model. :s11:

The issues of Dell Inspiron 15 7000 (7548) model:

- Fan would crank on and then off and the cycle of on and off would be repeated even the user do nothing.

- When using anything that puts load on the CPU, the temperature going above it's maximum 105°C

The user mentioned latest BIOS update did not help in solving the problem of Inspiron 15 7000 (7548), even a brand new replacement set also having the same issues. :s22::s22:

Just a sharing, It could be this issue has been overreact. ;) Or may be Dell had fixed the problem after 7548 model. :)
I guess any laptops that has a fan sure have some sound coming out, unless fanless~ :s22:

when CPU temp reaching 105°C, won't the thermal guard activated for Dell Inspiron 15 7000 ?

Samsung SSD T1 has this thermal guard technology, what about Dell Inspiron series?

mosmos

:s22: :s22: if Dell Inspiron 15 7000 comes with 8K display, your iOS device screen resolution to your eyes will feel like crapppppppppp

if Sony Xperia Z5 premium can have 4K screen, Dell Inspiron 15 7000 at 15" with 4k UHD is not a problem, but at 8K, not sure can users see the differences~ :s22:

xperia-z2-camera-4k-camcorder-and-20mp-camera-4b974654a579a0fd1cdfb843105ed905-460.jpg

wadsad

Dell Inspiron 15 7000 don't look upgradable other than ram + HDD~

Dell-Inspiron-15-7537-Disassembly-1.jpg

that one is the earlier version. the 7599 series one very easy.

sEJ6qUm.jpg

very easy to access. only 1 screw to unscrew.

also can upgrade ssd, wifi card.

jtec14

Ask you guys arh... if you all are still students and you need a laptop for not just school but gaming too, what kind of specs will you all give priority to or would prefer in your laptop? :s11:

Nowadays students all so good life, carry laptops around :( I only used it in course of work. Help dell promote inspiron 15 7000 bah, the specs seems decent enough.
for my own requirements in order of priority:
Size/portability,
Decent battery life,
ssd,
rams,
fhd 1080p screen/display with hdmi output to bigger screen is decent enough, no need a 4k uhd for gaming. The rest should be standard, wifi etc.

jtec14

Exactly, maybe Dell has to revamp its dell inspiron 15 7000 series to 8000 soon :]
sigh...all these Ks, 4k, 5k, 8k. I need my yearly increment in Ks to enjoy that kind of gaming/captivating experiences.

Ohayo!

There is nothing overkill. I have a 2K screen (2560 x 1600) tightly packed into 8.4 inch... :look:

So small can really make out the details?

I rather have better and long battery life than to watch my media and game on 4k UHD touchscreen, at least for a laptop such as the Dell Inspiron 15 7000.

If desktop when plugged into AC no issue of course.

Gribber

On the other hand, the New Dell Inspiron 24 7000 Series All-in-One (not the Dell Inspiron 15 7000) certainly amazes alot of people.

http://www.dell.com/sg/p/inspiron-24-7459-aio/pd?oc=w210705sgw10

With all the latest technology (Ultrathin 24-inch all-in-one desktop offers dynamic performance designed to impress. Featuring Intel® RealSense™ Camera and Windows Hello.) thrown in who could withstand not having one immediately ? :o

desktop-inspiron-24-7459-7000-pol-mag-pdp-module-5.jpg

A few things needs to highlight though.

1. Price
- Really requires justification because of below.

2. GPU.
- The default GPU at Nvidia 940M is alittle shabby for intensive gaming.

3. 1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive + 32GB mSATA Solid State Drive
- this is not allowed in today's context! A pure SSD/7200RPM please!

4. 802.11bgn + Bluetooth 4.0, 2.4 GHz, 1x1
- what kind of wireless card is this? stone age ?

5. Rear IO Ports: (2) USB 2.0, RJ-45 Ethernet Port, Audio Line Out, HDMI in (1),HDMI out (1)
- no display port for bigger monitor / daisy?

6. 2 DIMM Slot
- was hoping for 4. Probably notebook configuration

7. FHD Camera: 9.46kg / 20.86lb with Articulating Stand, 3D Camera: 9.48kg / 20.90lb with Articulating Stand
- this is interesting. Intel's RealSense 3D camera!

8. Stand
- Lack of height adjustment.

9. Last but not least, customization.
- Lack of choices to upgrade making it extremely disappointing.

At the price tag of SGD$2049, i am expecting it to be nothing short of amazing expectations.

That's not to say the 2015 version is a lousy system. Quite the contrary, it still looks amazingly beautiful, offers a gorgeous 10-finger touch IPS display, and performs reasonably well for an all-in-one at this price point. Futhermore the RealSense camera, though it's waiting for more apps, is an intriguing extra that you won't find in most rival systems. But given the choice, we'd rather have seen a few more significant updates to the Inspiron 23's main components.

MoneyFace =p

I rather have better and long battery life than to watch my media and game on 4k UHD touchscreen, at least for a laptop such as the Dell Inspiron 15 7000.

Its on the tablet. :s13:

It has high DPI scaling too make things look big enough....

Then again i still need to raise font size to 135% on my Dolphin browser for ease of view...

Gribber

yea, i think 4K on a portable device is alittle overkill.

but if it will not affect the battery life of it why not?

Gribber

The Dell Inspiron 15 7000 Series is an excellent desktop replacement. I just wish it would go on a diet. :s13::s13::s13:

mosmos

If the unit price for Dell Inspiron 15 7000 with or without 4K UHD touchscreen not changed , will you still opt for FHD to get a better performance ?
to be honest, touchscreen for laptop no one will really use. only those convertible laptops (e.g. surface pro, asus t100) then maybe still desirable.

I am worried about the surface of the 4K UHD touchscreen of Dell Inspiron 15 7000 , is the surface must be protected by Gorilla Glass or other scratchless technology~

Since we are swiping the screen everyday, especially young children with sharp finger nails, will it prone to scratches?

frustrated4.png

Gribber

I guess any laptops that has a fan sure have some sound coming out, unless fanless~ :s22:

when CPU temp reaching 105°C, won't the thermal guard activated for Dell Inspiron 15 7000 ?

Samsung SSD T1 has this thermal guard technology, what about Dell Inspiron series?

Can install thermal guard technology in their hdd? But wouldn't this cover only the hdd? Processor will still tio fry in the Dell Inspiron 15 7000. For the temperature to hit >105 degrees it only implies that the heat dissipation in this system sucks if what is reviewed was accurate.

Dual fan leh, sure very good heat dissipation =:p

jtec14

im expecting it to be the dell xps 13.

rated as one of the best ultrabook this year. sure got alot of things to talk about one. no harm giving this ultrabook more attention :s13:

enough of Dell Inspiron 15 7000 liao. :s13:
oh yah, total forgot about the top prize or another like inspiron 24 7000 using realsense camera? but i do hope they do one video for tablet dell venue 8 7000

jtec14

btw to those who are interested

http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech-news-dells-5k-monitor-will-be-available-later-december-us2499

dell-5k-monitor.jpg

HWZ, can we redeem this? :o

If you need an ultra high resolution display, Apple's new iMac with 5K Retina display will not be the only option soon. Dell has just announced that its new UltraSharp 27 monitor will go on sale here later in December for US$2499 (around S$3229 at the time of writing).

Here we are talking about 4K. If i could redeem this i can boost to my friend 4K is so yesterday. We are talking about 5K now!!! The UltraSharp 27 also comes with integrated Harmon Kardon speakers that have a combined rated output of 32W. It also features a built-in USB 3.0 hub - one upstream USB 3.0 port and five downstream USB 3.0 ports.

This is 1 hell of a speaker as well!

5120x2880 Ultra HD resolution is so tasty!
Wah, 3k+ for a monitor, i think i have better usage for the money.

WhiteAnt

This one i agreed, really hate those small fragile warranty stickers on the screws and edges.

Can we ownself diy Dell Inspiron 15 7000 by removing the back panel to up the ram or hdd? I know those sleek and ultra thin laptop brands cannot, because they mould everything inside so closely together until compact at max level :o

jtec14

The panel in 15 7000 is a real 4k high gamut IPS screen. Native 4k content will look very sharp and detailed.

Upscale normally mean the game engine only render 1920x1080 number of pixels and then the graphics cards will add in additional pixels and blend them to make up 4096x2160.

As such, the power needed is lesser but pictures are blurrier.
thanks, missed out this, still posed the same query to you earlier.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.