Let's DELL

MoneyFace =p

Dun like that lah, I also did not expected thing turned out like this.

Dell power companion better than speaker in term of value but the problem is I don't own any Dell lappy... :s22:

I don't mean anything, just found out the remaining players can comfortably redeem gadgets for their effort.

Still haven't decide on which to redeem ar?

what88

Yes, Dell should provide multiple plugs for Dell Power Companion, so that toher user whom don't like China brand Xiaomi will go for Dell.

Dell XPS 13 or Dell Inspiron 7000 series laptop should have no problem getting extended power.

But I wonder for power hungry Alienware R3, can the Dell Power Companion able to even extend an extra hour of usage?

The Dell Power Companion can charge Dell XPS 13 or Dell Inspiron 7000 series up to 70~80% of full and dun think it will able to power up Alienware series...:)

MoneyFace =p

So it is really dell xps 13 in the latest video.

Yah, should be that, the colour is so vibrant among the dull coloured objects around it.

Look really compact siah, for laptops on the move, that is quite an optimum size. XPS = Xtreme Performance System so it should be quite a good laptop.

Congrats to all winners.

Thanks dell and hwz for this campaign.

Yes, Dell should provide multiple plugs for Dell Power Companion, so that toher user whom don't like China brand Xiaomi will go for Dell.

Dell XPS 13 or Dell Inspiron 7000 series laptop should have no problem getting extended power.

But I wonder for power hungry Alienware R3, can the Dell Power Companion able to even extend an extra hour of usage?

Congrats peeps on your Dell S2415H monitor winnings! See you again next campaign! :s12:

what88

I think the most appealing feature of the Dell XPS 13 is the InfinityEdge Display Screen.

It is almost borderless, compared to other ultrabooks. Reminds me of those borderless LED TV. Quite similar.

However, I would advise users of this Dell XPS 13 to be extra careful not to accidentally knock the side of the display screen as it potentially will have more weakness since there is less buffer than regular thick border screens. I'm sure you don't want to see your precious device's beautiful screen all damaged.

Just get Dell ProSupoort with Accidental Damage coverage for peace of mind... :s12:

MoneyFace =p

Actually Alienware got a new product called Alienware Steam Machine.
http://store.steampowered.com/app/353390/
http://www.alienware.com/Landings/steammachine/

This one they should be targeting REAL console users. I see some potential to become a powerful threat to other consoles. There is a comparison between the two in the link above.

Hopefully Valve can squash out all the bugs and optimize it to be able to run games better than Windows.
http://arstechnica.com/gaming/2015/...gnificant-performance-hit-for-steamos-gaming/

I think it is possible to provide a better gaming experience than Windows since Windows has a lot of unnecessary services and processes still running the background when you start the game. This means that the all hardware can be dedicated to running the game to run it at its best graphics performance.

Perhaps we will see more of such boxes in the future.. compared to laptop and desktop

With regards to today's video.. The Dell XPS 13 clearly is intended for the professional who takes pride in his work and style. It offers a long battery life and and it only comes with Intel HD graphics. Hopefully the Intel HD graphic card is able to run 4k content on the InfinityEdge QHD touchscreen.

I feel that Linux always seemed to have issue with performance optimisation. Just look at Android, which still exhibits lags here and there even on the highest end specs. And driver's lack of optimisation and availability were also major issue, aggravating the adoption of Linux. And i am truly disappointed with Steam team for taking so long to bring out SteamOS yet still marred by so many issues, as if the OS was rushed out in alpha/beta stage.

Luckily Alienware team chose to go ahead with Windows 8.1/10 with its Alpha console, which is not only better performance optimised, but also supports a much wider range of games with 6500+ Steam titles PLUS all other Windows AND Xbox One based titles with a much recognised OS platform compared to a meagre 5000 in Steam library only for Steam machine, mainly bounded by the Linux nature of SteamOS and the lack of gaming titles developed. It will still be a tough, long way for SteamOS to be a true contender to Windows in the gaming scene.

MoneyFace =p

Bad news for those using Alienware Alpha or Steam machine, the gaming performance is so much slower than Windows 10 system.

Better get a Dell Inspiron 24 7000 with Intel realsense Camera for better gaming experience instead.

Link: http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech-news-your-steam-machine-won-t-be-quite-fast-your-windows-pc

alienware-steam-machine.jpg

steamos-vs-windows.jpg
Lol Alienware Alpha is running on Windows 10 and their Alienware Steam machine on Linux based Steam OS so they are essentially just running on different OS and Alpha is able to lead an edge.

what88

I don't mean anything, just found out the remaining players can comfortably redeem gadgets for their effort.

Still haven't decide on which to redeem ar?

haha, no worries.. :)

Just thinking if I take the Bluetooth speaker, wonder if the next person able to claim Dell Power Companion in time ?! :s11:

kimsix

I think the most appealing feature of the Dell XPS 13 is the InfinityEdge Display Screen.

It is almost borderless, compared to other ultrabooks. Reminds me of those borderless LED TV. Quite similar.

However, I would advise users of this Dell XPS 13 to be extra careful not to accidentally knock the side of the display screen as it potentially will have more weakness since there is less buffer than regular thick border screens. I'm sure you don't want to see your precious device's beautiful screen all damaged.

gxgx, 100 more points. xps13 is a beautiful ultrabook crafted in machined aluminum, and carbon fiber, something as sexy as Macbook pro 13 but with a difference. A good mobile companion for a professional on the move

MoneyFace =p

Dell XPS 13's limelight is with its unprecedented ultra high 1800p resolution retina grade screen in a 13.3" size, that is unparalleled by even the best display offering on MacBook, at only 1600p.

However, even with the best display resolution offering in record history, Dell XPS 13 is yet unfortunately, still unable to deliver the kind of seamless visual improvements enjoyed by Mac users with retina displays since its introduction. There are still many DPI scaling issues unsolved on Windows 10, despite already having major improvements. Having the widest compatibility of softwares on Windows ecosystem, there are also plenty of programs not updated with DPI-awareness, resulting in GUI and icons being too uncomfortably tiny to navigate.

Hence, i advise users to tune down their screen resolution to reduce the impact of improper scaling. By which it will dilutes the benefits of having high ppi screen greatly though. Hopefully Microsoft can deliver faster update to solves it internal OS scaling issue and also exercise greater, stricter quality control on program makers to mitigate the situation. They need 2 hands to clap. :(

I don't think the system taskbar is usable in contrast with the desktop icons as seen below.

1362055260411456580.jpg

MoneyFace =p

haha, no worries.. :)

Just thinking if I take the Bluetooth speaker, wonder if the next person able to claim Dell Power Companion in time ?! :s11:
Campaign runs till this coming Sunday, should be possible with bonus points from quality posts. :)

Just take what you like lor....

MoneyFace =p

laptop-xps-13-9350-pdp-polaris-02.jpg

I realised that in order for Dell to achieve such thin, almost borderless bezel on their XPS 13, they have to remove and relocate whatever is around regular laptop screen bezel. Hence, one note to highlight from the above image is that they've relocated (luckily, not removed) the webcam to the bottom left corner of the screen bezel.

I find rather an eccentric location to put the webcam as it is usually placed in the middle to ensure symmetrical middle view of the person in shot. With the webcam in this new location, people webcaming to the user of this XPS 13 will see a rather awkward upward and angled chin view of the XPS user. Obese users are advised tilt heads down towards the webcam to conceal that double chin from full glory. :s13:

At the same time, if you are typing on keyboard while webcamming with peers, your fingers may also block your view to your peer as your fingers hover around the 123QWEASD top left keyboard area.

It will have been far better if they shift the webcam to the middle zone, since it is usually unblocked by fingers as users type in both hands.

2338127-Female-hands-typing-on-a-laptop-keyboard-isolated-on-white-Stock-Photo.jpg

WhiteAnt

why you kena the ban hammer??

banned in edmw :(

gx to your dell redemption :D

last time the Samsung redemption centre at Central issued me a receipt and the staff said keep for warranty purposes.

Guess the Dell XPS 13 or Dell Alienware Alpha should have similar redemption receipt and local warranty also.

yeah that's what happened in last samsung redemption

i think dell redemption should also be giving warranty to all the sponsored gifts la. i thought their service is good right :o

Gaiason

Thanks guys... just collected the Dell Bluetooth speaker at Dell Exclusive Store at Funan Centre #03-26 today. Looks good. Thanks Dell and HWZ! :):)

kimsix

I found the qhd touch xps13 is only available at the highest config, at 2299. Sadly Apple Macbook pro 13 is more affordable across the range. I hope Dell notice this and adjust the xps13 pricing.

Another area is why is ddr4 not used for more battery efficiency, a wasted opportunity to pair Skylake with ddr3l.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.