Let's DELL

Gribber

ya lol. my table quite small i think maximum only can fit 2 Dell 24 inch monitor. 27 inch too big liao

but never tried curved screen before. anyone got experience?

nice if you are going to seat in the middle (imo)

Gribber

Still no fight agianst Microsoft Kinect 2. Thats y Intel needs HWZ to advertise the product.

The only advantage RealSense has is price. Coz the Kinect is expensive.

somebody remove his points already :s13:

jk. :)

wadsad

Too big for you pass it to me lor. :D

if i can get first then say. :s13::s13:

dunno watch videos will have the song song feeling anot. :s13:

never owned a curved display before. this dell monitor got the intel realsense 3d camera technology?

Gribber

Hi HWZoner,

Do you know that Dell is one of the first to incorporate leading technologies like Intel RealSense 3D and near borderless screens into their products? Always at the forefront of innovation to ride on new trends, you can be sure there’s a Dell that is designed to satisfy every individual’s lifestyle needs – whether it’s for functionality, portability, gaming, or just regular day to day usage.

Now, we're giving you a chance to win over $18,000 worth of prizes from Dell!

We will be posting up short snippets of videos featuring different Dell Products every week. Watch our weekly videos and participate actively in our forum discussion to win!

We've also hidden mystery keywords related to each product within this forum - earn extra points when you uncover these keywords in the forum discussion to increase your chances of winning!

Prizes to be won:

• (a) 1 x Dell XPS 13 laptop worth $1799
  • (b) 1 x Alienware Alpha worth $1699
  • (c) 1 x Dell 27 inch curve monitor SE2716H worth $599
  • (d) 2 x Dell 24 inch monitor with integrated speakers S2415H worth $379 each
  • (e) 3 x 1TB external HDD worth $118 each
  • (f) 3 x Dell Power Companion PW7015L 18000mAh worth $189 each
  • (g) 3 x Dell AD211 wireless Bluetooth Speaker worth $79 each
  • (h) 10 x S$300 off XPS 13 (i7 model only) voucher worth $300 each
  • (i) 10 x S$400 off XPS 15 (i7 model only) voucher worth $400 each
  • (j) 10 x S$300 off Inspiron 24 7000 voucher worth $300 each
  • (k) 10 x S$250 off Inspiron 15 7000 voucher worth $250 each

So how does one stand a chance to win?
- Answer the question at the end of each video
- Participation garners you points.
- To fast-track your points accumulation, we have also planted a bunch of mystery words within this forum. If you mention these mystery words in your replies and discussions, you will increase your chances of winning.
- Participate daily in the discussion thread. Your replies might uncover more points for winning.

Participation Notes:-
- Number of points awarded are capped daily.
- Members who spam or create nuisance posts will have points deducted and infractions issued for misuse of the forum and not adhering to forum rules.
- Bonus points will be awarded to members who've put in extra effort with useful or thoughtful posts that contribute to this discussion thread. Points awarded are at the discretion of the forum admins and they are final.
- Extra points may be earned by participating in other threads within the Hardware Clinic and Notebook Clinic forums!

Video teaser for week 1:

What’s with all that gesturing and waving around?

We'll be revealing Part 2 of this video on Friday, 30 October. Watch this space!

Based on the list, the real prizes are actually...

1 x DELL XPS 13 laptop
1 x Alienware Alpha
1 x Dell 27 inch curve monitor SE2716H
2 x Dell 24 inch monitor with integrated speakers S2415H
3 x 1TB external HDD
3 x Dell Power Companion PW7015L 18000mAh
3 x Dell AD211 wireless Bluetooth Speaker

14 Actual prizes.

The rest are simply "vouchers". I will appreciate if they could convert it as vouchers that we can simply purchase any items instead of simply limited a particular model.

wadsad

the 1st prize dell xps 13 they say is worth $1799.

but i see the dell online, cheapest is $1899 leh. then alienware is $999.

why so weird one. :s13::s13:

Gribber

if i can get first then say. :s13::s13:

dunno watch videos will have the song song feeling anot. :s13:

never owned a curved display before. this dell monitor got the intel realsense 3d camera technology?

tried to google, bo see have 3D camera technology or not from Intel or DELL.

Gribber

The guy in the video is making use of the Intel® RealSense™ Camera on the Inspiron 24 7000 to control the PC.

Intel® RealSense™ Camera elevates user interface to futuristic levels by sensing depth and tracking human motion.
Devices with Intel® RealSense™ Camera have three lenses: a conventional camera, an infrared camera, and an infrared laser projector. Together, the three lenses allow the device to infer depth by detecting infrared light that has bounced back from objects in front of it. This visual data, taken in combination with Intel® RealSense™ motion-tracking software, create a touch-free interface that responds to hand, arm, and head motions as well as facial expressions.

In this case, the guy is using his hand to control the PC. With up to 22 tracking points per hand, even playing games with just the Intel® RealSense™ Camera becomes an ease.

get the ball rolling!

wadsad

no understand why can't they simply reset the timing daily at 0000hrs ?

i have not been getting points for my last few posts, despite more than 24 hours. :s13:

all those posts very meaningful one.

22 Tracking Points Per Hand like jin imba.

also this intel realsense technology only works on windows 10?

Ohayo!

You already won a Samsung T1 portable SSD 1TB liao..... :s8:

Everytime HWZ start this kind of promo during my exam period. I may MC or miss the timing if delayed.

That time the LG phone i missed the timing cause in the middle of exam so gave up and went for the portable printer instead. hope this time can get something from Dell/Intel.

Im sure you know that its not easy doing this everyday for a month.

but seems like this time the prizes dont really include the Intel RealSense camera which they are promoting for.

which others have the RealSense other than Dell Inspiron 24 7000?

actually got leftover microsd cards should put under here consolation prize mah :s13:

Gribber

Can see possibility for hand gesture control gaming especially when paired with 3D glasses or oculus rift. Dell produce great monitors too. Im using their monitor for desktop currently.

Why dont Dell or other manufacturer include the camera for their desktop monitors ah? :s11:

not everyone needs it. inserting in it = extra cost.

Ohayo!

Wah seems like this Intel RealSense 3D camera has a shorter range than Microsoft Kinect. So it is only merant for close up ddetection and cannot really replace Wii or Kinect

If you’re not already familiar, Intel RealSense is effectively a Kinect, but with shorter range and higher resolution, and fitted in the bezel of a laptop or tablet, like a conventional webcam. Where the Kinect takes in the entire living room, RealSense has an effective range of about a meter, but a much greater resolution and responsiveness within that limited range.

Read more: http://www.digitaltrends.com/gaming/intel-realsense-gaming-hands-on/#ixzz3plFWfdwm

Quite evident that Dell/Intel aiming for close range with their 22 point hand control gestures. And portability too of course.

No point fighting with Kinect which is in the market for years already.

Gribber

Everytime HWZ start this kind of promo during my exam period. I may MC or miss the timing if delayed.

That time the LG phone i missed the timing cause in the middle of exam so gave up and went for the portable printer instead. hope this time can get something from Dell/Intel.

but seems like this time the prizes dont really include the Intel RealSense camera which they are promoting for.

actually got leftover microsd cards should put under here consolation prize mah :s13:

:s13::s13::s13:

i did not redeem for my 16GB card....

wadsad

jin weird. no points here but got points if post in other threads :|

enenyi

Precisely. When i saw vouchers as consolation prize, i gave up immediately.

Ohayo!

nice if you are going to seat in the middle (imo)

Watch anime from 2D will become 3D anot? :s13:

just joking. My TV also regular flat screen, maybe i should go see the dell curve monitor in store display see whether its really good or not.

wadsad

i remember the LG they give 3 phones seh.

this one i thought they will give Dell Inspiron 24 7000 with intel realsense 3d camera technology.

MoneyFace =p

Not sure if will minus points but.... :s13:

Looks like Google will also collaborate with Intel to bring Intel RealSense to phones :s12:

But battery life how?

It was only a matter of time until Intel's RealSense 3D camera got a chance to dance with Google's 3D-mapping initiative, Project Tango. Today at Intel's Developer Forum, the two companies revealed that they're working together on a Project Tango developer kit for smartphones using RealSense. From what we can tell, it looks like a fairly standard smartphone with a 6-inch screen, except it has a slew of cameras on the rear. The news follows Intel's unveiling of a smartphone-friendly RealSense sensor back in April -- up until then it was mainly something we saw on laptops and all-in-one PCs -- as well as a Project Tango phone concept from Qualcomm. Along with the Project Tango tablet dev kit Google unveiled last year, the RealSense-powered kit should give developers a better idea of how to create 3D-mapping apps. We're still in the early stages of depth-sensing technology, but it has the potential to improve the way we handle things like indoor mapping, scanning environments or creating VR spaces. Intel says the dev kits will be sent out to Android developers at the end of the year.

Info from: http://www.engadget.com/2015/08/18/google-intel-realsense-tango/

0818-tangophone-4-1.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.