Let's DELL

Gribber

Whatever you don't want i want it all

I wan this Dell Inspiron 24 7000 with intel realsense 3d camera technology thing liao.

I wan all green screen, all gesture or all 3d modelling liao.

mosmos

according to HWZ, Intel makes RealSense 3D camera small enough to put in 6-inch smartphone~

but why only dell~? Samsung or Xiaomi or Asus not interested in having this RealSense 3D camera~?

Link: http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech...-3d-camera-small-enough-put-6-inch-smartphone

intel-realsense3d-smartphone-idf.jpg

Intel’s announcement of its extended Atom x3 processor roadmap and the inclusion of its processors in over 45 mobile devices wasn’t the only news to come out of IDF 2015 in Shenzhen; the chipmaker also took the opportunity to show off a new iteration of its RealSense 3D camera. The new camera is a smaller, slimmer version of its old self and features improvements such as longer detection range and lower thermal output. And here’s the good part – it can now fit into a 6-inch smartphone.

wadsad

Whatever you don't want i want it all

I wan this Dell Inspiron 24 7000 with intel realsense 3d camera technology thing liao.

I wan all green screen, all gesture or all 3d modelling liao.

wah only 3 day u chut this stunt liao. :s13:

Gribber

according to HWZ, Intel makes RealSense 3D camera small enough to put in 6-inch smartphone~

but why only dell~? Samsung or Xiaomi or Asus not interested in having this RealSense 3D camera~?

Link: http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tech...-3d-camera-small-enough-put-6-inch-smartphone

intel-realsense3d-smartphone-idf.jpg

Intel’s announcement of its extended Atom x3 processor roadmap and the inclusion of its processors in over 45 mobile devices wasn’t the only news to come out of IDF 2015 in Shenzhen; the chipmaker also took the opportunity to show off a new iteration of its RealSense 3D camera. The new camera is a smaller, slimmer version of its old self and features improvements such as longer detection range and lower thermal output. And here’s the good part – it can now fit into a 6-inch smartphone.

Slowly but surely. Monkey see monkey do

jtec14

Read that the depth sensing camera can even take measurements of objects, dunno can it measure objects in any random pictures not taken by the camera itself?

Gribber

Read that the depth sensing camera can even take measurements of objects, dunno can it measure objects in any random pictures not taken by the camera itself?

People already asked can take opposite sex measurements liao... :s13:

Ohayo!

the points in hang or smth? really cannot catch the timing. :s13:

I duno how they count the points now. Mine also stuck.

Look cool but if 1 part spoilt, all gone unlike changing only monitor, if it is the only part spoilt.

True. Thats why i prefer regular CPU at least can disassemble and change the spoilt components. I dont really need borderless also. its one of those things where its nice to have, but not needed.

Anyway back to main topic, at least nowadays 3d printers are more cheaper now, at least got some reason to buy devices which come equipped with the Intel RealSense 3D camera. Can scan your favourite items and clone and print them lol. 3D printing quite a lot of potential. i just read some article that some institute print human body parts :s22:

Hopefully the Oculus Rift will be release to consumer so that it can become more mainstream to complement with Dell's new tech PC devices with Intel® RealSense™ Camera .

jtec14

This is how Intel RealSense will work with Microsoft Windows Hello feature:

This magic feature is based on a magic technology that tag a face and can recognize it back securely.

The recognition is done using two type of camera in cooperation; the first is a classical HD camera and the second is a depth camera (infrared) for 3D an temperature scanning.

The system recognize and match a lot of point describing specific target of the face, the eyes, the lips, the nose etc; describing a precise path different for each person and assigning to this array of points a specific and unique tag.

When the system come in non-logged state it automatically try to recognize the face coming behind it and matching with the one archived for the local Windows* Hello, if a match is done it auto log to the corresponding user profile.

On the Windows* 10 side the game is done by Passport that log you to the system (using the PIN password) only when the biometric device (in this case the camera) acknowledge the recognition of you face; it works essentially in the same manner on all the device with a fingerprint reader embedded. The system already manage also the retina scan login, but you will obviously need a specific retina scan device.

Obviously it doesn't work with photo, or miniature of the face.....

https://software.intel.com/en-us/ar...ws-hello-on-actual-windows-10-insider-preview

Retina scan... need to be so hi tech or not. The cost of retina scanner will be a killer.

Ohayo!

Looking at the specs of Dell Inspiron 24 7000 seems like the HDD and the graphics is integrated ones~

Video Card2
Intel® HD Graphics
Optical Drive
No Optical Drive
Keyboard
Dell KM713 Wireless Keyboard & Mouse
Mouse
Mouse included with Keyboard
Wireless
802.11ac + Bluetooth 4.0, Dual Band 2.4&5 GHz, 1x1
Sound Card
Stereo speakers professionally tuned with Waves MaxxAudio® Pro (Windows)

Dell-Inspiron-24-7000-Series-AIO-Poppy-Angle1.png
cannot expect much from AIO lol.

Gribber

True. Thats why i prefer regular CPU at least can disassemble and change the spoilt components. I dont really need borderless also. its one of those things where its nice to have, but not needed.

Anyway back to main topic, at least nowadays 3d printers are more cheaper now, at least got some reason to buy devices which come equipped with the Intel RealSense 3D camera. Can scan your favourite items and clone and print them lol. 3D printing quite a lot of potential. i just read some article that some institute print human body parts :s22:

Hopefully the Oculus Rift will be release to consumer so that it can become more mainstream to complement with Dell's new tech PC devices with Intel® RealSense™ Camera .

There might be some algo to achieve each day's target we just don't know how

jtec14

Oh so currently oculus rift is not for consumers??

WhiteAnt

Seems like Intel RealSense can have more possibilities and uses...

Intel Perceptual Computing SDK 2013 Advantages:

• Smaller and less expensive: The Intel camera (produced by Creative) is smaller than a Microsoft Kinect for Windows sensor, is powered over USB, and is designed to sit on top of most computer displays.
  • Close-range tracking: It is specifically built for close range tracking, with a range of 0.5ft to 3.25ft (and a diagonal frame of view of 73 degrees).
  • Hand posture/gesture recognition: The SDK allows recognition of hand postures like thumbs up, thumbs down and peace, and gestures like waving, swiping and circling with a hand. Other gestures like grab and release or pan and zoom can be implemented by examining the openness of the palm and fingertip positions.
  • Facial analysis: The Intel SDK provides capabilities for face tracking, recognition and detection as well as age and gender determination. Expressions like smiling and winking can also be detected.
  • Speech: Developers can leverage speech recognition by specifying a predefined list of commands, or multiple lists constituting a grammar. The SDK also has built-in support for speech synthesis powered by Nuance.
  • Raw data: Developers have access to raw color and depth data from the sensor along with a confidence map to account for distance and light conditions.
  • Framework support: The Intel SDK supports frameworks like Processing, Unity and OpenFrameworks and ships with basic examples to make setting up and writing simple apps with these frameworks easier.

Intel Issues:

• Getting some of the deeper features (like age and gender detection) to work is a bit tricky.
  • Due to the close range of the tracking system, hand gestures must be designed such that a user’s hand doesn’t occlude their own view of the display.

Best for:

Desktop/laptop applications where the user will be seated in front of the PC.
Close range applications where features, apart from hand tracking and recognition, are necessary without too much precision or accuracy.

Info from https://stimulant.com/depth-sensor-shootout/

wow! they can scan all fingers swirling and hand gestures to capture moving colorful 3D lines on the screen :eek:

how can they help in daily lives sitting on a pc? most likely this is aimed at gaming. i wonder if they can replace the mouse next time with Intel RealSense 3D Camera with Dell dell Inspiron 24 7000 :o

Gribber

wow! they can scan all fingers swirling and hand gestures to capture moving colorful 3D lines on the screen :eek:

how can they help in daily lives sitting on a pc? most likely this is aimed at gaming. i wonder if they can replace the mouse next time with Intel RealSense 3D Camera with Dell dell Inspiron 24 7000 :o

I am also interested to know about this. Was wondering how technology unveil new stuffs

mosmos

any updates of the prizes to be increased this time~? :s22:

hope to see more powerbanks or HDD, minus off those discount vouchers~

Prizes to be won:
(a) 1 x Dell XPS 13 laptop worth $1799
(b) 1 x Alienware Alpha worth $1699
(c) 1 x Dell 27 inch curve monitor SE2716H worth $599
(d) 2 x Dell 24 inch monitor with integrated speakers S2415H worth $379 each
(e) 3 x 1TB external HDD worth $118 each
(f) 3 x Dell Power Companion PW7015L 18000mAh worth $189 each
(g) 3 x Dell AD211 wireless Bluetooth Speaker worth $79 each
(h) 10 x S$300 off XPS 13 (i7 model only) voucher worth $300 each
(i) 10 x S$400 off XPS 15 (i7 model only) voucher worth $400 each
(j) 10 x S$300 off Inspiron 24 7000 voucher worth $300 each
(k) 10 x S$250 off Inspiron 15 7000 voucher worth $250 each

Ohayo!

i go eat my dinner liao. i give up.

dun wan this Dell Inspiron 24 7000 with intel realsense 3d camera technology thing liao.

dun wan simi green screen, simi gesture or simi 3d modelling liao. :vijayadmin:

i also havent hit cap yet :s22: i dont want to keep posting later like spamming.

3d modelling not much point unless you got 3d printer lol. the 3d scan also duno how accurate.. if i put 1 flower there i wonder how much detail it can scan lol. i oso dun need borderless monitor. (looks nice only)

think the only usable function in the intel realsense for me is the depth camera to take photo.

i think distance photo obviously need to be taken with the camera.. if not how to measure the depth of the object? :s11:

edit: eh keep multi quote sia

Gribber

any updates of the prizes to be increased this time~? :s22:

Prizes to be won:
(a) 1 x Dell XPS 13 laptop worth $1799
(b) 1 x Alienware Alpha worth $1699
(c) 1 x Dell 27 inch curve monitor SE2716H worth $599
(d) 2 x Dell 24 inch monitor with integrated speakers S2415H worth $379 each
(e) 3 x 1TB external HDD worth $118 each
(f) 3 x Dell Power Companion PW7015L 18000mAh worth $189 each
(g) 3 x Dell AD211 wireless Bluetooth Speaker worth $79 each
(h) 10 x S$300 off XPS 13 (i7 model only) voucher worth $300 each
(i) 10 x S$400 off XPS 15 (i7 model only) voucher worth $400 each
(j) 10 x S$300 off Inspiron 24 7000 voucher worth $300 each
(k) 10 x S$250 off Inspiron 15 7000 voucher worth $250 each

Keen to know as well

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.