Let's DELL

what88

definitely you dont expect apple products use it unless apple ownself introduce their own version of Alienware Graphics Amplifier. you like it or not company will use proprietary connector. Company will like to have something over their rival in this case Dell for Alienware Graphics Amplifier while MSI got theirs too

Just like Apple lightning cable only meant their Apple products..

what88

Can we removed the HDD and replaced with SSD connected to M.2 slots for Dell Alienware 17 R2?

I have a SSD and it runs much hotter than my laptop HDD, I wonder why with no moving parts, SSD should be running much cooler.

I hope Dell Inspiron 17 7000 should also include some empty slots for us to upgrade.

Both Dell Alienware 17 series and Dell Inpriron 17 7000 are able ugrade the HDD to SSD.

xiaowhois

Can we removed the HDD and replaced with SSD connected to M.2 slots for Dell Alienware 17 R2?

I have a SSD and it runs much hotter than my laptop HDD, I wonder why with no moving parts, SSD should be running much cooler.

I hope Dell Inspiron 17 7000 should also include some empty slots for us to upgrade.

Dell Alienware will boot from the m2 SSD lo set in bios

xiaowhois

When weight become one of the concern, dun think Dell will willing to add extra load into their current Alienware or Inspiron series.

No idea why Alienware had 4 M.2 slots, may be can increase the storage capacity and turn it as NAS . :s22:

mybe they let u pump storage in Dell Alienware haha can even actively backup your data in another m2 storage card :)

xiaowhois

Any reason why Dell did not include touchscreen in their Aliware high range laptops ?
cost issue lo~ how much graphics intensive game gamers prefer use touchscreen than keyboard/mouse? to them maybe not an extra add value to lure gamer to buy the Alienware laptop

xiaowhois

Just like Apple lightning cable only meant their Apple products..

ya lo than those apple users wont complain not using microusd port haha so Dell alienware use their own cable is their own choice too

MoneyFace =p

Actually a lot of such ideas in the market. I recently read about some cloud gaming service where you can play your games in the cloud.

So dont need to require expensive high performance gaming PC, just play from normal PC while the game runs in the cloud. Of course this requires a very fast fibre connection and servers close to home to reduce latency but with 1 or even 2Gbps fibre here, it should not be a major problem. Of course, the service is not free and its chargeable but it saves you the cost from regularly upgrading your PC parts to play the latest games. This technology is still quite new so can expect it to be buggy but I can see the potential.

I wont post the name here, in case its against the rules but its listed under this wiki.
If you are interested you can read up more on it:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cloud_gaming

Don't think local ISP will be happy to burn available massive internet bandwidth to allow for such cloud gaming service...

xiaowhois

Looks like some peeps can bail out Portable HDD liao! Congrats! :s12:
yup just redeemed the HDD~ PB useless for me got too many powerbank at home~ congrat to top 5 winners~

Dell XPS : Ohayo!

Alienware Alpha :MoneyFace =p

27” Curve monitor 1000pts: wadsad

Dell 24” monitor 950pt : jtec14 mosmos

seeya you all next event again win some small prize haha~ chill~~

MoneyFace =p

not all laptop got expresscard slot right? if it use USB3.0 will be damn good like that even Dell Inspiron series laptop also can have extended graphics like Alienware series

2006-201x all laptops i've seen still offer ExpressCard slot...

MoneyFace =p

This scenario is common when all Dell products like Dell Inspiron 15 7000 series, Dell 24 7000, Realsense Technology, Windows 10 Hello etc were discussed under one Let's Dell thread. People tends to messed their features. :)

But at least this time round we have more to discuss unlike previously only 1 product to discuss for 4 weeks. :s22:

MoneyFace =p

because Alienware uses GTX980M

These laptops are using GTX980 which provide desktop gaming performance.

Alienware has the separate Alienware graphics amplifier which you can add your own GTX 980 graphic card to enjoy powerful graphic performance at home.

Yeah but it is pretty pointless to run GTX 980 externally in a notebook with GTX 980M since the performance upgrade is not very much. Pairing with GTX 965M or 970M will see far bigger improvement with the amplifier.

MoneyFace =p

yup just redeemed the HDD~ PB useless for me got too many powerbank at home~ congrat to top 5 winners~

Dell XPS : Ohayo!

Alienware Alpha :MoneyFace =p

27” Curve monitor 1000pts: wadsad

Dell 24” monitor 950pt : jtec14 mosmos

seeya you all next event again win some small prize haha~ chill~~

You not going to fight for the monitors? Looks like there will be a bloodbath war seeing how close you, wadsad, xiaowhois and jtec14 are with the points... :eek:

xiaowhois

You not going to fight for the monitors? Looks like there will be a bloodbath war seeing how close you, wadsad, xiaowhois and jtec14 are with the points... :eek:

No point go for sth that is impossible haha i not greedy type be content with what i have~ just like u wanna overtake Ohayo! also hard as u dont have the time advantage also. the top 5 prize winner i stated quite zhun unless anyone of u chu pattern lo or else should be in that order~

Whitehunter need to get quite alot of bonus point this two days(if i were him see he redeem the PB or HDD) if he want a shot at the monitor and boss admin had to give b4 monday evening b4 jtec14 & mosmos finish earn their points redeem

anyway just for all~ contest only dont need quarrel much play within the rules earn points get the stuff and close shop~ :)

MoneyFace =p

Hopefully there will be adapters to enable backward compatibility for such gamers then.

But since the Alienware Graphics Amplifier FAQ states that they will support future graphic cards released, I suppose it wont be much of an issue since gamers can easily install the newest graphic cards which can provide even greater power and performance than the current ones already in the market.
So i doubt that they will change the connector since the Alienware Graphics Amplifier can be used with the latest graphic cards.

This amplifier box will, in fact, saves buyers money on the long run without needing to change laptop in order to upgrade graphics performance if without it as Alienware continues to expand its graphics card compatibility list into the future. I only hope this amplifier box and its cable can last long enough to see the long term benefit described.

Given this amplifier using proprietary connection, hopefully Alienware don't troll users with newer revision of the box with an updated cable revision that is backwards incompatible.

MoneyFace =p

No point go for sth that is impossible haha i not greedy type be content with what i have~ just like u wanna overtake Ohayo! also hard as u dont have the time advantage also. the top 5 prize winner i stated quite zhun unless anyone of u chu pattern lo or else should be in that order~

Whitehunter need to get quite alot of bonus point this two days(if i were him see he redeem the PB or HDD) if he want a shot at the monitor and boss admin had to give b4 monday evening b4 jtec14 & mosmos finish earn their points redeem

anyway just for all~ contest only dont need quarrel much play within the rules earn points get the stuff and close shop~ :)

Yeah looking at how quickly king Ohayo! acquire his daily 43 at every campaign this year, i am also content with Alienware Alpha. At least it's a rather great jump from the monitors in terms of stated SRP value. :s22:

xiaowhois

Dear Boss admin~ if got leftover discount voucher for $250 off Inspiron 15 can sic me one as base on current points~ it is mission impossible for me to gather enough points to redeem before reward program end

p.s dont deduct mine points/prize hehe

MoneyFace =p

:s22: What happen if in future new Dell Alienware laptop decided to have a new connector to the new Graphics Amplifier?

eventhough can upgrade GPU but means the old Alienware Graphics Amplifier system going to collect dust if the old Alienware laptop spoilt?

We have seen Apple removing older connectors in their laptops, not sure Dell will follow suit.

See how Thunderbolt 3 fares in real-life first. Alienware most likely may drop their 32 Gbps only PCIe based amplifier for this, since it will save them hefty amount of R&D funds. Just pay royalty fee and introduce new version of Graphics Amplifier with this new USB-C Thunderbolt 3 port. In this way, not only Alienware can troll and force existing Alienware notebooks to buy new laptop and amplifier, they can also attracts users using other brand laptops with this TB 3 port. Win-win situation for them. :(

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.