Let's DELL

Gaiason

yup just redeemed the HDD~ PB useless for me got too many powerbank at home~ congrat to top 5 winners~

Dell XPS : Ohayo!

Alienware Alpha :MoneyFace =p

27” Curve monitor 1000pts: wadsad

Dell 24” monitor 950pt : jtec14 mosmos

seeya you all next event again win some small prize haha~ chill~~

wah... u first to redeem, if everything is ok, ya the top five winners is them liao. :(

koreanlover

All Intel core i7 pc have turbo boost by default. The 6820hk in alienware 17 boost to 4.1ghz which is faster than Intel specifications of 3.6ghz! So there you have it, alienware officially supports overclocking.

This means Alienware 17 supports auto overclocking?
You cannot adjust the settings yourself?

WhiteHunter

Yes i also prefer a good cooling for gaming grade laptops.

Alienware cooling design is very good and one secret is to have higher rubber feets to prop up the laptop to allow air flow
DbAb.jpg

Thermal image of Alienware with gaming grade parts against a lower powered macbook pro and alienware is cooler!
EbAb.png

the higher rubber feets are very common in most laptops as well as consoles like ps4.

i would prefer Alienware to come out with an external cooling system unit for their laptops. maybe also for their Graphics Amplifier as graphics card tend to generate alot of heat during gaming.

Gaiason

See how Thunderbolt 3 fares in real-life first. Alienware most likely may drop their 32 Gbps only PCIe based amplifier for this, since it will save them hefty amount of R&D funds. Just pay royalty fee and introduce new version of Graphics Amplifier with this new USB-C Thunderbolt 3 port. In this way, not only Alienware can troll and force existing Alienware notebooks to buy new laptop and amplifier, they can also attracts users using other brand laptops with this TB 3 port. Win-win situation for them. :(

yes, i think USB-C is the way to go. Future laptops and motherboards will be adopting it.

Gaiason

Alienware Graphics Amplifier is good as in it does not contribute to the heat produced in the laptop as it is an external unit. maybe the laptop can also use an external cooling system to cool the temperature in the laptop thus improving performance.

External gpu provides extra performancea and also because it is just too big for laptop.

koreanlover

This amplifier box will, in fact, saves buyers money on the long run without needing to change laptop in order to upgrade graphics performance if without it as Alienware continues to expand its graphics card compatibility list into the future. I only hope this amplifier box and its cable can last long enough to see the long term benefit described.

Given this amplifier using proprietary connection, hopefully Alienware don't troll users with newer revision of the box with an updated cable revision that is backwards incompatible.

Yes the Alienware Graphics Amplifier allows buyers to future proof their Alienware laptops by upgrading to the latest graphics card when they are released.

Gaiason

is it really necessary to overclock?? the Alienware laptops are quite powerful in terms of performance and together with the Alienware Graphics Amplifier are already giving out quite alot of performance power.

Yea, overclocking for laptops is not recommended... gives out too much heat.

koreanlover

All these are good to have but not required. Should make it an option for all users.

Previous Alienware 17 R2 laptop offer touch screen but their Alienware 17 R3 dont offer it. I guess people might actually buy the predecessor if they really want to utilize the touchscreen features.

Both of these will certainly affect the long battery life but it certainly can enhance the gaming experience of gamers.

I think most people think that gamers only play fps or those point and shoot games but if you check on steam, there a tons of indie games which people buy and can take advantage of touch features. These indie games dont take up much graphic performance power so then again they may not be suited for the gamers which Alienware is targeting.

Yes Dell should offer the option for buyers to upgrade the screen to touch screen. Maybe it was removed for Alienware 17 R3 as it was not popular.

Ohayo!

Yeah looking at how quickly king Ohayo! acquire his daily 43 at every campaign this year, i am also content with Alienware Alpha. At least it's a rather great jump from the monitors in terms of stated SRP value. :s22:

I'm not really sure now.

I know you are being sarcastic, and to be honest I can't say I'm fine with this.

If thats how you roll in HWC, perhaps will opt out from future campaigns to save myself from all these politics.

WhiteHunter

I'm not really sure now.

I know you are being sarcastic, and to be honest I can't say I'm fine with this.

If thats how you roll in HWC, perhaps will opt out from future campaigns to save myself from all these politics.

surely you can tell he is this kind of person mah. previous contest also like this. got free things and he is not getting the top prize sure jelly. dun need to opt out from future campaigns just ignore him and concentrate to get the top prize.

MoneyFace =p

Congratulations on the alienware alpha, I think it will make a good secondary pc cum streaming box cum gaming console that you can connect to your main TV. It is better than those Android tv boxes

I am writing now on my PC connected to my main TV :s22: >>>

Anyone wants to take? :D:D

Don't say too early skali i never win (touchwood) :o

Ohayo!

For Alienware 17 R3 laptop or Dell Inspiron 17 7000 laptop, other than liquid cooling or fans cooling, they can consider cooling gel in the laptop~

Gamers would benefits from noiseless portable system.

2009822105322968.jpg

I don't think this is a good idea. Cool packs/Ice pack and the such will never work because of the condensation issues and will produce moisture which will cause liquid damage on the laptop internals.

So please do not try this on your laptop.

Same goes for vacuuming to get rid of dust, please do not attempt it as it will cause large static build up. I think i have mentioned it previously in this thread before.

WhiteHunter

No point go for sth that is impossible haha i not greedy type be content with what i have~ just like u wanna overtake Ohayo! also hard as u dont have the time advantage also. the top 5 prize winner i stated quite zhun unless anyone of u chu pattern lo or else should be in that order~

Whitehunter need to get quite alot of bonus point this two days(if i were him see he redeem the PB or HDD) if he want a shot at the monitor and boss admin had to give b4 monday evening b4 jtec14 & mosmos finish earn their points redeem

anyway just for all~ contest only dont need quarrel much play within the rules earn points get the stuff and close shop~ :)

by the time admins decide to give bonus points, all the hdd would have been redeemed by others and i dun need powerbanks cos i got alot of xiaomi ones. the timing system kinda sux cos even if you put in effort to get bonus points but your timing still late then you lose out. they should reset on the same time everyday for everyone.

can only blame myself for not logging into hwz early everyday.

xtramadness

not all laptop got expresscard slot right? if it use USB3.0 will be damn good like that even Dell Inspiron series laptop also can have extended graphics like Alienware series

There is USB version also... so computer like Dell Alienware 17 R3 or Inspiron or Asus etc can use... but they (reviews) say that because its bandwidth is limited.... It is not that useful.

xtramadness

definitely you dont expect apple products use it unless apple ownself introduce their own version of Alienware Graphics Amplifier. you like it or not company will use proprietary connector. Company will like to have something over their rival in this case Dell for Alienware Graphics Amplifier while MSI got theirs too

Nope I am not expecting Apple to issue support but I am just saying that it really sucks that they lock it up and not share... Afterall... SIC! But not in the free economy world :( So whilst Dell Alienware 17 R3 enjoys their Graphics Amplifier, MSI enjoys their own, Apple users live in their own turtle shell :(

WhiteHunter

Maybe you can just buy a notebook cooler bring it out if you know u will use the Dell Alienware laptop intensively or use it at home when gaming

i tested before, those notebook cooler doesn't really bring the temperature down alot especially if you are gaming. it will still get very warm. best is to come out with something like liquid cooling system from the desktop but make it such that laptop can also use.

xtramadness

Who is the someone who bought Dell Alienware 17 R3?
Did he bought the Alienware Graphics Amplifier?

Its a few pages back... He say he buy liao wanted ask some questions about his Dell Alienware 17 R3... Not sure if he got the Alienware Graphics Amplifier as he no say...

xtramadness

true, high end graphic intensive touchscreen games and apps are so limited, thus it makes no sense for Alienware to have touchscreen.

But with Windows 10 pushing for more touchscreen (support)... Daily use mah... Afterall, Dell Alienware 17 R3 supports W10...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.