i7-6700HQ
16GB ram
256GB SSD
GTX960M
15" 4K UHD touchscreen

most important thing.. 1.78kg :eek:

edit: hmm 1.78kg with 56Whr battery, but XPS 15 primary battery is 84WHr. :s22:

2kg with 84Whr battery, still among the lightest for 15" laptops
Battery life is a big concern, some more non-removable. Its mobility will die out much faster than the internal specs will slow down....

jarred1223

tbh 1st thing i would do with the alienware would be to sell it. i dun need another desktop. :s13:

agreed.. the only white elephant in the prizes is the alienware alpha :s13:

if want to use still need to get a monitor for it.. at most use it as HTPC

MoneyFace =p

creative one really good. even their cheapo woof also quite imba. dell machiam is get those oem kind then put their brand there only.

Which subwoofer model you referring to?

That Dell bluetooth speaker just machiam laptop freebie from IT fair one leh... :s22:

MoneyFace =p

It suppose to be a TV PC gaming console....

I've seen it personally at Challenger. Damn small and light.

WhiteHunter

I got their stupid vouchers last time, not even the earphones which I saw other people getting.

i got quite alot of their ep630 earphones when i pull. gave away a couple. if you want earphones can stand near the stage and after they demo finish they will start throwing earphones into the crowd.

everytime i go pull always aim their roar 2. now have to wait for end of this mth pc show to try again.

creative one really good. even their cheapo woof also quite imba. dell machiam is get those oem kind then put their brand there only.

i bought the woof with their voucher and dun find it good. average at best even for the bass.

jarred1223

1st prize Dell XPS 13 no idea what specs right? can assume its the lowest end?

$1.7k
i3-6100U
4GB ram
128GB SSD
onboard graphics
13" 1080p screen
1.2kg :eek:

at least it has backlit keyboard, and the exterior material is CNC-machined aluminium

$200 more only gives you i5-6200U instead :s22:

wadsad

just like a desktop lor. for those without desktop, but wan to enjoy decent gaming, then will suit them bah.

i already got a desktop liao. so quite pointless. :s13:

wadsad

i got quite alot of their ep630 earphones when i pull. gave away a couple. if you want earphones can stand near the stage and after they demo finish they will start throwing earphones into the crowd.

everytime i go pull always aim their roar 2. now have to wait for end of this mth pc show to try again.

i bought the woof with their voucher and dun find it good. average at best even for the bass.

wah. for me very good liao. :s13: i that time gong gong go buy the axx instead of roar. regretted. :s13:

koreanlover

1st prize Dell XPS 13 no idea what specs right? can assume its the lowest end?

$1.7k
i3-6100U
4GB ram
128GB SSD
onboard graphics
13" 1080p screen
1.2kg :eek:

at least it has backlit keyboard, and the exterior material is CNC-machined aluminium

$200 more only gives you i5-6200U instead :s22:

If you click Dell XPS 13 in the rewards, it says it is worth $1799, so maybe not the cheapest option?

koreanlover

How about $$$face alienware alpha?

The $1699 model also come with i7 quad core! The size? Smaller than PS4, about the size of Android TV box but packs a powerful cpu and good discrete Nvidia gpu
5dAb.jpg

How it manage to cool the itx gaming PC box, it use another dual fan setup, with screwed on black heat sink. The cover easily unscrew off to access the insides.
4dAb.jpg

Only missing is the graphics amplifier port, i think a new Skylake revision will add it in, so i will think Alienware is committed with the graphics amplifier.

The Alienware Alpha supports PC games, not console games?

WhiteHunter

wah. for me very good liao. :s13: i that time gong gong go buy the axx instead of roar. regretted. :s13:

this time you can go buy roar 2 since they will be giving out vouchers. i went to demo axx and find the design not that good cos its tower type. good for those who video conference in office or home.

kimsix

nope. it is actually built for steam games which is why it got the nickname mini steam machine. they can't compete with sony or microsoft for console gaming.

Alienware Alpha plays the ported consoles games at equal or better quality than Sony or MS console because it can have up to a i7 haswell quad cores and 750Ti 2GB Nvidia GPU. You load up your Steam account and game away!

koreanlover

In addition to the added power, you also get a bevy of extra ports, including four USB 3.0 ports, three full DisplayPorts, HDMI and a DVI port - allowing you to connect up to four monitors. And, yes, you can tweak the backlit alien's head color with the AlienFX software.

Source

The Graphics Amplifier allows the Alienware laptops to be connected to up to 4 monitors! Ideal for racing games which is better played with 2 or more monitors.

koreanlover

Alienware_17_R2_19_von_22.jpg

A picture of the exposed 4 m2 expansion bays, the easily accessible back panel where you upgrade the ram and 2.5" harddisk. You can safely do without voiding the warranty. Alienware 17 can be self diy to be as powerful storage as desktop PC

Currently m2 slot is limited to 512GB.
Maybe Dell thinks 512GB x 2 isn't enough for the serious gamer, so they put 4 in the Alienware 17!

WhiteHunter

Alienware Alpha plays the ported consoles games at equal or better quality than Sony or MS console because it can have up to a i7 haswell quad cores and 750Ti 2GB Nvidia GPU. You load up your Steam account and game away!

touch your heart, would you buy a Ps4/Xbox1 or Alienware Alpha?

koreanlover

Can we removed the HDD and replaced with SSD connected to M.2 slots for Dell Alienware 17 R2?

I have a SSD and it runs much hotter than my laptop HDD, I wonder why with no moving parts, SSD should be running much cooler.

I hope Dell Inspiron 17 7000 should also include some empty slots for us to upgrade.

I think it should be ok to replace the HDD with m2 SSD for Alienware 17 R2. You can RAID them and it will be very very fast!

what88

ce5IMmL.jpg

GPxqU6J.jpg

:( :( :(

Very useful for Dell Inspirion users but does'nt seem to have Alienware in the list!

This product is compatible with the following systems:
Inspiron 13 (7347)
Inspiron 14 7000 Series (7437)
Inspiron 17 7000 Series (7548)
Inspiron 5558
Inspiron 5758
Inspiron 7348
Latitude (3450)
Latitude (3550)
Latitude 12 (7204)
Latitude 14 (7404)
Latitude 3150
Latitude 3160
Latitude 7350
Latitude E5250
Latitude E5404
Latitude E5450
Latitude E5550
Latitude E7250
Venue 10 pro (5055)
Venue 11 Pro (5130)
Venue 11 Pro (7140)
Venue 8 (3840)
Venue 8 (7840)
Venue 8 Pro (3845)
Venue 8 Pro (5830)
Vostro 3558
XPS 13 (9343)

This Dell Power Companion doesn't come with its own power adapter so it is not suitable for those non Dell products owners. :(:s22:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.