Let's DELL

what88

I feel I will be last one talking to myself :D.

So back to xps13, what I envision the use of ultrabook? To work on office documents, while multitask on web browser, email, and play some back ground music.

With this uses, I feel Dell make 16gb of ram available, the 256gb pcie ssd should be fast and adequate for it. The qhd+ screen makes text look clean and sharp. As for the touchscreen, perhaps Dell can put in a digitizer to use as note taking, as the standalone 13.3 touch screen is small and limited if it is for finger input only.

Dell can put in a finger print sensor on the screen too. The technology is coming and will alleviate the windows hello missing due to the low 720p webcam height limitation

http://www.engadget.com/2015/07/21/your-next-phone-could-have-a-fingerprint-reader-on-its-screen/

Back from dinner..will be here to accompany you for 1~2 days.. :s13::s13:

Ohayo!

I found the qhd touch xps13 is only available at the highest config, at 2299. Sadly Apple Macbook pro 13 is more affordable across the range. I hope Dell notice this and adjust the xps13 pricing.

Another area is why is ddr4 not used for more battery efficiency, a wasted opportunity to pair Skylake with ddr3l.

Looks sleek and stylish good enough. I feel that the Dell XPS 13 can rival the MacBook when it comes to design. In fact it is even better due to the infinity edge display touch screen.

I guess dell priced it's XPS 13 higher due to the premium materials used in the manufacturing of the ultrabook

what88

It is almost 20 days in this thread, thanks HWZ for organizing this event and thanks everyone for the help, thanks to Dell and Intel for the prizes…
Time to bail out le… :D

Really appreciated for sharing of the infos, ideas and user experiences on the Dell products, like week-1 Inspiron 24 7000 with Intel Realsense Technology and Windows 10 Hello, followed by week-2 Dell Inspiron 15 7000 series with 4K UHD touchscreen feature, then Dell Alienware gaming series laptops with optional Alienware Graphics Amplifier. As expected, Dell XPS 13 is the final product to talk about, the laptop that has the world’s first virtually borderless InfinityEdge display.

This thread somehow able to make me getting slightly better understanding on the listed Dell products, once again thanks to everyone… :s12:

Oh ya, congratulate to all the winners. Gx gx :s13::s13:See you all around.

Ohayo!

Don't worry... They have a dongle for that! :s22:

22_470-ABHH.jpg

And they are telling you, if you want LAN, pay more for this. :s22:

Honestly speaking, i will rather buy a cheap USB 3.0 based Gigabit LAN adapter from eBay to resolve than to fall for Dell's Joverchewist trap. I believe the omitting of LAN port is by design, in order to achieve the ultrabook's slim profile since LAN port takes up a hefty amount of thickness. Then again, they could have copy other brand's ultrabook design with such kind of enlargeable LAN port with flap.

main.php

main.php

I saw this photo too. It is a very good alternative if they prefer to keep the thin laptop look.

I wouldnt go that far to say Joverchewist trap :s13: because someone mentioned that a lot of ultrabooks including the Dell XPS 13 are missing the ethernet port.

Seems like nowadays consumer are paying more for less though. First they remove CD tray (understandable since its rarely used).. but i feel ethernet port is quite important la.

Moreover the Dell XPS 13 only comes with TWO USB ports which leaves you with only ONE left after using the ethernet adapter. Means you can only plug in a mouse and thats it.

wadsad

Paiseh i forgot you haven't redeem yet. But gonna say goodbye to you very soon.... :o

Congrats on your curvy 27" babe! :)

It is almost 20 days in this thread, thanks HWZ for organizing this event and thanks everyone for the help, thanks to Dell and Intel for the prizes…

Really appreciated for sharing of the infos, ideas and user experiences on the Dell products, like week-1 Inspiron 24 7000 with Intel Realsense Technology and Windows 10 Hello, followed by week-2 Dell Inspiron 15 7000 series with 4K UHD touchscreen feature, then Dell Alienware gaming series laptops with optional Alienware Graphics Amplifier. As expected, Dell XPS 13 is the final product to talk about, the laptop that has the world’s first virtually borderless InfinityEdge display.

This thread somehow able to make me getting slightly better understanding on the listed Dell products, once again thanks to everyone… :s12:

gxgx everyone.

wadsad

Looks sleek and stylish good enough. I feel that the Dell XPS 13 can rival the MacBook when it comes to design. In fact it is even better due to the infinity edge display touch screen.

I guess dell priced it's XPS 13 higher due to the premium materials used in the manufacturing of the ultrabook

yup. the borderless lcd is a win liao.

but branding still need some time. apple is still the hipster brand.

Ohayo!

I feel I will be last one talking to myself :D.

So back to xps13, what I envision the use of ultrabook? To work on office documents, while multitask on web browser, email, and play some back ground music.

With this uses, I feel Dell make 16gb of ram available, the 256gb pcie ssd should be fast and adequate for it. The qhd+ screen makes text look clean and sharp. As for the touchscreen, perhaps Dell can put in a digitizer to use as note taking, as the standalone 13.3 touch screen is small and limited if it is for finger input only.

Dell can put in a finger print sensor on the screen too. The technology is coming and will alleviate the windows hello missing due to the low 720p webcam height limitation

http://www.engadget.com/2015/07/21/your-next-phone-could-have-a-fingerprint-reader-on-its-screen/

I think max is 8gb ram.. seems like no option to upgrade to 16gb ram on the Dell XPS 13.

http://www.dell.com/sg/p/xps-13-9350-laptop/pd

According to some sites i found, the RAM is not upgradable because it is soldered on. In most cases, 8gb is more than enough for the average user. Unless you are playing a memory intensive game (note: the dell has only Intel HD graphics) or running a excel sheet with complicated macros (you will need the 64-bit version of Office to be able to use more RAM!), there is not much use of so much RAM.

kimsix

I think max is 8gb ram.. seems like no option to upgrade to 16gb ram on the Dell XPS 13.

According to some sites i found, the RAM is not upgradable because it is soldered on. In most cases, 8gb is more than enough for the average user. Unless you are playing a memory intensive game (note: the dell has only Intel HD graphics) or running a excel sheet with complicated macros (you will need the 64-bit version of Office to be able to use more RAM!), there is not much use of so much RAM.

Apple have 16gb for their Macbook pro 13, strange to say Apple is winning in providing better value. Their minimum version comes with 8gb ram and iris graphics!

But the XPS13 with highest config has very unique and desirable features, the high resolution colorful touchscreen is probably the smallest 13.3 ultrabook is a class in itself.

commach

Guys, please keep it cool.

Let's embrace and accommodate different views or opinion and be nice to fellow members.

Cheer!:)

MoneyFace =p

This is good and I think this is the first laptop that had this feature ba, easier for user to check the battery level of Dell XPS 13. :)
Yeah no need to rely on the on screen Windows battery level for referencing...

MoneyFace =p

Lol at all the past weeks keywords... :s13:

Yeah this time round really learned a lot of new things - be it from others' posts contributions or my own self reading and inferencing - with new product every week for exploration. Now all the different features, pros and cons are within our fingertips.

MoneyFace =p

Guys, please keep it cool.

Let's embrace and accommodate different views or opinion and be nice to fellow members.

Cheer!:)
Commach shushu good to see you here. Not sure if Gribber got hammered personally by you but kinda curious why was he being hammered? Don't see his Dell points getting deducted and he also didn't seemed to post anything offensive in his last minutes. So mysterious.... There are some paranoia going on here too...

MoneyFace =p

Soldered on? Jialat lor if RAM GG early, which happens to be next after discrete graphics....

what88

Apple have 16gb for their Macbook pro 13, strange to say Apple is winning in providing better value. Their minimum version comes with 8gb ram and iris graphics!

But the XPS13 with highest config has very unique and desirable features, the high resolution colorful touchscreen is probably the smallest 13.3 ultrabook is a class in itself.

Seriously dun have any experience or hands on this Dell XPS 13, everytime went to electronic store, always felt Macbook screen display is the best, may be I bias..=:p

kimsix

Soldered on? Jialat lor if RAM GG early, which happens to be next after discrete graphics....

No worries Dell pro support will replace a new xps 13 motherboard or the xps13 itself, in Dell pro support we can trust

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.