Let's DELL

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
I am of opinion, this is business decision.

Based on my past experiences with laptops that have removable batteries, the battery can really last. From business POV, make no sense to manufacture such battery pack and resulting in storage cost and e-waste when model goes obsolete since it is usually device-specific? Not sure what is the recycling prospective for such battery pack.

Moreover with dell coming up with power companion which is suited for a number of devices, its make more sense to go for non-removable battery.

Btw boss, have dell replied on the warranty for the prizes?

Sad man, went to redeem 24" monitor on Tuesday, no stock and dell claimed that they will send to me but up to now no news... :(

We are still pending their replies. Paiseh. Might have to wait.

But we will chase on our end and update everyone via email if need be.

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
@kimsix your refresh time is after 0000 ah? today cannot get points already? if can get today, u can hit 800 points liao mah.

just now i see u at 636. 636 + (43 x 4) = 800++

Not bad. wadsad come in and chit chat. :s13:

kimsix

but somehow non removal battery seems to last much longer. previous laptops i have, with removal battery, after a few years, the battery totally failed. cannot even last more than an hour.

and if xps 13 like it said, can last 18 hours, i think not a problem.

I think the integrated battery is a case of form over function. Because people demand their latest gadgets to have full metal casing with unibody curves, a removal battery will have to cut a hole somehow and also compromise on the structural integrity.

The way to deal with this is to continue making gains in processor efficiency, to make the OS smarter to go deep sleep such as Intel speed shift in the Skylake cpu.

Dell is the fastest brand in Singapore to go full Skylake range, I feel the XPS13 will benefit from it as the other ultrabooks selling now still on haswell

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
Hi Guys,

warranty period for the products are as follow:
  • XPS13 - 1 yr warranty
  • ext HDD- 2 yrs warranty
  • bluetooth speaker - 1 yr warranty
  • power companion - 1 yr warranty
  • 24" & 27" monitor - 3 yrs warranty
  • Alienware Alpha - 1 yr warranty
*All warranties start from date of redemption.

Thanks.

Edited to include Alienware :)

enenyi

Hi Guys,

• XPS13 - 1 yr warranty

Thanks.

Alienware Alpha no warranty? :eek:

$face take note...

what88

Hi Guys,

• XPS13 - 1 yr warranty

Thanks.

Thanks for the update. the monitors warranty is the longest. :)

what88

Alienware Alpha no warranty? :eek:

$face take note...

Did not notice the Dell Alienware Alpha was not in the list.:o

Wonder if top prize winner able to purchase Dell ProSupport to extend the coverage?

May be Boss can help to clarify on this? :D

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
Did not notice the Dell Alienware Alpha was not in the list.:o

Wonder if top prize winner able to purchase Dell ProSupport to extend the coverage?

May be Boss can help to clarify on this? :D

Confirmed winner first. HAHAHA.

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
I am of opinion, this is business decision.

Based on my past experiences with laptops that have removable batteries, the battery can really last. From business POV, make no sense to manufacture such battery pack and resulting in storage cost and e-waste when model goes obsolete since it is usually device-specific? Not sure what is the recycling prospective for such battery pack.

Moreover with dell coming up with power companion which is suited for a number of devices, its make more sense to go for non-removable battery.

Btw boss, have dell replied on the warranty for the prizes?

Sad man, went to redeem 24" monitor on Tuesday, no stock and dell claimed that they will send to me but up to now no news... :(

Hey bro,

it should be delivered to you on Tuesday. So keep a look out for it.

wadsad

Not bad. wadsad come in and chit chat. :s13:

must 会做人。repay dell abit help them market abit. :s13:

Hi Guys,

• XPS13 - 1 yr warranty

Thanks.

kum sia boss!

what88

I think the integrated battery is a case of form over function. Because people demand their latest gadgets to have full metal casing with unibody curves, a removal battery will have to cut a hole somehow and also compromise on the structural integrity.

The way to deal with this is to continue making gains in processor efficiency, to make the OS smarter to go deep sleep such as Intel speed shift in the Skylake cpu.

Dell is the fastest brand in Singapore to go full Skylake range, I feel the XPS13 will benefit from it as the other ultrabooks selling now still on haswell

Beside this Skylake processor, another key factor is the borderless InfinityEdge display. This will somehow make consumer to choose it over other brands. :)

jtec14

Hi Guys,

• XPS13 - 1 yr warranty

Thanks.

Hey bro,

it should be delivered to you on Tuesday. So keep a look out for it.

Boss, thanks for your prompt updates!

WhiteHunter

Hi Guys,

• XPS13 - 1 yr warranty

Thanks.

if dell never give receipt or invoice then we use what to claim for warranty for hdd?

Ohayo!

No need to touch it yourself. Here's the YouTube video i've come across:

In summary the Apple MBA higher a warmer tone while Dell XPS 13 a colder one, but latter has deeper black and its matte display is a big welcome to avoid glaring from sunlight outdoor.

So this makes Dell XPS 13 not just suitable for lightweight home and student user and business associates but also ideal for photography and design professionals who also requires high duty mobility, for example, wedding planners and interior designers, to bring such exquisite laptop around to meet clients across different places, and doesn't feel burden by its lightweight. Comparing side by side, it made MacBook seem so yesteryear.

Actually the Dell XPS 13 should leave a small depression on the top of the screen so can open it with one hand.. I saw the video the last part he's got a valid gripe. The MacBook can just open with 1 finger but Dell XPS 13 need to use both hands.

But then it will again be a challenge for Dell to implement it to keep it with their InfinityEdge screen.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.