Let's DELL

Ohayo!

No please, at least for now. Power efficiency is so low and charging is so hot and slow at the same time. Just look at Samsung Galaxy S6. Even if inventors are able to do wireless charging fast enough on laptops, the magnitude of magnetic field around the charging base can cause significant negative impact on user's health. I seriously don't wish so much energy to pass through my body.

And worse still, you need that bloody wire to connect to the wireless charging base. So what's the point?

I think its entirely possible to implement it.

Yes, wireless charging is terribly inefficient and produces heat but it saves the user from having to carry his bulky charger on the go. Ultrabook so thin, but charger so bulky. :s22: Perhaps it would be a great idea to tie up with furniture makers to install wireless charging mats on the tables.

Just imagine if you can simply place your ultrabook and mobile phones on the table at Starbucks and it starts to charge immediately! Of course this technology must be improved and refined to be able to make it a reality. With wireless charging already in the market, but due to its poor adoption... this would happen in the distant future.

Ohayo!

dell-xps-0229.0.jpg

I find it new that laptop maker chose to locate the physical power button on the right of keyboard instead of the usual above. I am glad they still keep it separate from the keyboard as many manufacturer choose to fuse them inside the keyboard, usually beside the Del key, as seen on ASUS Zenbook, likely in an effort to minimise real estate usage to bring down size (slightly).

power-button.jpg

Having used to older notebook keyboards with Del key on top right corner of most keyboard layouts, sometimes i did accidentally mistaken the Power button for Del key and sh!t happened. My concern with the decision to put Power button on right side of keyboard on XPS 13, despite being away separately from keyboard, is that there is still a tendency to accidentally press it, thinking as Del key if user stretch too far to reach for Del key and end up at the Power button.

This is because when we are typing on keyboard, we are constantly shifting our fingers around in a horizontal east-west motion, rather than vertical north-south motion. If the power button is placed on top of keyboard that most laptops are, the probability of accidental press can really reduce all the way down to zero.

I don't really want to face the same nightmare to shut down my laptop in the midst of churning up my thesis. So i felt this is a flaw worth reviewing by the design team.

I don't think it matters. Firstly, the button is of an entirely different feel and it's considerably far from the regular keyboard. Most laptop manufacturers place their power buttons close to the keyboard and I have never heard anything like what you had mentioned before.

If you really want to play safe, just simply choose what the power button does inside your Power Options from the Control Panel in Windows. If you pick pressing the power button does nothing, you can resolve this issue.

In any case, Dell has made the button slightly depressed so that such incidents will not happen.

Ohayo!

Also from the manual, i see XPS13 card reader can support SDXC UHS cards
rzAb.png

This is good news, you can quickly access your digicam files through the SDXC card or you can buy a blank card and use it as a storage drive!

SDXC can go up to 2TB however the best value now is 256GB, which i got PNY one from Amazon for $110, and that doubles up XPS13 storage.

This is a very good solution to the limited storage which ultrabooks have. All you have to do is to pop in a SD card and you can easily double your total storage (if your ssd is 250gb) inside your ultrabook! In addition, the SD card provides the flexibility and can act like a separate storage which you can use to back up your files. Again, redundancy!

what88

wow, fierce competition among Moneyface and Ohayo, both are working so hard day and night on discussing Dell XPS 13...:eek:

Until this moment still not vey clear who will be the winner for top prize Dell XPS 13, Jia you guys and good luck to both of you~~:)

MoneyFace =p

I see that the Dell XPS 13 comes with a free McAfee Live Safe 12 month Subscription which most definitely is a very good AV software for home use. However, after it expires, users may be left without any protection and new updates to keep their computer safe from new viruses.

I would highly recommend the 360 Total Security which is free for the budget conscious. It has the Bitdefender engine which is extremely fast and reliable. Also, the settings can be customized to fit your every need. Need more performance over security? Just simply click "Performance". Value security? Pick that.

It is so easy to use that you dont have to be an expert to use it. Best of all? It is a good and free alternative and it doesn't require you to register every year like some other AV.

Hope this helps.
Which laptop brand does not come with free trial paid antivirus bundled with their laptops? Most of them either comes with Mcafee or Norton.

Lol Mcafee (by Intel) has been a joke for years already, for being lousy to fend and clear off virus. Users should remove this bloatware immediately upon opening your shiny Dell XPS.

Wait isn't this 360 thingy from Qihoo? I personally do not trust antivirus that comes from China. Even though this 360 uses Bitdefender and Avira engine, im not too sure if they also include other monitoring software hidden from you. Having popups out of the box is simply fishy already even if you can choose to disable it. I seriously don't think there's such a great free lunch for everyone.

I rather go directly with BitDefender or Avira with their free antivirus program. Users should also use them in conjunction with malwarebytes for best protection.

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
we are expecting one more video right? or no more liao ah.

oh ya got 1 more tml. :s13:

hope next time the events also can get sph/ hwz(?) employees to act in short skits for topics. better than seeing pictures only. :s13:

You all like the videos is it? Feedback also leh. HAHAHA.

At least we can do this a little more often it is engaging and entertaining at the same time.

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
Ah, then you don't need to worry too much and you will sure get it! ;):s12:

I think Boss can award himself 800 bonus points to redeem the DBS for keeping this thread peaceful. =:p

Boss claim left over vouchers? :s11: Boss also wants the big prizes leh. :s13:

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
Well at least SG store brought the Dell XPS 13 here.

Hopefully we can see the Dell XPS 17 soon... although i feel its a bit too large for my liking..

Actually got reason to choose XPS 15 over XPS 13.. XPS 15 got GTX 960M :(

I seriously wonder if the Intel HD can play 1080p MadVR sia. My previous laptop got dedicated GPU but also fail to play 1080p :s22:

Honestly boss prefers XPS 13 though. Think it is the right size. Using XPS 17 feels like holding a portable TV everywhere. :s22:

kimsix

The wireless charging I hoped to have will look like MS surface
SurfacePower.jpg

But instead of having to cut out a port, I can magnetically attached to any part of the future XPS13. This open up the thunderbolt port for other connectors while you charge the battery and it looks futuristic too, adding to the purpose of premium ultrabooks like XPS

MoneyFace =p

I think its entirely possible to implement it.

Yes, wireless charging is terribly inefficient and produces heat but it saves the user from having to carry his bulky charger on the go. Ultrabook so thin, but charger so bulky. :s22: Perhaps it would be a great idea to tie up with furniture makers to install wireless charging mats on the tables.

Just imagine if you can simply place your ultrabook and mobile phones on the table at Starbucks and it starts to charge immediately! Of course this technology must be improved and refined to be able to make it a reality. With wireless charging already in the market, but due to its poor adoption... this would happen in the distant future.

Ultrabook chargers are not bulky at all. They are rather small and light at credit card size since they do not have high power requirements. So i do not know why you willl say that.

I can't imagine if Starbucks really implement that sort of wireless charging table at their cafes. Wireless charging will naturally induce heat on the charging surface due to imperfect energy transfer. You will never hit 100% efficiency. Imagine laptop user has been wireless charging his laptop there for, say 3 hours. The amount of energy carried over to the laptop battery and heat induced on the table will be pretty signficant over such long time. Once the user left Starbuck, the table will also be left warm (or even hot). I really can't foreseen the reaction of next customer trying to use that table... :eek:

And mentioned earlier, the magnitude of electromagnetic waves carried across the surroundings will also be much greater with such charging capability, great enough to be adverse to human's health. Just like why doctors are recommending to use less of mobile phones due to the long term adverse effect of radiation to the brain, especially when holding it to your ear for calls. Sure, such technology may be cool and seen many potentials, but IMO the benefits underweighs the disadvantages. Until they manage to convince me about the EM wave part, i will steer clear of such technology.

MoneyFace =p

The wireless charging I hoped to have will look like MS surface
SurfacePower.jpg

But instead of having to cut out a port, I can magnetically attached to any part of the future XPS13. This open up the thunderbolt port for other connectors while you charge the battery and it looks futuristic too, adding to the purpose of premium ultrabooks like XPS
That will be inviting Apple's lawyers for a coffee session. MacBook has been using that for decade. This is why you don't see any other laptop brands using such magnetic port tech.

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
Last round of points will be rewarded by 3pm.

So Ohayo and Moneyface, keep a look out for that.

kimsix

One thing that bugs me with the XPS design is this lid behind, I know it is to cover up the ugly identification stickers, but the visible cut lid looks ugly itself

09-ultrabooks-dell-xps-back-630.jpg

Dell could consider storing the identification digitally inside.
Or laser etching on one small corner will look nicer than a sticker.
Or even better laser etched a small QR code instead of the long words and numbers.

Then they can make the base a full body which improve the premium design required by people looking for premium ultrabook

MoneyFace =p

You all like the videos is it? Feedback also leh. HAHAHA.

At least we can do this a little more often it is engaging and entertaining at the same time.
I want to see Dr.Vijay and Bossaizo cameo in the future videos! Hahaha :s13:

enenyi

I want to see Dr.Vijay and Bossaizo cameo in the future videos! Hahaha :s13:

Dr.Vijay used to feature in HWZ's IT Shows video coverage as host, giving us a summary of wad to expect at the shows. Now like no more of such videos...

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
Anyways with regards to your concerns on how to claim warranty, we are checking with Dell right now :)

Will update you as soon as possible.

Any other concerns do let us know.

bosssaizo

Senior Moderator
Dr.Vijay used to feature in HWZ's IT Shows video coverage as host, giving us a summary of wad to expect at the shows. Now like no more of such videos...

Hmm Boss will let him know :p He is very busy lah. hahahaha.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.