LG G Pro 2

anirudhks

AM7 (157.9 x 81.9 x 8.3 mm) has slightly smaller dimensions compared to GP2 (157 x 81 x 7.9 mm)
Too bad AM7 doesn't have removable battery, OIS camera, slimport and AC wifi support

you mixed it up AM7 is 7.9 Mm
GP2 is 8.3 .. :)

but still GP2 rox!!!

those still holding his phone .,. hang on ,..the ported rom of Lollipop that I am running on is amazzzzzzzzing , I get very good standby n SOT and 99% of the time I have more than 1.8 GB of free RAM , the OS uses only 600MB of RAM very smooth and super fast .. so just wait for the official release which is this month end :D

RSKeisuke

what would be the best way to do an update?

1) backup using LG utility to SD card
2) factory reset
3) update
4) restore from SD

is this the best way? or just apply update anyway?

kelvinti

what would be the best way to do an update?

1) backup using LG utility to SD card
2) factory reset
3) update
4) restore from SD

is this the best way? or just apply update anyway?

Lollipop is a major and new OS upgrade which is different from the incremental updates of KitKat or within the same OS versions.

I would suggest a total wipe / reset after upgrade. Once and for all to sort out possible issues.

I know it is time consuming, but just do it once for good. You may take a day leave or off to do so lah... Hehe.

Unknownx

you mixed it up AM7 is 7.9 Mm
GP2 is 8.3 .. :)

but still GP2 rox!!!

those still holding his phone .,. hang on ,..the ported rom of Lollipop that I am running on is amazzzzzzzzing , I get very good standby n SOT and 99% of the time I have more than 1.8 GB of free RAM , the OS uses only 600MB of RAM very smooth and super fast .. so just wait for the official release which is this month end :D

Oops my bad lol
Yeah, GP2 is damn awesome
Too bad I need dual sim phone now :(

falcom2002

Oops my bad lol
Yeah, GP2 is damn awesome
Too bad I need dual sim phone now :(

Simply study why top manufacturers do not equip
their top phones with dual sim facilities for a
simple reason which you yourself know very well.
It is too easy for owners of phone with two slots
for sim to make a comeback once they are finished
with that option's disadvantages. :s13:

stamina

Simply study why top manufacturers do not equip
their top phones with dual sim facilities for a
simple reason which you yourself know very well.
It is too easy for owners of phone with two slots
for sim to make a comeback once they are finished
with that option's disadvantages. :s13:

whats the reason? i thought dual is cool.

falcom2002

whats the reason? i thought dual is cool.

From people who know the reason, here is
what they conclude:

Dual SIM can be more difficult to implement
the software giving impacts in every layer
of the under laying software. In fact from
original radio to the middleware and also
affecting very much the application logic
and the user interface.

You can check user's SIM settings and
understand the reasons why high end
flagship mobiles are not dual sim.

walkofwinners

From people who know the reason, here is
what they conclude:

Dual SIM can be more difficult to implement
the software giving impacts in every layer
of the under laying software. In fact from
original radio to the middleware and also
affecting very much the application logic
and the user interface.

You can check user's SIM settings and
understand the reasons why high end
flagship mobiles are not dual sim.
Not true, there's dual sim for flagships of LG, Samsung and even Sony.

LG g3 dual sim
Samsung s5 duos
Sony z3 dual sim

Even HTC is coming out with tonnes of dual sim phones.

Sent from my NOKIA 2210 using GAGT

couscous.falafel

this phone giving me a damn annoying problem.

when i am running/exercising and listening to music (stock music player), after about 40mins of exercise the volume will start to go haywire. suddenly all the way up, then down all the way to mute, knn

also i find my screen is too sensitive. even the slightest bit of moisture (my hands slight perspire almost all day) will cause that part of the screen to keep on activate. knn i lost count how many fb and insta posts i auto like + whatsapp keep sending weird messages of unintelligible characters

wanna send in for servicing soon. i love this phone except for these bits above.

kelvinti

this phone giving me a damn annoying problem.

when i am running/exercising and listening to music (stock music player), after about 40mins of exercise the volume will start to go haywire. suddenly all the way up, then down all the way to mute, knn

also i find my screen is too sensitive. even the slightest bit of moisture (my hands slight perspire almost all day) will cause that part of the screen to keep on activate. knn i lost count how many fb and insta posts i auto like + whatsapp keep sending weird messages of unintelligible characters

wanna send in for servicing soon. i love this phone except for these bits above.

Probably one or two or some badass apps causing it? :s11:

If not, factory reset to see if it fix your issue before heading down service centre! :s22:

december_blues

Phone Upgraded. :)
Would like to share some screen shots below.
I will follow up with a full reset as this is a major firmware upgrade.

Here goes, the new interface from G3 with Android Lollipop all G Pro 2 users are waiting (thank God I did not got tempted and buy Note 4 2 days back :) )

9lka6b.png

tus4.png

105vfqw.png

x3yfed.png

2mikw3.png

kelvinti

Awesome!

Korea > Taiwan > SEA very soon... :)

Hopefully, before CNY...

mozaat

Hi guys...
Dropped my precious into toilet bowl last night.. but i managed to quickly scoop it up in less than 8sec and quickly proceed to unload the battery and blow dry it.
So now.. glitchy. Screen display is garbled etc.
Anyway to save this phone? Its still under warranty from singtel can i send the phone in for repair? Or those ah beng hp shop can repair?

december_blues

Not OTA. Download the KDZ file from the XDA link on my earlier post to flash it manually.
That said, I'm so so glad LG did pay attention to this real 2014 phablet flagship! We actually received Lollipop faster than Samsung Note 4! WOW.

For the past few hours, lollipop has been running smoothly on my GPro2.
Can't comment on battery SOT and standby at this moment.

I was quite sceptical about Android 5 due to compulsory ART. Tried ART on Kitkat and apps open slower than in DALVIK. I'm happy to say now that opening apps on android 5.0.1 is as as fast as 4.4.2..
Recent app now do not take more than a second to open and runs smoothly as my Nexus 5 stock android which is an achievement!

At this point in time, is 5.0.1 a worthy upgrade? Definitely YES.
Reason, the entire UI has been updated, despite what others say, Android Lollipop is gorgeous! This is indeed what many GPro2 user is looking forward to. Even battery charging screen when phone is switched off looked different.
I would had wished the 'option' button were still part of OSB however, you can still access it by pressing and hold recent app.

Honestly, I'm not expecting OTA or cable update to reached Singapore till March / April thus, just proceed to the XDA link below to download the original KDZ file before it is been deleted.

Cheers!

lgmw33

Hi guys...
Dropped my precious into toilet bowl last night.. but i managed to quickly scoop it up in less than 8sec and 0quickly proceed to unload the battery and blow dry it.
So now.. glitchy. Screen display is garbled etc.
Anyway to save this phone? Its still under warranty from singtel can i send the phone in for repair? Or those ah beng hp shop can repair?

:s13: ... Lg not suitable for you. Use Sony waterproof phones. :p
I thought I read somewhere not supposed to blow it as it will further damage phone.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.