LG G Pro 2

dakeda

Hi guys...
Dropped my precious into toilet bowl last night.. but i managed to quickly scoop it up in less than 8sec and quickly proceed to unload the battery and blow dry it.
So now.. glitchy. Screen display is garbled etc.
Anyway to save this phone? Its still under warranty from singtel can i send the phone in for repair? Or those ah beng hp shop can repair?

Sorry to hear that. Warranty likely to be void due to water damage. Anyway, can try to go to LG Service Centre. Nothing to lose.

Those Ah Beng shop might be able to help. But you may want to consider getting a used set vs repair.

Hisashiburi

Read to leave the phone inside a container covered with rice.

The rice will absorb the moisture.

Dont know if it works

Hi guys...
Dropped my precious into toilet bowl last night.. but i managed to quickly scoop it up in less than 8sec and quickly proceed to unload the battery and blow dry it.
So now.. glitchy. Screen display is garbled etc.
Anyway to save this phone? Its still under warranty from singtel can i send the phone in for repair? Or those ah beng hp shop can repair?

couscous.falafel

Not OTA. Download the KDZ file from the XDA link on my earlier post to flash it manually.
That said, I'm so so glad LG did pay attention to this real 2014 phablet flagship! We actually received Lollipop faster than Samsung Note 4! WOW.

Honestly, I'm not expecting OTA or cable update to reached Singapore till March / April thus, just proceed to the XDA link below to download the original KDZ file before it is been deleted.

Cheers!

Bro, where is the link please? Thanks!

*** Edit ***

Found it, flashed alr! woop woop!

algerr

Not OTA. Download the KDZ file from the XDA link on my earlier post to flash it manually.

Cheers!

Mind me asking - your phone is D838 - SEA ?

Able to share the steps on how to flash it manually ?

Tried installing the LG Mobile Support Tool, software prompted no new updates.

Saw on XDA.. some used unofficial LG Flash Tool to flash and encountered problems..

Thanks in advance...

kelvinti

I'm also just read up the XDA threads about how to root and flash our D838 using the Taiwan's Lollipop 20C as well as how to get back to our Stock KitKat SEA D83810B.

The information in XDA is scarted around in different threads now. Kind of messy. It take times to get the clear picture of the process.

But I haven't started the process yet. I will try tonight lah if I have time. Hehe.

couscous.falafel

Mind me asking - your phone is D838 - SEA ?

Able to share the steps on how to flash it manually ?

Tried installing the LG Mobile Support Tool, software prompted no new updates.

Saw on XDA.. some used unofficial LG Flash Tool to flash and encountered problems..

Thanks in advance...

i just followed the steps in XDA, from the link that the other guy posted here...

the XDA tutorial has some screenshots with vietnamese words, i just followed that to the letter.

at the start of the flashing process, i encountered an error. the program said unable to connect to server and asked if i wanted to abort, but at that point alr 6% progress. so i ignored the connection-failed message and just let the program continue in the background. can see the progress bar moving.

my unit is D838 32GB, singtel set lah i bought from hello shop last june.

Link to XDA thread with Taiwan D838 Firmware
Official 5.0.1 Lollipop for D838 20c TWN 1… | LG G Pro 2 | XDA Forums

*** Edit ***
The screenshot tutorial with the viet words is no longer there, i cant find it

algerr

i just followed the steps in XDA, from the link that the other guy posted here...

the XDA tutorial has some screenshots with vietnamese words, i just followed that to the letter.

at the start of the flashing process, i encountered an error. the program said unable to connect to server and asked if i wanted to abort, but at that point alr 6% progress. so i ignored the connection-failed message and just let the program continue in the background. can see the progress bar moving.

my unit is D838 32GB, singtel set lah i bought from hello shop last june.

Link to XDA thread with Taiwan D838 Firmware
Official 5.0.1 Lollipop for D838 20c TWN 1… | LG G Pro 2 | XDA Forums

*** Edit ***
The screenshot tutorial with the viet words is no longer there, i cant find it

Tried it... encountered error... haiz..

Guess I will wait for official OTA.... dunno when sia...

but how's the battery life? is it much better than kitkat?

december_blues

Hi Guys,

I do not come to this forum daily thus did not see your msg earlier.
For your convenience, I had saved an instruction and files required to flash LG firmware manually on my drop box link below.

These are the working instruction I copy and paste from XDA forum and had been using it previously to manually flash v10e on my GPro2. As settings had been saved on my notebook, flashing this time round is easier and in future, you will just need to open application and flash new KDZ firmware.
If you follow the step by step instructions carefully, nothing will go wrong.
In fact it is safer than rooting because you are not changing any part of the official firmware on your phone.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/r8opj6mfl1yzeq9/AADOc8fxP3RL5H-Uca_WAWUia?dl=0

Kindly take note the the link above only contains the instruction and files required to flash LG KDZ files, you will still need to go to the link below to download the official Lollipop firmware.

Taiwan D838 have release official Lollipop!! | LG G Pro 2 | XDA Forums

Disclaimer: The above methods were shared by other helpful XDA forummer and had been tested working on my D838 32gb GPro 2. You are taking your own risk and do not blame me if your phone encountered any issue.

Peace out.

december_blues

So far, battery life is as good or slightly better than previous 4.4.2 firmware v10e. :)
As this is not a minor upgrade, master reset is strongly recommended.

RSKeisuke

So far, battery life is as good or slightly better than previous 4.4.2 firmware v10e. :)

do you mean master reset after updating to lollipop? wouldn't that put it back to its factory version?

algerr

Good news... keke..

Thanks for sharing the instructions in your dropbox... =)

kelvinti

At the moment...this is my screen...:D

M2BBlS4.png
:s22:

kelvinti

Okay! 20 minutes after root, below screen prints speak for themselves. :)

Lollipop D83820C, TWN stock firmware is running on my SEA - D838! :s22:

XjfqsSg.png

3rxppBu.png

SMDDKmu.png

7dV5whG.png

kelvinti

Basically, I used Stump apk to root and LG Flash Tool 2014 (modified vsrsion) from XDA.

Pretty straight forward! No confusing steps.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.