LG G4

THIANHOE

My LG G4 Dual-LTE die on me on my way back from overseas at 1am. Luckily it RIP the moment I step into the taxi. Sent the phone in today around 1pm due to the famous boot screen stuck bug. Was told it will take about 3 to 5 working days.

wlyeoh1

My LG G4 Dual-LTE die on me on my way back from overseas at 1am. Luckily it RIP the moment I step into the taxi. Sent the phone in today around 1pm due to the famous boot screen stuck bug. Was told it will take about 3 to 5 working days.

did you bring the receipt? i lost mine. still searching high and low for it now

Intrinion

Senior Moderator
Hi Bros,

My G4 died on me this afternoon.
Keep rebooting and then later hang at start up...
S/N 509 series ..
Will be going to LG service center on Monday.
I only have the SH contract as proof.
Receipt, I think had thrown away.

Thanks.

SH contract is sufficient. :zotto:

Did you recontract from any telco?
If yes, you can bring the contract with the stated imei down as well.

If it's purchased from a 3rd party / mobile phone shop - then warranty is based on it.

Else, it would be based on date of manufacture - but it depends.

Intrinion

Senior Moderator
For reference

I managed to change the MB when it is still working fine. Read my posts on 30th April 16 to know more about it.

Thanks! So will lg service center entertain by checking n changing the mobo even if the issue has not yet occur on the phone? Anyone can advise? Cheers

Link is as follows:
http://deluxeforums.hardwarezone.com.sg/lg-user-group-224/lg-g4-4984257-7.html#post101097498

Mod Disclaimer: Do note that above could be an one off / good will replacement.

Descay

Hi I'm thinking of doing the same as you because my G4 is on 511 serial number and warranty expiring on 30 May 2016. Can I ask if you did a backup before sending your motherboard for replacement or did you get LG to do it for you? Is LG Bridge the best way to backup the phone?

Hi, I did a backup using LG Bridge before sending my phone for the replacement of MB. LG Bridge is a good way to backup the phone imo. I tried it and have no major problems after restoring my previous backup.

Descay

Mark8888

Checked in my G4 SN508 (Sept2015 purchased from Starhub) changed MB to SN604 3wks ago. Got Bootlooped n same time complain lcd burn marks total time took more than 7biz days to settle due to lcd part. Majority of data backed up but still a bloody inconvenience to setup a new hp n make trips to svc ctr.

Q at mobile counters was long i was 8 numbers away n took exactly 1hr by the time i was done. Collection on a saturday morning was chop chop less than 5min wait no time to grab a hot chocolate or coffee from the machine. 👍 to the guys at LG svc ctr iv heard more nasty experience with Sony who refuse to admit product fault n blame on customers so they can charge.

Anyway this has gota be the most screwed up hp ever (in my books) with such a high casualty rate above 80% from those i personally know who own G4 have visited the doctor due to bootloop. Who cares if a hp has the best features or looks. Nobody likes to visit the doc n waste time. I pity those who do not backup their stuff religiously. This experience possibly a first for them like me give u no chance to do a backup swee swee before sending it it. Like the problem i had with ip3 n galaxy s3, home button & tiny white dots on amoled screen respectively.

I can imagine this casualty list might only be a tiny % of total G4 units sold (considering a high % casualty from my small list of friends i know who own a G4). Coz many dun surf this thread or bother to include themselves in the list.

Im sure many here know the G4 n G5 to be a gd feature packed hp but after this crap i guess its back to a galaxy iphone or some other cheaper bang for buck hp than give LG another shot. Its my 1st LG n not feeling too gd about it too. But samseng's s7 tho much better than s6 (damn this hp coz it ditched sdcard n batt removability) just dun get my attention like the G5.

To be honest this G4 saga puts a really bad rep on LG. If they were genuine about not losing potential biz from the G faithfuls n gaining more galaxy switchovers. This list of casualties deserve some freebies if they choose upgrade to G5. Perhaps a voucher like $50 or extra LG friends should do the trick.

For friends looking to get a new hp now i defintely dun wana stick my head out n tell them to get a G5 or G4. No matter how gd the camera or feature may be to them. 1 horror visit to the doctor might leave them with such a bad taste the pros of the hp is just meaningless to them.

Fingers crossed we all dun nid to revisit doc for a 2nd or 3rd time in some extreme cases of bootloopers here. Only time will tell took 8mth for my 508 to manifest.
LG u guys better continue with FOC MB swops til the end of G4's lifecyle heck when the warranty period is coz this model is an epic failure. Its a shame the MB messed up a relatively gd hp.

1. ILoveMYMAMA
2. FishandWater
3. jungle_sg
4. sky133
5. cacafoo
6. studmufn
7. devilot4
8. radiancez567
9. josephlpw
10. mds8080
11. iciclexlolli
12. balzebub
13. lumjil
14. dreamz13
15. aeng
16. mecha_power
17. OutBreak
18. jess_sy
19. ParkJinYoung
20. slo_mo
21. Descay
22. dasreich
23. tess_yoyo
24. HuatKway
25. GenocideX
26. kumar2004
27. bluecheap
28. ti122000
29. chehjin
30. ShinigamiX
31. Chemist_Sim
32. DesertStrike
33. Azuzok
34. angelgemini
35. chiaRH
36. shady86
37. efini81
38. eyeheych
39. spyder79
40. NoKiALoVeR
41. oldturtle
42. Bryson
43. bomiacheng
44. Firefly01
45. micromousez
46. Integra.TypeR
47. dpi295
48. vofzxy
49. stepfen
50. ZennsXDA
51. SakeSushi
52. yamihamir
53. nick_tan
54. mousefish
55. snowbucks
56. Titansmall
57. AntzN
58. membala
59. boob8888
60. Majimbo
61. samson1
62. hookwai
63. fortunecat
64. a9500494a
65. Zulu35
66. denierx
67. Junkang38
68. Altya1
69. thepapercut
70. Kayshart
71. XseanX
72. Eddy1983
73. Xaviourz
74. HuaiNR
75. devvypoo
76. twlee88
77. Coldhead
78. undergrd
79. ChickenRapist
80. X15
81. kkyz13
82. qyc_91
83. shinjono84
84. doki81
85. kaixax555
86. fastmuzic
87. cacafoo (2nd time)
88. x_noobie
89. shinjiono84
90. SINple
91. bluecheap (2nd time)
92. Crexzz
93. excpro
94. plsdunbiteme
95. ice888
96. alucard31
97. candydandy (2nd time)
98. ah_cleo
99. HuatKway (2nd time)
100. Erikku
101. MeteorBei (2nd time) Dec 15 S/N 512 & Mar 16 S/N 603
102. Fappingking
103. Jeremy330 (First Phone in Jan 2016)
104. Jeremy330 (Second Phone in Feb 2016)
105. Studmufn (Second time - S/n 511)
106. dgeralds (DUAL SIM H818P from Dubai) s/n 506
107. kentgh
108. cnotsniw (510 Batch)
109. wlyeoh1 (505 Batch)
110. bigtom (SN508 replaced to SN604)
111. mark (505) dual SIM Hong Kong set
112. daniel (505)
113. edmund

I bought my dual SIM export set in China in August last year. 3 weeks ago it died on me with the same boot loop problem. I called the local LG service center here, and they quoted me S$374 for the main board and S$48 for workmanship since I do not have any warranty. Thinking that it is too expensive, I decided not to send in for repair. I left for China after that. While in GuangZhou, I approached the local LG designated repair center. They quoted me $289 for the main board and $0 for workmanship. Still undecided, I searched TaoBao for the main board parts, and found out that there are shops that repair LG4 boot loop problem for a mere $63. I contacted them and sent in my phone via courier to ShenZhen which cost me S$3. After a week of repair and testings, I got back my phone. Till now, it has no issue whatsoever. In total, I spent S$63 + S$3.

Before I left for China, I warned my son who is also using G4 about this issue. Few days after I left, his G4 died on him with the same issue. My nephew's G4 died a day after his. Luckily, he still has a few days left before the warranty expires.

I like the G4 because of its camera, its external storage capability, and external battery. I can live with minor defects here and there, but not when the issue revolves around the key component of the phone - the main board. It goes to show that there is a quality control management problem with the company. To put it harshly, they are selling a defective product and expect the customers to resolve the issue when it crops up. If the failure occurs during the warranty period, at least the customers do not have to bear the costs. What about those who do not have the issue yet and their warranty is expiring soon? It's like sitting on a time bomb. Rightfully, the company should activate a product recall and provides free replacement outside the warranty coverage. After all, it is not the fault of the customers. I am disappointed with LG.

mds8080

Hi, I did a backup using LG Bridge before sending my phone for the replacement of MB. LG Bridge is a good way to backup the phone imo. I tried it and have no major problems after restoring my previous backup.

That's great to hear you didn't have any problems with the backup :). I will head down to LG service centre this Friday with fingers crossed. Hopefully they will change the MB for me

THIANHOE

I brought my receipt. Bought it from 3rd party shop. Can't remember the serial number, I think it is written on the service notice. I'll take a look at it tonight when i'm back. My set is only 5 months' old. Bought in Dec 15.

mds8080

I like the G4 because of its camera, its external storage capability, and external battery. I can live with minor defects here and there, but not when the issue revolves around the key component of the phone - the main board. It goes to show that there is a quality control management problem with the company. To put it harshly, they are selling a defective product and expect the customers to resolve the issue when it crops up. If the failure occurs during the warranty period, at least the customers do not have to bear the costs. What about those who do not have the issue yet and their warranty is expiring soon? It's like sitting on a time bomb. Rightfully, the company should activate a product recall and provides free replacement outside the warranty coverage. After all, it is not the fault of the customers. I am disappointed with LG.

Same here. It's really a shame that there's motherboard failure as I really enjoy using the camera and also the external battery is very convenient. My previous experience with LG was using a 4X HD and that phone was trouble free for 3 years. I guess LG quality has gone down :s8:

hummervee

Same here. It's really a shame that there's motherboard failure as I really enjoy using the camera and also the external battery is very convenient. My previous experience with LG was using a 4X HD and that phone was trouble free for 3 years. I guess LG quality has gone down :s8:

Perhaps unlucky for me, but their boasted first dual core Android, Optimus 2X, was already quite hopeless back in 2011.

hummervee

1. ILoveMYMAMA
2. FishandWater
3. jungle_sg
4. sky133
5. cacafoo
6. studmufn
7. devilot4
8. radiancez567
9. josephlpw
10. mds8080
11. iciclexlolli
12. balzebub
13. lumjil
14. dreamz13
15. aeng
16. mecha_power
17. OutBreak
18. jess_sy
19. ParkJinYoung
20. slo_mo
21. Descay
22. dasreich
23. tess_yoyo
24. HuatKway
25. GenocideX
26. kumar2004
27. bluecheap
28. ti122000
29. chehjin
30. ShinigamiX
31. Chemist_Sim
32. DesertStrike
33. Azuzok
34. angelgemini
35. chiaRH
36. shady86
37. efini81
38. eyeheych
39. spyder79
40. NoKiALoVeR
41. oldturtle
42. Bryson
43. bomiacheng
44. Firefly01
45. micromousez
46. Integra.TypeR
47. dpi295
48. vofzxy
49. stepfen
50. ZennsXDA
51. SakeSushi
52. yamihamir
53. nick_tan
54. mousefish
55. snowbucks
56. Titansmall
57. AntzN
58. membala
59. boob8888
60. Majimbo
61. samson1
62. hookwai
63. fortunecat
64. a9500494a
65. Zulu35
66. denierx
67. Junkang38
68. Altya1
69. thepapercut
70. Kayshart
71. XseanX
72. Eddy1983
73. Xaviourz
74. HuaiNR
75. devvypoo
76. twlee88
77. Coldhead
78. undergrd
79. ChickenRapist
80. X15
81. kkyz13
82. qyc_91
83. shinjono84
84. doki81
85. kaixax555
86. fastmuzic
87. cacafoo (2nd time)
88. x_noobie
89. shinjiono84
90. SINple
91. bluecheap (2nd time)
92. Crexzz
93. excpro
94. plsdunbiteme
95. ice888
96. alucard31
97. candydandy (2nd time)
98. ah_cleo
99. HuatKway (2nd time)
100. Erikku
101. MeteorBei (2nd time) Dec 15 S/N 512 & Mar 16 S/N 603
102. Fappingking
103. Jeremy330 (First Phone in Jan 2016)
104. Jeremy330 (Second Phone in Feb 2016)
105. Studmufn (Second time - S/n 511)
106. dgeralds (DUAL SIM H818P from Dubai) s/n 506
107. kentgh
108. cnotsniw (510 Batch)
109. wlyeoh1 (505 Batch)
110. bigtom (SN508 replaced to SN604)
111. mark (505) dual SIM Hong Kong set
112. daniel (505)
113. edmund
114. hummervee (505 to 602)

chiaRH

their G3 and G2 i dont think ever hit such severe bootloop scandal so im still willing to believe the bootloop problem was a one-off unlucky incident

im more concerned with their design direction moving forward cos the G5 feels like an attempt to upsell modules rather than improve the phone itself (the rear camera and the battery didnt improve compared to the G4) and as a result the G5 actually felt inferior to the V10 in some ways like headphone output and manual mode video

wlyeoh1

just send in this morning. the counter guy like see me and give sian sian de face. i see the table whole stack of LG G4s. LOL:s22::s22:. but the counter guys admit that the mother board having issue now.

currently using back my LG g2. battery life so good. my G2 phone is even faster than my G4 sia.:s12::s12:

Intrinion

Senior Moderator
My G2 was faster than G3 :s13:
Cause QHD not exactly meant for the SD801

G2 still has a special place in my heart.
What Colour is your G2?

just send in this morning. the counter guy like see me and give sian sian de face. i see the table whole stack of LG G4s. LOL:s22::s22:. but the counter guys admit that the mother board having issue now.

currently using back my LG g2. battery life so good. my G2 phone is even faster than my G4 sia.:s12::s12:

chiaRH

so is it a new different issue compared to the so-called 'power connector' problem that bootlooped all the past phones? Or is it just the usual problem?

most of us in the pioneer batch of G4 are down to our last 3 weeks of warranty, its a very bad time for anyone's phone to hit another issue again. And frankly i am very reluctant to buy a new device cos the G4 is still so new and I dont see anything on the market being a significant upgrade over the G4 that is worth 800 bucks (certainly not the G5)

Intrinion

Senior Moderator
Black G2. i think i bought my G2 only after 6 to 8 mths after the release. still the best phone i ever have. tgt with my spigen slim armor. durable n strong.

:s13: Agreed.
Mine was the Matt Red G2.

The material used in the Red & Gold are slightly different from the white and black - slightly softer and has a soft touch feel it.

Preferred the Black as it's a much hardy material in my books and hides scratches better.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.