LG G4

caterham7

"The G4 gets a camera update, moving from a 13MP to a 16MP design that migrates from an F/2.4 to F/1.8, allowing for potentially better performance. We find a Sony IMX234 sensor, a unit we haven't yet seen used in any other devices."

http://www.anandtech.com/show/9199/lg-announces-the-g4-5-5-inch-qhd-with-snapdragon-808

They are the only source reporting the G4 as using this IMX234 sensor as of now though. :s22:
Looks like lg misled us. Google-d imx234 lg g4, quite a few websites mentioning this

Bad lg

swgj86

"The G4 gets a camera update, moving from a 13MP to a 16MP design that migrates from an F/2.4 to F/1.8, allowing for potentially better performance. We find a Sony IMX234 sensor, a unit we haven't yet seen used in any other devices."

http://www.anandtech.com/show/9199/lg-announces-the-g4-5-5-inch-qhd-with-snapdragon-808

They are the only source reporting the G4 as using this IMX234 sensor as of now though. :s22:
pardon my limited knowledge, but i thought the camera module is built in-house? how come use sony?

Alexz_Hong

Was hoping for a bigger sensor size & lesser pixels. 1/2.6-inch is on par with s6. Increase to 16mp negates the increase in sensor size from g3

Pixel size still ignored by manufacturers

well...
G3 is 1/3.06" 13MP, so 1.12 μm.
G4 is 1/2.6" 16MP, so 1.2 μm.
Slight improvement.... :s13:

Even HTC who use to use 2.0 μm with their Ultra Pixel went back to 1.2 μm with the M9.
Apple using 1.5 μm though.

Alexz_Hong

pardon my limited knowledge, but i thought the camera module is built in-house? how come use sony?

Maybe the sensor itself was sourced from Sony, and they made improvements to it and built the rest of the camera module around it? I also not very sure about it. Guessing nia. :s22:

Edit: Good read here.

"The module consists of of course our lens system, an IR filter, voice coil motor for focusing, and finally the CMOS and fanout ribbon cable. Fancy systems with OIS will contain a more complicated VCM and also a MEMS gyro somewhere in the module."

http://www.anandtech.com/show/6777/understanding-camera-optics-smartphone-camera-trends/3

fishyy

After reading several webs' impression and review, only the camera is the spotlight here. Quite disappointing for me leh. Was looking at some software special features and more, like flex2's glance view etc etc.. Didn't mention about it in those websites.. Perhaps it has been introduced in flex2, thats why they skip the intro and implement into g4 already?

qyc_91

guys, u shouldn't feel down over the invite or what were the circumstances or criteria of the selection process. Do what I am doing. Watch live stream in the comfort of my home. Phone should be out in a matter of week(s) then go grab it.

I almost registered too but held back and thought to myself.. why need so much of my personal information to promote your product for FREE ??? :s13:

Name, address, DOB, email not enough ah? Must know my NRIC, social circle etc... :s22:

Anyway, cheer-up!! :s12:

I think NRIC is for guarantee purpose of you returning the phone at the end of the trial?

lucky draw & events like this has becoming more & more social-oriented. I did marketing for awhile too, of course more friends/followers are the best to have the outreach, I've seen many people winning contest because of their popular social-network including blogger giving prizes to fellow blogger who are actually bff in real life (Meh.).

Popularity contest has never been in my favor so I keep my finger-crossed for that.

But what I see here I think at least there's balance between HWZ Members & those with better social outreach. it's marketing after all. but I do think all trial users deserve to keep the device, i mean...what they gonna do with it after taking back.

swgj86

Maybe the sensor itself was sourced from Sony, and they made improvements to it and built the rest of the camera module around it? I also not very sure about it. Guessing nia. :s22:

Edit: Good read here.

"The module consists of of course our lens system, an IR filter, voice coil motor for focusing, and finally the CMOS and fanout ribbon cable. Fancy systems with OIS will contain a more complicated VCM and also a MEMS gyro somewhere in the module."

http://www.anandtech.com/show/6777/understanding-camera-optics-smartphone-camera-trends/3
thanks for the link.

hmmm but hor ... LG expertise in camera proven? at least samsung up its game for the S6 ... Apple has always been at the top until yesterday when s6 declared to be the best camera phone ...

agreed w fishyy that there isnt really much exciting about the G4 except for the display and camera ... Hmmmm ...

thinking of switching from my iP6+.

johnsonheng

well...
G3 is 1/3.06" 13MP, so 1.12 μm.
G4 is 1/2.6" 16MP, so 1.2 μm.
Slight improvement.... :s13:

Even HTC who use to use 2.0 μm with their Ultra Pixel went back to 1.2 μm with the M9.
Apple using 1.5 μm though.

My camera phone, Panasonic cm1 still the best

swgj86

i guess for most consumers ... auto mode is used more often .. unless those experts toggle the different modes in Manual ... decision decision decision ... then the perfect moment gone ...

reno77

Kinda underwhelmed by the camera .. esp this image, so much noise in it, maybe its because i'm comparing it against DSLR shots. . ..

http://www.gsmarena.com/showpic.php...-samples/camera/gsmarena_001.jpg&idNews=12079

gsmarena_001.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.