LG G4

Ted100

Is anyone getting massive data drain on their G4? I do about an hour web surfing daily on 4G and I’m getting hit with daily 200Mb-400Mb of usage. Last month I hit 5.5GB on my 4GB plan.

Most of the sites I visit are news and sports related, so it is not image heavy. Very little video as well. When I check the data settings, it is Firefox/Chrome that is using up 80% of my mobile data.

I am on 5.1 running v10c and line is with M1.

Before when I was using Samsung S3 with Starhub (4G as well), I would average 3.5GB per month. My usage pattern has not changed, so I am really stumped why I am using so much more data.

BradenHeat

Hi guys :(

Was using my LG G4 (just swiping around) and it just suddenly froze, cannot turn off either. Took out the battery, put it back in and tried to turn it on.

Went into a boot loop... I don't want to factory reset because I have a lot of data inside that I cannot afford to delete. If I try again after a long time I can get to this screen whereby it says 'Optimizing apps' 2 of 67 then it freezes and repeats the boot loop...

Can anyone advise? I have a lot of my data inside including projects that I cannot afford to delete. If I send to service center they will replace my phone but will wipe the data right? Is there absolutely no way to get back my data? I took out my SD card and I assume the files inside that are safe, not so sure about the phone memory itself..

And I had a software update about 2 days ago? I highly suspect that caused this critical failure with my phone. Really really at a loss now and some more exams need to contact ppl and do project and revise my grades gone liao :((
Sorry for late reply :

Bring it to service center... Mine did the exact same thing and problem

It seems to be a motherboard overheating issue ...

And luckily I did have a lg backup done and copied out

Most prolly you have to do regular backups

Sent from LGE LG-H815 using GAGT

xDragon

carefully read step 3..
Normal Flash: Flash ROM without losing any data. Only use this when you need to fix system error. Beware of boot loop when flashing ROM that differ from current ROM on your phone or MOD ROM.

CSE Flash: Choose this option when you need a fresh format. All data will be gone. It's suitable for upgrading or downgrading ROM or simply use this when you need to back to Stock.

Yo do you know which firmware I need to download?
http://devtester.ro/projects/lg-firmwares/country.php?country=Singapore
I entered my IMEI number but nothing came up...

BradenHeat

So they'll replace the phone ah? What about the data INSIDE the internal memory of the phone? Is it possible to extract the data if not they'll wipe it right? I need the data inside :(
It got wiped clean, since the data are majority in it.... As long yours is stuck in boot loop logo of LG no chance man..

At the root inject method, could the kind soul upload at xda hahaha.... Would want a rooted 10d ... Ver

xDragon

It got wiped clean, since the data are majority in it.... As long yours is stuck in boot loop logo of LG no chance man..

At the root inject method, could the kind soul upload at xda hahaha.... Would want a rooted 10d ... Ver

Wa siao liao la I got a lot of stuff inside sia :((( Do you know what's the cause of this issue? My mum has the same phone and I should warn her too. Software? Defects of a specific model? Phone has been amazing so far with slight slowdowns on whatsapp but overall no problem until this dunno why jus suddenly kena brick sia

BradenHeat

Wa siao liao la I got a lot of stuff inside sia :((( Do you know what's the cause of this issue? My mum has the same phone and I should warn her too. Software? Defects of a specific model? Phone has been amazing so far with slight slowdowns on whatsapp but overall no problem until this dunno why jus suddenly kena brick sia
Start using lg backup within the phone...

If WhatsApp, get the app from their website...with Google drive backup option....copy out the lg backup image from internal phone .

Root cause prolly from overheating ...I've opened it up before following max Lee the Korean android YouTuber

For now, just head to service center and get yourself a good spare phone.

If you read my post back...that's where it got to me

doki81

Is anyone getting massive data drain on their G4? I do about an hour web surfing daily on 4G and I’m getting hit with daily 200Mb-400Mb of usage. Last month I hit 5.5GB on my 4GB plan.

Most of the sites I visit are news and sports related, so it is not image heavy. Very little video as well. When I check the data settings, it is Firefox/Chrome that is using up 80% of my mobile data.

I am on 5.1 running v10c and line is with M1.

Before when I was using Samsung S3 with Starhub (4G as well), I would average 3.5GB per month. My usage pattern has not changed, so I am really stumped why I am using so much more data.
Did you turn on data saving features on chrome?

xDragon

Start using lg backup within the phone...

If WhatsApp, get the app from their website...with Google drive backup option....copy out the lg backup image from internal phone .

Root cause prolly from overheating ...I've opened it up before following max Lee the Korean android YouTuber

For now, just head to service center and get yourself a good spare phone.

If you read my post back...that's where it got to me

Yeah but how do I do that? My phone can't even boot properly and it isn't showing on my PC when I connect using USB. haiz learn a lesson now sua have to either put everything in sdcard or just backup my internal mem stuff regularly liao :( Have to redo a lot of stuff cause cannot access my phone

BradenHeat

Yeah but how do I do that? My phone can't even boot properly and it isn't showing on my PC when I connect using USB. haiz learn a lesson now sua have to either put everything in sdcard or just backup my internal mem stuff regularly liao :( Have to redo a lot of stuff cause cannot access my phone
Lesson is to back up, make a habit.... Even iPhone has iCloud for automatic backup

I understand your frustration... Just bite it and move on... If lg service center can recover good... If not just ask them to double check for thermal

skyline72

I might have a way to help you.

skyline72

Was using my LG G4 (just swiping around) and it just suddenly froze, cannot turn off either. Took out the battery, put it back in and tried to turn it on.

Went into a boot loop... I don't want to factory reset because I have a lot of data inside that I cannot afford to delete. If I try again after a long time I can get to this screen whereby it says 'Optimizing apps' 2 of 67 then it freezes and repeats the boot loop...

Can anyone advise? I have a lot of my data inside including projects that I cannot afford to delete. If I send to service center they will replace my phone but will wipe the data right? Is there absolutely no way to get back my data? I took out my SD card and I assume the files inside that are safe, not so sure about the phone memory itself..

And I had a software update about 2 days ago? I highly suspect that caused this critical failure with my phone. Really really at a loss now and some more exams need to contact ppl and do project and revise my grades gone liao :((

You stuck at the LG screen with blue LED flashing right ?

devilot4

You are not alone bro, i had exactly the same problem as you too. My G4 hanged too when i did 2 tasks then, changing to WiFi and clearing ram, then suddenly it hanged. Couldn't restart. Took out batt, put back, changed batt, plugged into power source whatever can' past the logo screen i.e. logo appeared for a while then screen blacked off again. What i can tell you is that it most probably did not have anything to do with the softwate update u had as mine hasn't updated yet. (Not because i dun want to but i tried it a million times and after clicking yes, phone rebooted and again question popped up asking me if i want to update software)

To add, my previous phone G Pro 2 had nearly the same problem too. It rebooted continuously but at 1 moment, when heng heng it managed to start up, i rushed like mad to save n backup all my data. And likewise i went to LG service center, they simply said got to send in to reformat software after they determined it's not battery fault. I told them no way and took back my phone and went around to repair shops. To shorten a bit, now i am telling the repair shop i will pay or do all it takes to recover my data in the phone. Tbh warranty or this phone mean nothing to me as my data is more important than them. Though i spent 800 over on this phone, it is pretty useless on its own to me now. Of course, i know i should back up my data, the last time i did was sometime ago. I was just caught off guarded.

When i read about any complaint about more minor problem, i think to myself i wish i am luckier to be in their shoes, cos what problem is there greater than having to have all yoir data wiped off? Other than having your data in the hands of hackers n scammers.. Does any bro have any solution that might work? Thanks a million for any help!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.