LG G4

xDragon

You are not alone bro, i had exactly the same problem as you too. My G4 hanged too when i did 2 tasks then, changing to WiFi and clearing ram, then suddenly it hanged. Couldn't restart. Took out batt, put back, changed batt, plugged into power source whatever can' past the logo screen i.e. logo appeared for a while then screen blacked off again. What i can tell you is that it most probably did not have anything to do with the softwate update u had as mine hasn't updated yet. (Not because i dun want to but i tried it a million times and after clicking yes, phone rebooted and again question popped up asking me if i want to update software)

To add, my previous phone G Pro 2 had nearly the same problem too. It rebooted continuously but at 1 moment, when heng heng it managed to start up, i rushed like mad to save n backup all my data. And likewise i went to LG service center, they simply said got to send in to reformat software after they determined it's not battery fault. I told them no way and took back my phone and went around to repair shops. To shorten a bit, now i am telling the repair shop i will pay or do all it takes to recover my data in the phone. Tbh warranty or this phone mean nothing to me as my data is more important than them. Though i spent 800 over on this phone, it is pretty useless on its own to me now. Of course, i know i should back up my data, the last time i did was sometime ago. I was just caught off guarded.

When i read about any complaint about more minor problem, i think to myself i wish i am luckier to be in their shoes, cos what problem is there greater than having to have all yoir data wiped off? Other than having your data in the hands of hackers n scammers.. Does any bro have any solution that might work? Thanks a million for any help!

Waaa you also kena ah? Then if it's not an issue related to software that means my mum's phone also high chance kena this issue right? We bought our phones together so if it's a defect within hardware manufacturing then that's a huge no-no already.

Ya I would like to have my data if possible but I just have to suck it up lor. You tried asking the service center to retrieve your data but they refused/don't know how ah? So sian the phone's really good but suddenly kena this problem. I heard it might be a motherboard issue so if they do replace my phone I'll have to make sure the new set doesn't have any manufacturing defects :( Good luck to you :D

dreamz13

Is anyone getting massive data drain on their G4? I do about an hour web surfing daily on 4G and I’m getting hit with daily 200Mb-400Mb of usage. Last month I hit 5.5GB on my 4GB plan.

Most of the sites I visit are news and sports related, so it is not image heavy. Very little video as well. When I check the data settings, it is Firefox/Chrome that is using up 80% of my mobile data.

I am on 5.1 running v10c and line is with M1.

Before when I was using Samsung S3 with Starhub (4G as well), I would average 3.5GB per month. My usage pattern has not changed, so I am really stumped why I am using so much more data.
Try downloading the onava count to monitor what has been stealing your data: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.onavo.android.onavoid

And also set alert on your data limit so you won't get any nasty surprises when u get ur bills.

BradenHeat

You are not alone bro, i had exactly the same problem as you too. My G4 hanged too when i did 2 tasks then, changing to WiFi and clearing ram, then suddenly it hanged. Couldn't restart. Took out batt, put back, changed batt, plugged into power source whatever can' past the logo screen i.e. logo appeared for a while then screen blacked off again. What i can tell you is that it most probably did not have anything to do with the softwate update u had as mine hasn't updated yet. (Not because i dun want to but i tried it a million times and after clicking yes, phone rebooted and again question popped up asking me if i want to update software)

To add, my previous phone G Pro 2 had nearly the same problem too. It rebooted continuously but at 1 moment, when heng heng it managed to start up, i rushed like mad to save n backup all my data. And likewise i went to LG service center, they simply said got to send in to reformat software after they determined it's not battery fault. I told them no way and took back my phone and went around to repair shops. To shorten a bit, now i am telling the repair shop i will pay or do all it takes to recover my data in the phone. Tbh warranty or this phone mean nothing to me as my data is more important than them. Though i spent 800 over on this phone, it is pretty useless on its own to me now. Of course, i know i should back up my data, the last time i did was sometime ago. I was just caught off guarded.

When i read about any complaint about more minor problem, i think to myself i wish i am luckier to be in their shoes, cos what problem is there greater than having to have all yoir data wiped off? Other than having your data in the hands of hackers n scammers.. Does any bro have any solution that might work? Thanks a million for any help!
Nothing but using their own lg backup..

@all... Gonna risk with the MM img via flashfire later and test ...heck care the root...

Anyone has the latest updated rooting?

Sent from LGE LG-H815 using GAGT

devilot4

Waaa you also kena ah? Then if it's not an issue related to software that means my mum's phone also high chance kena this issue right? We bought our phones together so if it's a defect within hardware manufacturing then that's a huge no-no already.

Ya I would like to have my data if possible but I just have to suck it up lor. You tried asking the service center to retrieve your data but they refused/don't know how ah? So sian the phone's really good but suddenly kena this problem. I heard it might be a motherboard issue so if they do replace my phone I'll have to make sure the new set doesn't have any manufacturing defects :( Good luck to you :D

Thanks bro for that :) ya, unfortunately.. yes, it's highly possible that your mum's phone is risky now as well, so i urge you to remind her to back up all her data without delay le and not end up like us :( of course, some would argue it's a heng-suay kind of thing. But it's not uncommon to hear of phones from a batch of shipment having certain problems.

Yes, i asked and like almost pleaded with the svc center guy to save my data. But his words were no other way, send it in to repair means reformatting and data will be wiped out. After a few mins, i said No, and picked up my phone and left. Both of us feeling frustrated.

For your info, (in the words of one hp shop that also does repairs) the guy told me ours is a common problem with LG phones and in a way, explains why LG phones have lil value. He told me G3 (he was playing with it then) is worth 200 now and G4 250 to 300. He said many ppl have walked in and got rid of their LG phones and they are definitely quite new looking, exterior looking in mint condition.

I actually jumped camp from Samsung as i feel that LG phones have nicer designs and very powerful cameras and offer very good specs for reasonable prices. But in another way, i am let down. Of course, to be fair, other brands have their own faults too.

So you have decided to send in your phone le?

androidbot

alternately, u guys may want to try the shop at the link below for your woes.. I had visited it some time back for my other phone.. they will be able to tell u if they can retrieve data or not before any payment or repair... call to chk before going down if they support the G4. All the best.

http://breakfixnow.com.sg/

devilot4

alternately, u guys may want to try the shop at the link below for your woes.. I had visited it some time back for my other phone.. they will be able to tell u if they can retrieve data or not before any payment or repair... call to chk before going down if they support the G4. All the best.

http://breakfixnow.com.sg/

Oh thanks! Will surely give them a call tomorrow!

xDragon

Thanks bro for that :) ya, unfortunately.. yes, it's highly possible that your mum's phone is risky now as well, so i urge you to remind her to back up all her data without delay le and not end up like us :( of course, some would argue it's a heng-suay kind of thing. But it's not uncommon to hear of phones from a batch of shipment having certain problems.

Yes, i asked and like almost pleaded with the svc center guy to save my data. But his words were no other way, send it in to repair means reformatting and data will be wiped out. After a few mins, i said No, and picked up my phone and left. Both of us feeling frustrated.

For your info, (in the words of one hp shop that also does repairs) the guy told me ours is a common problem with LG phones and in a way, explains why LG phones have lil value. He told me G3 (he was playing with it then) is worth 200 now and G4 250 to 300. He said many ppl have walked in and got rid of their LG phones and they are definitely quite new looking, exterior looking in mint condition.

I actually jumped camp from Samsung as i feel that LG phones have nicer designs and very powerful cameras and offer very good specs for reasonable prices. But in another way, i am let down. Of course, to be fair, other brands have their own faults too.

So you have decided to send in your phone le?

Ya ikr I actually decided on the G4 instead of the S6 due to the cheaper price and imo better design etc and the sdcard/ext battery huge pluses for me. Sian sia I'm on my way to the svc ctr now. I try to make noise see how much leeway they can give. The least they can do is to give me a new set lor. Thanks for the massive help :)

skyline72

I tried finding the rom for my phone but to no avail. I think also no pt ba, most probably is hardware problem liao

Thanks to bro androidbot, my phone is rooted.

When you get back and want to root, I can share with you the link.

FatBomb

Just left my phone on the table today and watched television. Came back and found my phone freezing. Took out the battery and now it's on a start up loot.

I'm so scared now. A lot of my images of school tutorials are on the phone. And exams are in 2 weeks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.