LG G5

falcom2002

Oh paiseh..

Wat.. Europe didnt get the Note 5? Wah that's surprising.. SG has such a small market for smartphones compared to them or some other bigger countries and yet Samsung treats our market with higher priority.. maybe cos Sporeans easier to chop carrot LOL..

You really pin-point the truth.
We have the so call "kian-su" attitide (afraid to loose out),
secondly when manufacturers and retailers offer "Free"
things, you will see people camp overnight outside the
location to make sure they can get the free stuff that will
be offered. This is one of the method Apple used to launch
their earlier devices, followed by others.

Mostly likely, Samsung knew that Note 5 without the
removable battery won't be popular in Europe, but here
in Singapore, the consumers of smart phone have a different
attitude.

They like to show off that they are using he latest
flagship phone. :s22:

falcom2002

It depends what are your requirements for a mobile phone.

Between LG G5 and Samsung S7/S7 Edge, I will go for LG G5. Although Samsung has reduced its bloatware but there are still some Samsung apps that you are unable to uninstall unless you root your mobile phone.

I am looking at LG G5, Sony Xperia X Performance and maybe HTC 10.

Before you make your final decision, do make sure you really
have what you want in the above three models:
G5, Xperia X Performance and HTC10.

Example for different needs:
1) Waterproof is a must
2) Removable battery is a must
3) Good manual camera for still pictures is a must
4) Wide-angle photography is a must
5) Expandable storage up to 1TB or 2TB is a must
6) Lastly but not least, a good resale value if you want to
sell it for the next upgrade of your smartphone.

Enjoy your research sia! :s22:

chiaRH

Oh paiseh..

Wat.. Europe didnt get the Note 5? Wah that's surprising.. SG has such a small market for smartphones compared to them or some other bigger countries and yet Samsung treats our market with higher priority.. maybe cos Sporeans easier to chop carrot LOL..

I think we as a market seem to get everything except motorola.

Samsung definitely likes our market a lot. You got to ngee ann city now and right in front of the 2 lion statues is a huge samsung tent for some promotion roadshow thing showing all the new stuff. No other company is this hardcore with marketing.

Its not surprising since most people here use samsung. You can tell by seeing the number of samsung phone cases sold in shops.

xRenol

Before you make your final decision, do make sure you really
have what you want in the above three models:
G5, Xperia X Performance and HTC10.

Example for different needs:
1) Waterproof is a must
2) Removable battery is a must
3) Good manual camera for still pictures is a must
4) Wide-angle photography is a must
5) Expandable storage up to 1TB or 2TB is a must
6) Lastly but not least, a good resale value if you want to
sell it for the next upgrade of your smartphone.

Enjoy your research sia! :s22:

Thanks for the advice but what you listed are not a must for me. :)

I will wait for reviews before I purchase.

falcom2002

Thanks for the advice but what you listed are not a must for me. :)

I will wait for reviews before I purchase.

Ha,ha, here we find a smartphone user that is easy going
and don't really need any of the stuff that are found on
either mid-range or flagship phones.

Or maybe I misunderstood your statement.

Pretty sure you won't get any of the stuff listed on these
models G5, Xperia X Performance and HTC10?
Then better share the results of the reviews you have done.

xRenol

Ha,ha, here we find a smartphone user that is easy going
and don't really need any of the stuff that are found on
either mid-range or flagship phones.

Or maybe I misunderstood your statement.

Pretty sure you won't get any of the stuff listed on these
models G5, Xperia X Performance and HTC10?
Then better share the results of the reviews you have done.

Haha.... Not a must but some are good to have.

8-lane

You really pin-point the truth.
We have the so call "kian-su" attitide (afraid to loose out),
secondly when manufacturers and retailers offer "Free"
things, you will see people camp overnight outside the
location to make sure they can get the free stuff that will
be offered. This is one of the method Apple used to launch
their earlier devices, followed by others.

Mostly likely, Samsung knew that Note 5 without the
removable battery won't be popular in Europe, but here
in Singapore, the consumers of smart phone have a different
attitude.

They like to show off that they are using he latest
flagship phone. :s22:

I think we as a market seem to get everything except motorola.

Samsung definitely likes our market a lot. You got to ngee ann city now and right in front of the 2 lion statues is a huge samsung tent for some promotion roadshow thing showing all the new stuff. No other company is this hardcore with marketing.

Its not surprising since most people here use samsung. You can tell by seeing the number of samsung phone cases sold in shops.

Ya.. i think for many sgporeans.. the latest is the greatest.. watever the price of the item.. :s22:

chiaRH

Ya.. i think for many sgporeans.. the latest is the greatest.. watever the price of the item.. :s22:

these days I find that the latest is not necessarily the greatest, and with smart devices this is especially true, because of stability issues and software problems waiting to be patched but not yet patched yet.

Look at the number of LG G4 users to OTA'ed to marshmallow only to find inferior battery life.

I think people who really want the latest phone either are due to recontract so they have a 'might-as-well-get-new-thing' mentality, or they have a 'fashion' mentality where they want to keep up with whats new and trendy, thats the reason why phone launches have such long queues, typically something only seen for fashion labels.

Then of course theres the absurd short lifespan of an old device. No more warranty, the performance start to lag, the battery not as good etc... which is a shame because an expensive device like a flagship smartphone shouldnt degrade so quickly.

if it is true that singaporeans just want the latest and greatest all the time, maybe singaporeans have too much money, or the product just depreciates too fast

gws898

The accessories are pricey as...

LG’s G5, which promises to give the Samsung Galaxy S7 and Galaxy S7 Edge some competition, is heading to Singapore officially in April. We don’t have the exact date yet, but the good news is that we have the pricing as well as details of LG’s special promotion.

M1, Singtel, StarHub and LG Mobile official retailers will be carrying the phone and with every purchase there’ll be a G5 battery charging kit (while stocks last) that will comprise of a spare battery and charger worth S$168.

The all metal body will one-up its competition in that it will have a user-replaceable battery, allowing users to bring a spare for when they need it.

Apart from that the phone also runs a Snapdragon 820 processor, Adreno 530 graphics, 4GB of RAM and 32GB of internal storage with support of microSDs up to 2TB.

Its modular design also allows the attachment of modules such as the LG Cam Plus that can be attached through the battery slot to add physical camera buttons as well as a comfortable grip. It even comes with its own 1,200mAh battery.

Another attachment is the LG Hi-Fi Plus with B&O Play that adds 32-bit Hi-Fi DAC upsampling technology first seen on LG’s V10. It supports 32-bit, 384KHz audio playback and can also be attached to any smartphone or PC to function as a Hi-Fi DAC.

Both the LG Cam Plus and LG Hi-Fi Plus can be purchased as a Module Bundle for a promotional price of just S$274 from 16 April to 31 May. After that it will cost S$456 to purchase.

Other highlights of the LG G5: its two rear cameras, one with a 78-degree lens and the other a 135-degree wide angle, the widest so far on a smartphone. Its 5.3in Quad HD IPS display will have an Always-on feature that will allow you to see the time at a glance.

Also coming to our shores is the 360 Bundle comprising the LG 360 VR goggle and the LG 360 Cam, a 360-degree angle camera. You can purchase them both together for just S$590 from 1 May to 31 May, after which the price will revert to S$946.

Need more excuses to throw money at LG? It’s also offering the LG Rolling Bot for S$398 (usual price S$498) if you purchase it with another LG item. The bot has an 8MP camera and can be used to remotely monitor your home or just entertain/annoy your pets and loved ones. It’ll be available in June 2016.

Check out our review of the LG G5 before you go LG mad.

The LG G5 will come in titan, pink and gold colour options and is priced at S$988.

Read more at http://www.stuff.tv/sg/news/lgs-fla...-singapore-entrance-april#RW4gwP5WUDMu4CwH.99

http://www.stuff.tv/sg/news/lgs-flagship-g5-making-grand-singapore-entrance-april

falcom2002

falcom2002

Haha.... Not a must but some are good to have.

Haha, now you admit you feel good to have
some of the stuff.

But why in the first place you simply just say you
don't need any of the stuff? This a big shock for regular
smart phone users. Well.........we know human's weak point.

xRenol

Haha, now you admit you feel good to have
some of the stuff.

But why in the first place you simply just say you
don't need any of the stuff? This a big shock for regular
smart phone users. Well.........we know human's weak point.

In the first place I never say I do not need any of the stuff. Not a must does not mean do not need.

Want vs Need that all.

gws898

What are the worries that we have if after acquiring some
of our favorite accessories and in less than a year or two
LG starts to come up with G6?

Well if G6 can still use the accessories than it's still possible
to think long term because G5 is the first modular mobile
device available as for now. :)
So far to me, the only thing that worth investing on the G5 is LG Cam Plus and LG Hi-Fi Plus. Other than that, is a meh.

I just hope someone release a phone casing for the G5 together with the LG Cam Plus.

Even the LG 360 VR is more expensive than Samsung Gear VR.

caterham7

1. make worldwide announcement just to "fight" with samsung
  2. after samsung start selling s7, no news on when g5 going to be sold
  3. organise local product launch, but make it close-door, without any mechanism [e.g. contest] to invite a small number of fans
  4. but still post photos from the event just to make fans jealous
  5. end up with no confirmed date of sales start or pre-order
i just don't know what LG is doing. they already have an uphill battle with the big boys, and yet they play the game so poorly

Melpzg

I think the biggest worry i have, the phone will definitely phrase out since every year there is a new flagship launch.

Meaning the modules will go along with it unless LG makes it compatible with newer flagship.

Anyway 998 is expensive! Zz

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.