LG G6

chiaRH

pretty sad at the glass-metal-sandwich body. its basically a dual-camera samsung now. My past experience with the Sony xperia z1 compact gave me a dislike for glass backed phones. At least sony eventually went matte glass. LG's still going gloss which I fully expect to get smudges at best, scratches at best (I feel like its going to be Jet Black iphone syndrome all over again)

heard the camera pixels are still 1.12 microns so I still am uncertain if its low light is a proper improvement over the V20, not to mention the iconic colour sensor and laser focus are all but gone

that being said its nice to see some of the V20 features (region-locked as they may be) trickle down to the G6.

Alexz_Hong

pretty sad at the glass-metal-sandwich body. its basically a dual-camera samsung now. My past experience with the Sony xperia z1 compact gave me a dislike for glass backed phones. At least sony eventually went matte glass. LG's still going gloss which I fully expect to get smudges at best, scratches at best (I feel like its going to be Jet Black iphone syndrome all over again)

heard the camera pixels are still 1.12 microns so I still am uncertain if its low light is a proper improvement over the V20, not to mention the iconic colour sensor and laser focus are all but gone

that being said its nice to see some of the V20 features (region-locked as they may be) trickle down to the G6.

I'm not a fan of glass back too, so always cover up with skins. Just have to be careful not to drop. :s13: Camera wise we'll have to see how it performs. According to androidcentral (http://www.androidcentral.com/lg-g6);

"On paper the G6's main sensor doesn't appear to be anything special. Yet the overall package, with that bright lens and OIS, beats the Galaxy S7 and goes toe-to-toe with the Google Pixel in the dark, thanks in part to LG's software tuning. And although wide angle camera can become grainy in darker conditions, it's miles ahead of the old 8-megapixel sensor from the V20 and G5."

So still got hope? But i see the samples, I don't find it that great though. In the end have to try liao then will know. haha. For me laser focus and colour sensor not really necessary though. These day even without laser AF also can achieve excellent AF speed and accuracy liao. Like Samsung's Dual Pixel. Also, if they can tune the processing well, the colour sensor also not really needed.

But overall I think looks promising hardware wise. But like most LG phone, just not entirely sure about the software nia. haha. :s22:

kelvinti

To me, it doesn't matter what it is made of coz I use casing for all my phones. No nude. :)

kopi22

Actually I quite like the G6 design. I think LG nails the design this year with G6.

I am definitely considering the G6 (to replace my stupid Samsung) when my contract is up for renewal at the end of the year! That is provided that the G6 doesn't have anymore dreaded bootloop issues.

That said, I don't like the glass back design too. But I think the Ice Titanium colour is nice. And IP68 rating is certainly a big plus too. Single SIM is ok, considering that I used to use iPhone for 5 years.

chiaRH

I'm not a fan of glass back too, so always cover up with skins. Just have to be careful not to drop. :s13: Camera wise we'll have to see how it performs. According to androidcentral (http://www.androidcentral.com/lg-g6);

So still got hope? But i see the samples, I don't find it that great though. In the end have to try liao then will know. haha. For me laser focus and colour sensor not really necessary though. These day even without laser AF also can achieve excellent AF speed and accuracy liao. Like Samsung's Dual Pixel. Also, if they can tune the processing well, the colour sensor also not really needed.

But overall I think looks promising hardware wise. But like most LG phone, just not entirely sure about the software nia. haha. :s22:

I think based on what I read, in order to get the normal and wide camera to be equal resolution, as well as prevent camera hump, the G6's dual cameras are each 1/3" sensors (sony IMX 258). The older G and V series used 1/2.6" sensors. Whatever software LG is doing, better be really damn good because i've seen my own G4 and my parent's G5 and its been 2 years of not-that-good image processing (reason why i shoot in manual all the time for night shots. The auto sucks).

I guess i can hope that with the reduction from 16MP to 13MP, the image processing might have a chance to be 'cleaner' with less noise.

The whole deal with glass back and phone cases is, no case on earth can shield a phone from impact energy significantly. A drop could still crack the glass because of the brittle nature of glass compared to metal.

Fellowes

I think LG don't want to do business globally.
Create a wonderful LG G6 but wait...let's remove the Quad DAC, FM radio, wireless charging and give 32GB variants to some region while some regions get 64GB with Quad DAC, some with FM radio and some with wireless charging!

Seem like LG want to limit themselves, don't want sales and forget what is hardware standardisation, making things difficult for themselves and customers

Just damn packed IR blaster, Quad DAC, FM Radio and Wireless charging into one LG G6 and I am sure people will buy. Trying to play a catching up game with Samsung (as usual always one step behind) and Apple but seem like you don't want to have a slice of the smartphone share pie.

No IR blaster.
Quad DAC / FM radio / Wireless charging - market dependent. The whole market dependent "idea" is what makes companies lose customers & money.

Had high hopes for this but NOPE now waiting to see S8 / S8+ & Note8.

I think LG don't want to do business globally.
Create a wonderful LG G6 but wait...let's remove the Quad DAC, FM radio, wireless charging and give 32GB variants to some region while some regions get 64GB with Quad DAC, some with FM radio and some with wireless charging!

Seem like LG want to limit themselves, don't want sales and forget what is hardware standardisation, making things difficult for themselves and customers

Just damn packed IR blaster, Quad DAC, FM Radio and Wireless charging into one LG G6 and I am sure people will buy. Trying to play a catching up game with Samsung (as usual always one step behind) and Apple but seem like you don't want to have a slice of the smartphone share pie.

No IR blaster.
Quad DAC / FM radio / Wireless charging - market dependent. The whole market dependent "idea" is what makes companies lose customers & money.

Had high hopes for this but NOPE now waiting to see S8 / S8+ & Note8.

Spot on observation! However I noticed that Samsung does the same thing too leh. In some markets, a certain phone model are powered by Snapdragon, while in other markets it is are powered by Exynos. Or 16GB ROM in some markets, and 32GB ROM in others. Or some markets have single SIM, others dual SIM. Good example is the Galaxy A8.

Maybe that's the way Korean companies does business? Divide and rule their consumers. :s13:

chiaRH

Spot on observation! However I noticed that Samsung does the same thing too leh. In some markets, a certain phone model are powered by Snapdragon, while in other markets it is are powered by Exynos. Or 16GB ROM in some markets, and 32GB ROM in others. Or some markets have single SIM, others dual SIM. Good example is the Galaxy A8.

Maybe that's the way Korean companies does business? Divide and rule their consumers. :s13:

Still, having a different SoC based on region isnt the same as having total omission of a feature based on region.

For regions that dont have the exynos variant, they have the snapdragon, and performance wise, both are quite on par. In LG's case those regions that dont have the quad DAC, what kind of DAC do they get in return?

I can understand consumers being unsatisfied with this kind of marketing from LG. It feels like how sony cut out the fingerprint reader from the US variant of the xperias.

chiaRH

I really don't know..

G6 still doesn't interest me at all...

its getting harder and harder for flagships to wow people, even whatever samsung announces a month later I bet it'll just be basically a S7 edge with new iris scanner, not to mention that weird off-centre fingerprint sensor on the back.

these days new phones arent a must have anymore, they're more like there for you to consider if your recontract cycle end happens to be around the corner

for my own personal interest I'm looking more at the Huawei P10 (mainly cos i prefer 5 inch size), just need to know if they finally cleaned up EMUI.

Shinrakuonji

Lg G6 for Singapore will be a 64GB version with Quad DAC just like the V20 .

Specs :
5.7 inch Fullvision Display
2880 X 1440 Resolution
Supports HDR10/Dolby Vision HDR*
18:9 Aspect ratio
Up to 700 Nits brightNess on Auto
IPS LCD Panel
*(world's first phone to have dolby bison HDR support)

3300mah Li-Ion battery with extra safe mechanism inside to prevent overheating and expansion of battery cells

Sturdy Aluminium chassis surrounded by Corning Gorilla glass ( glass 5 in the front , Glass 4 on the camera lens , glass 3 on the back )

Dual 13MP Camera ( 71° FOV F/1.8 & 125° F/2.4 FOV ) phase and contrast auto focus no more laser autofocus , dual Led flash
Video / image manual mode (just like the V20)

SNAPDRAGON S821
4GB Lpddr4/4x Ram
64GB Internal Memory
Single SiM / dual sim

Quad DAC Dac/Amp

Qualcomm Quick charge 3.0
USB type C
WiFi a/b/c/g/n/ac (more bands included)
Bluetooth 4.0

IP68 water and dust resistant

Narukura

Lg G6 for Singapore will be a 64GB version with Quad DAC just like the V20 .

Specs :
5.7 inch Fullvision Display
2880 X 1440 Resolution
Supports HDR10/Dolby Vision HDR*
18:9 Aspect ratio
Up to 700 Nits brightNess on Auto
IPS LCD Panel
*(world's first phone to have dolby bison HDR support)

3300mah Li-Ion battery with extra safe mechanism inside to prevent overheating and expansion of battery cells

Sturdy Aluminium chassis surrounded by Corning Gorilla glass ( glass 5 in the front , Glass 4 on the camera lens , glass 3 on the back )

Dual 13MP Camera ( 71° FOV F/1.8 & 125° F/2.4 FOV ) phase and contrast auto focus no more laser autofocus , dual Led flash
Video / image manual mode (just like the V20)

SNAPDRAGON S821
4GB Lpddr4/4x Ram
64GB Internal Memory
Single SiM / dual sim

Quad DAC Dac/Amp

Qualcomm Quick charge 3.0
USB type C
WiFi a/b/c/g/n/ac (more bands included)
Bluetooth 4.0

IP68 water and dust resistant
Cool. Time to recontract when it's here.

Sent from Konoha Hokage office using GAGT

Audris

Was so looking forward to this phone but my deal breaker is the reduced mega pixel camera... I owned the G5 and V20. Loved the 8mp front cam of G5 which is so clear and hated the 5mp V20. Now G6 is back to 5mp for front cam and I wonder will the quality be affected

kopi22

Mr Fisher's review..... Always like his videos.

The G6 design is really sleek..... The narrow top and bottom bezels really as thin as my V20.

And dual mode wireless charging??? Simi lai eh???

And the review is already out:
http://www.androidcentral.com/lg-g6

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.