LG G6

chiaRH

IMO i feel like the 18:9 thing is kind of a gimmick

You get what maybe 2-4 extra lines of text visible on webpage in your browser?

Dilemma for camera users. Each has their own advantages.

G6 has wide angle, something that is so great to use.

Xperia XZ Premium and XZs introduces slow-motion 960 fps shooting. Another amazing feature that once you use it, you will be wowed at how life passes us by too fast.

P10 has the Leica brand, and continues having a dedicated monochrome sensor. Based on my review on the Mate 9, Huawei has the best camera for selfies and social media posting. Using the wide aperture mode makes images pop up and isolate, something that can only be achieved with DSLR and expensive lens. It's not perfect, but social media sharing is adequate.

http://musicphotolife.com/2017/02/mwc-2017-lg-g6-huawei-p10-sony-xperia-xz-premium/

Im still not convinced sony can even be a part of the conversation when talking about camera.

Their camera software is bad, like so very bad its the polar opposite of LG's camera interface. Even last gen's xperias were a nightmare to anyone wishing for proper camera manual control, and the absurd high megapixel count like 20MP/18MP produces photos so bad you'll always rather shoot in 8MP superior auto mode. Have you ever seen the HTC 10 whose manual mode can only shoot up to 2 seconds long exposure? Sony actually managed to be even inferior to that, offering only 1 second max. Sony just doesnt take smartphone photography seriously and is purely coasting on brand reputation. And even if you dont care about manual and shoot auto, Samsung beats them hands down especially in low light.

Huawei may seem like gimmick with the leica branding on a camera whose lenses arent actually made by leica, but their image processing at least is actually legit.

Still, having a different SoC based on region isnt the same as having total omission of a feature based on region.

For regions that dont have the exynos variant, they have the snapdragon, and performance wise, both are quite on par. In LG's case those regions that dont have the quad DAC, what kind of DAC do they get in return?

I can understand consumers being unsatisfied with this kind of marketing from LG. It feels like how sony cut out the fingerprint reader from the US variant of the xperias.

Not all Exynos / Snapdragon variants are on par. The SD615 vs the Exynos 5430 found in the Galaxy A8 (2015) model found in various countries, the Exynos 5430 is a mile ahead. SoCs standardizations are as important as features. After all the SoCs is the engine of the phone.

Quad DAC to audiophiles, are certainly important. Perhaps LG has planned something bigger for the V30 and does not want the G6 to cannibalize it in certain markets. In any case I think we should be thankful that locally market we usually get the top features. Ha.

LG latest UI still look some child play. I think Samsung Touchwiz sucks but they have change it to the newer Grace UX which look more professional and less childish and the Nougat update makes the S7 & S7 Edge fly really fast, expect S8 to be even faster!

Sorry LG. I think not many people will buy this phone, spec to spec, hardware feature to hardware feature and pricing wise, you did restrict yourself in regional hardware spec idea plus using an older CPU.

The dumbest decisions ever is the regional spec restriction. Quote: "LG says this is because the demand for wireless charging is higher in the US, so it doesn’t make sense to offer it in other areas."
You make a serious mistake here, to use it or not, we customers decide, not you removing feature, I assure LG that wireless charging will be on all Galaxy S8 as Samsung already make it as a default spec since Galaxy S6 2 years ago.

"That Quad HiFi DAC will be exclusive to overseas markets in Asia, including Korea and a few other unspecified markets". One of the main feature but you restrict it to Asia, I think you don't want Amercian markets sales.

You got a great time to shine as the Galaxy S8 is delay for sales yet you have a lot of stupid pattern.

I don't know whether the G6 is a 2016 or 2017 spec phone. Seriously LG??? Be like Apple, standardised the hardware specification with all colours and all storage size and launch in all countries, koreans OEM are really funny at times.

https://9to5google.com/2017/02/26/lg-g6-region-restricted-features/

Honestly I am really hoping that LG and Sony can step up their game and take away Samsung's dominance of the Android market. Thankfully Apple is in their own league which Samsung is always trying hard to steal and copy.

chiaRH

Not all Exynos / Snapdragon variants are on par. The SD615 vs the Exynos 5430 found in the Galaxy A8 (2015) model found in various countries, the Exynos 5430 is a mile ahead. SoCs standardizations are as important as features. After all the SoCs is the engine of the phone.

i have to admit i am not familiar with that very specific case scenario when I look it up it seems the 5430 variant was a later launch that was in india?

A case that Im more familiar with is the LG G5, where they put the snapdragon 652 inside for some markets like latin america and called it the G5 SE, that one definitely had less performance and supposedly was a choice to lower the price in those markets.

I dont see how much lower the G6 price can possibly be though, by cutting out entire features. Lets say we choose samsung as the price benchmark, last year in SG, the G5 undercut the S7 by a mere $10 if I recall...

Honestly I am really hoping that LG and Sony can step up their game and take away Samsung's dominance of the Android market. Thankfully Apple is in their own league which Samsung is always trying hard to steal and copy.

The reality is samsung has the marketing and branding power, which is the power to sell and to dominate. LG and sony are very bad at marketing.

technolust

Yes, I think something people do not talk about much is how very much Samsung and apple have sewn up the social and online media with regards to their products. They have grown to a stage where just by withholding early access to their products or invitations to their events, they can make or break these online reviewers and sites that depends on " clicks " on their videos and pages to survive. Basically both Samsung and apple have reached a stage where they are too big to fail. You do not see the same exacting standards applied to them as other companies. Even if features are not so good they are usually glossed over and in the end you will still see the product is " recommended "

This is a case in point when u compare with LG. No matter what they do, reviewers are never satisfied and will find something to slam them. Last year g5 modular, they too slam for it being ugly , not true metal etc ( even though it is but just coated over). This year they remove modularity and follow Samsung and other suppliers and they tio slam for boring design with no removable battery ( hello how to have removable battery if u all want slim metal unibody). U don't see the Same reviewers kaopeh about the lack of removable battery in galaxy or iPhones. Last time reviewers picked on the painted metal surface , this year got some morons start on pick on why LG never use gorilla glass 5 on all surfaces instead of only the front. Back they use gorilla glass 3. Bottom line is , decide a phone based on its own merits based on your own opinions and usage, don't always just follow these review sites. They hardly use the phone more than a week anyway before they do a review

Fellowes

Like that, I go buy a Samsung or LG TV instead .... Sianz... Haha.

But, I don't understand leh...

G6 is a 5.7" with 18:9 ratio.

Then, how can a S8 5.8" fits the 18:9 ratio in comparison?

We shall see when is unveil on 29 March 2017, maybe like you said they will keep the 16:9 aspect ratio with QHD+ 5.8" 3200x1800 694ppi and 6.2" with 649ppi. Haha! Let's wait and see how it goes

SZQddy

I generally like the look and the new form factor but still a little too large for me. I would have preferred a 5.5" in the same form factor. Really dislike glass back but maybe it's easier to make the phone waterproof with glass. I'm happy with good quality grippy plastic to be honest.

I hope the dual-sim variant is available here and, if it shares the slot with microsd, 64GB storage.

Any word if it's 4G+3G/4G dual-sim? Presumably there's no IR blaster and no word on notification led?

Need to get hands on before judging this. Definitely cannot be priced more than the S7E.

garychengjw

I generally like the look and the new form factor but still a little too large for me. I would have preferred a 5.5" in the same form factor. Really dislike glass back but maybe it's easier to make the phone waterproof with glass. I'm happy with good quality grippy plastic to be honest.

I hope the dual-sim variant is available here and, if it shares the slot with microsd, 64GB storage.

Any word if it's 4G+3G/4G dual-sim? Presumably there's no IR blaster and no word on notification led?

Need to get hands on before judging this. Definitely cannot be priced more than the S7E.
S7E is a dated phone. You should compare with upcoming phones instead.

Sent from Xiaomi REDMI NOTE 4X | Colourful Metal using GAGT

Yes, I think something people do not talk about much is how very much Samsung and apple have sewn up the social and online media with regards to their products. They have grown to a stage where just by withholding early access to their products or invitations to their events, they can make or break these online reviewers and sites that depends on " clicks " on their videos and pages to survive. Basically both Samsung and apple have reached a stage where they are too big to fail. You do not see the same exacting standards applied to them as other companies. Even if features are not so good they are usually glossed over and in the end you will still see the product is " recommended "

This is a case in point when u compare with LG. No matter what they do, reviewers are never satisfied and will find something to slam them. Last year g5 modular, they too slam for it being ugly , not true metal etc ( even though it is but just coated over). This year they remove modularity and follow Samsung and other suppliers and they tio slam for boring design with no removable battery ( hello how to have removable battery if u all want slim metal unibody). U don't see the Same reviewers kaopeh about the lack of removable battery in galaxy or iPhones. Last time reviewers picked on the painted metal surface , this year got some morons start on pick on why LG never use gorilla glass 5 on all surfaces instead of only the front. Back they use gorilla glass 3. Bottom line is , decide a phone based on its own merits based on your own opinions and usage, don't always just follow these review sites. They hardly use the phone more than a week anyway before they do a review

Very good point there. And the thing about Samsung is that they are monopolizing a lot of the internal components too. LCDs, batteries, RAM, ROM, motherboard, you name it they will produce from their affiliates. And hence why they can be so profitable. Per unit of phone produced, I guess Samsung have the highest profit margin. Even Apple has to kowtow to them.

Personally for me, I actually like plastic or metal backs and removable batteries. And I think that the LG G5 was a nice design despite the odd detachable battery. The only issues that is stopping me from buying an LG phone is that the bootloop in their past few designs. G4, V10, G5, V20... Seriously hoping that the G6 won't have the same issue.

technolust

Yeah, economies of scale and really large scale marketing. U see a demo set in every shop from challenger to Telcos and a sales rep in every shop. None of the others can compare as you need a huge marketing Budget and cost to do all this. Only huge companies can. I sarpork LG cause they innovate and I don't want the phone market to shrink Into only 2 players. It's already bad enuff 4 mobile OS became 2 mobile OS. We should support variety which benefits us consumers. However I don't agree with LG have diff configuration for diff regions. We would like wireless charging here also and I m sure the US market would like the dac. That said I m most attracted to the small bezel design of the phone. Previously this is only available on Japanese keitais or the mi mix. However like u, I am very wary of the boot loop and screen burn in issues :(

Very good point there. And the thing about Samsung is that they are monopolizing a lot of the internal components too. LCDs, batteries, RAM, ROM, motherboard, you name it they will produce from their affiliates. And hence why they can be so profitable. Per unit of phone produced, I guess Samsung have the highest profit margin. Even Apple has to kowtow to them.

Personally for me, I actually like plastic or metal backs and removable batteries. And I think that the LG G5 was a nice design despite the odd detachable battery. The only issues that is stopping me from buying an LG phone is that the bootloop in their past few designs. G4, V10, G5, V20... Seriously hoping that the G6 won't have the same issue.

mds8080

Can't decide if I should get the V20 (a bit too big) or the G6 (no removable battery). I really like the G6 design and smaller size. I guess I'll wait for the price and read some reviews first.

technolust

Can't decide if I should get the V20 (a bit too big) or the G6 (no removable battery). I really like the G6 design and smaller size. I guess I'll wait for the price and read some reviews first.
well, depends if you can wait. I guess newer is alwasy more future proof. if you can wait, then wait for V30 lor, but in the tech industry, todays flagship is tomorow's has been.

if you are adventerous, then get v20 now and then sell to buy G6 later and repeat for V30 !! :s12:

kopi22

I wonder if V20 and G6 having the same width. V20 bezels are narrow too.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.