LG V20

Phantom37

For full 2yrs or just 1 yr then go back mormal price? Can sic link?

The Corp plan is std 2yrs - yes, revert to normal after 2 yrs
(unless your Corp plan has other options)
No link since we were told at the counter (Pleasant surprise) of the discount and applied.

batboyz

Seems like the camera in V20 needs some manual control to have best photo quality.

Exactly right, V20 camera is more of a manual camera, than auto. LG image processing still fails compared with others. This is the main reason why fruit was able to lead in terms of their cam quality, because of their image processing, not hardware. Good thing android manufacturers have caught up, even surpassed this.

Vulpix

Exactly right, V20 camera is more of a manual camera, than auto. LG image processing still fails compared with others. This is the main reason why fruit was able to lead in terms of their cam quality, because of their image processing, not hardware. Good thing android manufacturers have caught up, even surpassed this.

At least LG didn't fail so badly like Sony. The XZ has such a powerful sensor marred by a horrible software implementation. I had a hard time believing this is the same sensor on some of their P&S camera.

batboyz

At least LG didn't fail so badly like Sony. The XZ has such a powerful sensor marred by a horrible software implementation. I had a hard time believing this is the same sensor on some of their P&S camera.

Yup, sony is one sad case unfortunately.

tt32003

Anyone done any comparison of the quality of the DAC compare to those standalone DAP ?

At what level will it rank ?

AK100/120

Or lower end like those Sony/Cowon/Irive DAP ?

Vulpix

Anyone done any comparison of the quality of the DAC compare to those standalone DAP ?

At what level will it rank ?

AK100/120

Or lower end like those Sony/Cowon/Irive DAP ?

I think it's not very fair to compare AK100/120 lah. AK100 all that jitao built from ground up for music quality and probably cost more than our phone. I can however tell you it's very close to the FiiO X1 that I have for performance.

bedlamite

Looks like the Americans are getting their H3s

https://www.reddit.com/r/lgv20/comments/5aqtxq/headphones_arrived_unboxed_and_tested/

the packaging is nothing like the retail packaging for the H3s btw, they certainly don't come in a plain white box

Retail
1200x1000px-LL-1a655151__D703960.jpeg

vs LG
sFr5oVd.jpg

the H3's are almost a third of the cost of the handset, no way they'd be getting the full package

tt32003

I think it's not very fair to compare AK100/120 lah. AK100 all that jitao built from ground up for music quality and probably cost more than our phone. I can however tell you it's very close to the FiiO X1 that I have for performance.

Today saw Sony[s advert on it's upcoming flagship DAP sosting $3.8k.

When that is out and after I buy my V20 will bring it to Sony store to do some listening test:s13:

denis.solonenko

when i switched over from n7, the 1st thing i noticed was how cold the color temp on the v20 was.

after that i turned on comfort view and set it on lowest setting and left it on since. screen looks much better

did exactly the same thing.. I guess this is n7 refugee thing :)

Vulpix

Today saw Sonay[s advert on it's upcoming flagship DAP sosting $3.8k.

When that is out and after I buy my V20 will bring it to Sony store to do some listening test:s13:

I can buy many V20 with that siah. :s22: I can even buy a Campfire Audio Vega and still got change left over.

chiaRH

Today saw Sonay[s advert on it's upcoming flagship DAP sosting $3.8k.

sony's pricing has always been premium-wannabe

remember even the Xperia X performance which wasnt anything special, somehow had prices to match top tier flagships

i think if you want to shoot auto on an android phone, samsung's still the safer bet. The dual pixels give faster autofocus and image processing is indeed better. I dont really like LG's auto mode, it tends to overexpose.

Definitely agree though that LG has the best manual mode

jusis86

planning on this phone oso, using v10 for almost a year now, i came from sony & samsung phone, at first very hard to adjust from amoled to IPS display, but after 1 month i got used to it, IPS looks natural to me,

walkofwinners

I loved they note 7 but not a bomb... Waiting to check out s8.

I had used n7, I7 plus and v20's camera for quite a bit, imo for still images:

All 3 have no noticeable shutter lag after key press
All 3 takes quality shots (if your compare huawei p9 plus with its Leica setup, p9 plus
is not within the league of the above 3 in terms of image clarity and quality. Although p9 plus have nice artsy Leica color tones)

N7:
+fastest auto focus on all camera phones up to this point. Best to shoot toddlers and kids in action. (Reason I got into the phone camera thing)
+ bright and clear low light shot (unrealistically bright lol)

-over processed picture, pictures looks sharper than others generally but it's over processing at play

i7 plus:
+ best true to scene white balance
+ arguably more consistent

-aged and slower focus (This used to be I phones' forte)
-weaker low light
-minimal control with no manual mode

Neutral: don't find much need for optical zoom

V20:
+ awesome control with best in market manual mode
+ wide angle capability is very welcomed
+ more versatile in all conditions due to above 2 points

-over saturated... If you think the galaxy series overdid it, this is worse
-over blown highlights on occasions
-weaker battery than other two and thus less shots

agreed I've tried the cameras on 7+, v20 and s7e.

for auto mode, photos from s7e and 7+ turned out better, v20 shots tend to be slightly more washed out.

night/low light shots auto mode, s7e performs exceptional compared to 7+ and v20.

manual mode with the right tweaking, v20 wins hands down.

guess there is no best phone camera out there since it depends on the user's preference.

for users who just want a quick snap, s7e auto is good as compared to v20.

for users who prefer to manually tweak settings to get the best shot, go for v20. their manual mode is by far one of the best.

spectral

the stock launcher is kind of barebones, isn't it? I tried switching to Nova Prime within the first 2 hours of using the phone lol but it's just not working well with the V20's second screen. stuck with stock until I get around to sorting this out, and ugh...You can't assign a home screen, can't switch icons (aside from the terrible LG ones in the theme switcher), no infinite scroll, wah lau

which home style are u using, I am using "home and app" and able to select which panel is the home when I press the circle button.
long press on screen wallpaper->long press on screen wallpaper->select default home panel by tapping to highlight the home icon on the top right of the panel u wish to set.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.