Life, personal injury coverage for SAF, Home Team personnel doubled to $300,000 per policy

mummynew

your nephew never top up means basic only. why keep mentioning $1m.

the $1 mil just asking along the line for many (like my son) who top up to $1 mil.

*I think I have a clearer picture now:

Core (sponsored) is $300K
Voluntary (up to $1 mil) - self pay.

So the query will be can one continue with the Core $300K after MR (since now got pre-existing conditions and unlikely to be able to be accepted if want to buy extra for Voluntary).

stingray1211

the first post in this thread is about this $300K sponsor.
https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...icy?_nei=812a9e22-28fc-45f9-a4af-ffab3dbb7585
Meaning if something happens to you before MR, your family may get $1.3 mil. (but again, above post got shared about $300K only payable if that event happens when performing reservist duties).

https://singlife.com/en/blog/money/2020/guide-mindef-mha-group-insurance-scheme

only covered during official duties. it is clear.

ctan84

All the while I thought is covered in/out of reservist period.

Can someone reconfirm the $300K ah gong sponsored only valid during reservist (meaning after reservist then return to own work then no cover)?

*not for my son but for my nephew who is quite poor and knows nothing about insurance.

Yah, its only covered during official duties lah i.e. during reservist period. You go dig thru singlife older publications, its stated there liao. The only thing that changed for 2023 was up coverage, but still only during official duties lah.

dnsfpl

Thanks all for helping me to clear my confusion!
if covered for ALL circumstances, every sinkie male who died b4 MR would have at least $300k payout liao

is quite obvious is during duties ma

bombshell

Mai la mai la... tis insurance moi dunwan to ever claim it.

mummynew

if covered for ALL circumstances, every sinkie male who died b4 MR would have at least $300k payout liao

In the newspaper article, it stated this:

"Premiums for additional coverage beyond $300,000 are self-borne, and coverage will continue even after policyholders leave the service, so long as the premiums are paid, said Mindef."

This has the implication of the core and the voluntary actually have the same coverage. That's why i got confused.

*$300K Group Term quite cheap for this Mindef cover even if self paying ($90/pax/year). Thot Ah Gong so nice to 'sponsor' this amount.

Laguna123

then cant be that high lar

1m coverage $25 per month only

unless you are 65 or older

or your coverage is 800k for you and your spouse
mine is $40/mth, o try login to Singlife with Singpass also can't see the policy.

dontwastetime

Chatgpt :

Wah bro, you ever think about this or not—insurance companies only dare to insure people who don’t actually need it.

Think about it, sia. If they happily approve your policy, confirm they already check until siao and know you super low chance to claim. Or even if can claim, the terms and conditions so jialat that you also don’t know how to.

Then you see all these people come out say, “Wah, insurance saved my life leh!” Yah, of course lah, they tio the reverse TOTO. These are the heng ones who actually managed to claim, so obviously they super happy to share their story. But don’t be blur, hor—if everyone keep claiming, you think insurance company still around meh? Long time close shop already lah.

End of the day, insurance is like gambling, but the house always wins one.

Philipkee

Yah, its only covered during official duties lah i.e. during reservist period. You go dig thru singlife older publications, its stated there liao. The only thing that changed for 2023 was up coverage, but still only during official duties lah.

I know this is off topic but I wonder what was the coverage for the Cisco officer who became a vegetable recently after being hit by a drunk driver while on duty. Cisco has so far paid $400k (insurance payout?)

Philipkee

Actually I dunno

War and acts of terrorism are under the policy limitations. So let’s say Singapore send peacekeepers to Middle East or Ukraine or something and gets injured or killed. What will be the coverage?

I think, being a policy that covers SAF, war and terrorism shouldn’t be part of the exclusion duties if it’s part of their duties. It’s like i have a policy that covers Scdf firemen but there will be limitations if he got injured in a fire

mummynew

mummynew

It should be critical illness you should be concerned about. If due that's fine. If don't die kanna critical illness, the cost of living while recovering who pay siah?

My comment is referring to the CISCO officer who is permanently disabled at 30 years old (that hopefully he is covered under Careshield that will let his family have that $600+/month to subsidise part of his caregiving needs).

At 30 yo, many still don't quite know the importance of insurance.

ctan84

My comment is referring to the CISCO officer who is permanently disabled at 30 years old (that hopefully he is covered under Careshield that will let his family have that $600+/month to subsidise part of his caregiving needs).

At 30 yo, many still don't quite know the importance of insurance.
So you need a combination of critical illness coverage and supplementary rider above the compulsory care-shield then.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.