Lost my dad: Suggestions to cope with loss?

Feeling down, anxious and need help? Mental Health Helpline: 6389-2222 (24 hours) More info

footi3

my condolences TS
find someone to talk to if needed

may take time to come to terms but hope you’re be alright

Laneige

everybody will go thru this stage.

1) settle the funeral first.
2) after which, clear his belongings.. as soon as you can.. keep small items that are significant to you. this is to shorten the grief period.
3) anything on his estate, monetary. check if he left any will and instruct law firm to execute. print lots of death cert. they will need it.

move on.. and be strong. treasure and spend more time with your mum (if she still around)

Depend on individual belief but can keep just keep aside for a yr lo
Why the need to throw unless is attract insects etc
Personal belongings etc see give or keep lo

Clothes etc some is burnt n some will throw or donate but donate don’t know the one receiving ok or not n some clothes old liao got smell also

I don’t think doesn’t see the things = won’t grief or won’t think
It’s just how individuals see life itself

icansing

my condolences TS

:(

everytime i think about my mum no longer here, I will cry

Parents r the only one that will truly love us no matter what. Once they r not here, no one in the world will love us whole heartedly anymore

I hope u have some videos of your dad....

may he rest in peace

dushensiao

condolence TS,
my father also uplorry in 2020 when i was 26.

Till now mother still dw to clear some of his stuff. Sad is sad but the living has to move on. Either you encounter earlier or later. The consolation was it was a quick heart attack and he didn't leave any burden on us.
Too bad he cannot see my sister's marriage.

We did a free thinker funeral, no offerings etc. Sea burial since he was an avid explorer.

sunnyisandsingapore

My dad pass away on 29th April at ttsh..
what are ways to cope with the loss?
feel sad no longer can see him or hear his voice.
how i wish is just a bad dream than reality
I am sorry for your loss.

It took me 10 years to get over my late father. During those years when he was physically gone, I met him several times in my dreams and managed to say what was in my heart, and to hug him, when he visited me.

Now with my newly adopted pets, I can't leave them yet. But once they are gone, I am more than happy to leave this world.

Ronaldo88

Depend on individual belief but can keep just keep aside for a yr lo
Why the need to throw unless is attract insects etc
Personal belongings etc see give or keep lo

Clothes etc some is burnt n some will throw or donate but donate don’t know the one receiving ok or not n some clothes old liao got smell also

I don’t think doesn’t see the things = won’t grief or won’t think
It’s just how individuals see life itself
actually is it necessary to throw his bed and mattress..some realtives say need throw..still in gd condition leh..

firebrand83

Condolences, only time can heal, even 3 years after my dad left suddenly I find myself suddenly weeping at the most unexpected things, like seeing a nail he installed for me to hang a clock for eg

Tatuho

Need to know that nobody could live forever. Sooner or later one will leave. This is part of life whether you wish or not, nothing new. Every sec, every min, there are ppl dying, why are you not affected bcos you are not attached or you do not know them. Anyway, no need to feel so sad. Remember, it is part of life. Some go earlier, some go later, you can't control your mind. It will automatically think about it. Nobody can control. Learn to let go. As times go by, you will forget. Time will heal.

mel1888

Time heals. Do what u have to now, keep occupied. Over time, the pain will still linger, but dulled. My condolences.

Laneige

actually is it necessary to throw his bed and mattress..some realtives say need throw..still in gd condition leh..

Need to throw meh
I don’t know
I saw one the monk will drop by house to do some prayers too
Normally if want to give n if u say is gd condition n if he didn’t passed on the bed then if want to donate then better mention lo
Some ppl they ok
Some no ok
Some only scare no money n their 8 characters maybe stronger etc?

If u still use can zzz on it ba
I don’t know leh
Own parent no need to be scare

trojanhorse

@Hello_Kitty and @Ronaldo88

I read both of your posts carefully.

Please spend time reading my below posts carerfully:

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/...4-cancer-and-recovered.6968799/post-150083882

https://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/threads/is-hypnosis-real.7074174/post-154137112

Singapore Facebook: Magnifier | 放大镜
Most FB posts about spiritualism

sanukboy

My condolences to you and your family.

Temples are noisy most of the time because of chanting and the smell of incense might be overpowering.

I do not know your religion but you can go to the nearby Novena Church beside TTSH if you are a free thinker.It is relatively quiet most of the time to pray for his soul.

Taloona

Condolences. We all grieve differently. Some people draw, some write journals, some go for long walk. Some feel that talking to a close friend or relative may help. Some spend time in prayer.

Lost my sister 2 years ago from a massive stroke. It took me one year to delete her WhatsApp messages to me on the day she collapsed at home in the wee hours of the morning.

Whenever I come across her photos or our childhood photos, it brings back all the memories. Sometimes we would talk about her during our family gathering.

We share the same faith so I know she had gone back to our heavenly Father.

LoneTraveller

Condonlences to you. Maybe u can think of it this way which I did for my dad. That ur dad no longer has to suffer any pain bought on by his illness or accident.

What we, the living, can do is to wish him to have a peaceful journey and to reassure him on his death bed that:
1.his illness is gone and he is healthy and pain free and that you will fetch him home.
2. his children have grown up and is able to provide for their own families as well as their mother.
3.the grandchildren are well taken care off and will grow up safe and strong and that he can leave with no worries.

Hope that the above can ease ur mind.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.