MaigeTV

RedsYWNA

You paid a high premium $400 for a tv box, and yet you are not informed on where and how they get their movie sources. If Maige indeed maintain their own servers and have their own movies sources, did she pay copyrights fee to the movie owners? If they indeed had paid copyrights fee, why are they mum on where their servers are?

If their movie sources are obtained illegally, why pay such a high premium for such a box? Anytime their movie links will be dead again.

Maige was good while it lasted. Time is money, and Maige saved me much time looking for movies, dramas, Astro, TVB etc.

I have since bought a box to use Kodi, HDP, VST etc but it's not exactly user friendly for older folks like my parents. But at $39, I cant really complain.

SOS9112001

Maige was good while it lasted. Time is money, and Maige saved me much time looking for movies, dramas, Astro, TVB etc.

I have since bought a box to use Kodi, HDP, VST etc but it's not exactly user friendly for older folks like my parents. But at $39, I cant really complain.

HDP and VST are not user friendly?
If you know how to set short cuts, KODI can be just as user friendly.

Seriously there is no different between a $39 and a $415 tvbox. If you want your $39 to perform better, perhaps what you need is just a VPN package.

Pinkey

Seriously there is no different between a $39 and a $415 tvbox. If you want your $39 to perform better, perhaps what you need is just a VPN package.
What vpn package is good can watch VST from china?

SOS9112001

What vpn package is good can watch VST from china?

I am not sure about VST, but I understand many video sources like YouKu are geo-blocked. That is those videos are not available to you for they had detected that you are in Singapore.

A VPN will mask your location. you can just do a simple test:
a. Launch OpenVPN
b. Go to http://www.vpngate.net/en/, select a 'Thailand' or 'Vietnam' server, and download the OpenVPN config file.
c. Open the OpenVPN config file in OpenVPN.

d. if you have successfully connected to a 'Thailand' or 'Vietnam' VPN server, those previously videos that say 'these videos are not available in your country', can now be streamed and played.

e. The problem here is those free VPN server has 'little' bandwidth, and the streaming may not be smoothed. Thus what you need is a 'paid' VPN service.
At present a VPN server located in Thailand or Vietnam can stream those Chinese videos and TV, however we never know what lies in months ahead.
Remember even if you paid a high premium for an 'excellent' VPN server located in US, Korea or Japan, these VPN services won't be able to stream those 'Chinese' videos and TV too.

g. However above explain that that there is little different between a $415 and a $39 tv box. Both are 'streamed' from the same video sources.

h. Maige may have streamed videos from their 'own' servers, and these servers are located 'outside' China. However these videos sources are probably 'illegal' and 'pirated', unless Maige has paid copyrighted fees to the movies owners.

i. However a VST, HDPTV, ALITV, MANGOTV or whatever Android APK..., it does not matter if you having a $415 tv box or a $39 tv box, both will behave the same.

RedsYWNA

Hard to teach 70+ yr old parents to use VST, HDP, Kodi lah, compared to Maige's interface. Maige also has an impressive array of live channels such Astro, TVB, Sky Sports, BT sports besides an extensive VODs/dramas collection.

It is an all-in-1 solution, and saves me much time and effort to go into individual apps. Also, its hard to get paid live steams for Astro/TVB now.

But of course, I accept that one cant really compare $39 apples to $415 durians lah..... Anyway most paid live streams are down atm....

Pinkey

Try out DNS4me, a DNS unblocking service based in Aust.....got free trial, and you can see if your youku, sohu etc works......
how to use on the ubox for those china apps? need configure anything? i am new to vpn etc.

RedsYWNA

how to use on the ubox for those china apps? need configure anything? i am new to vpn etc.

If ubox directly links to youku, sohu, then it's ok. But if it goes through its own server, then it could be a bit more complicated to setup.

Perhaps you can try the free trial 1st,and see if it works. You do need to change the DNS in your ubox to that in the DNS4me website......

https://dns4me.net/guides/android/4.x

Pinkey

If ubox directly links to youku, sohu, then it's ok. But if it goes through its own server, then it could be a bit more complicated to setup.

Perhaps you can try the free trial 1st,and see if it works. You do need to change the DNS in your ubox to that in the DNS4me website......

hi, i have just register and tried. it can watch VST and the Cat TV(cat icon). stream the youku and tudou source. but for the bee tv and mangotv etc cannot watch. it still keep saying can only watch in china mainland only i done the most minimal set up key in the dns as instructed in the dns4me website in my router. then for the rest like ip access zone i set to "automatically update this zone".

at the set up guide:

dns4me Guides - Asus

Connect to the router by going to http://192.168.1.1 in your browser.
Login into the router - use admin/admin if you have not changed the password or username before.
On the left hand side scroll down to WAN and click it.
Scroll down to WAN DNS Setting.
Select No for Connect to DNS Server automatically?.
Under DNS Server1 input: 54.169.113.231
Under DNS Server2 input: 119.81.182.189
Scroll down and click Apply.

i just follow the above.

Pinkey

the link which u just gave, for the ubox...it can't work. when i press and hold the network i am in...no window pop out. only pop out ask me whether want to forget my network.

dns4me Guides - Android 4.x

Find Settings
Choose Wi-Fi by actually pressing Wi-F
Press and hold your network and a window will open up
Choose Modify Network
Check the Show advanced options checkbox at the bottom of the screen
Set IP settings to Static
Simply keep your IP address, Gateway and Network prefix length the same
Input the dns4me DNS servers: 54.169.113.231 & Secondary Server 119.81.182.189
Press Save
Restart your device
For Netflix and most other services to work make sure you disable location services on your device.

Dont forget to enable the services you want to use in "User Console > Services"

RedsYWNA

the link which u just gave, for the ubox...it can't work. when i press and hold the network i am in...no window pop out. only pop out ask me whether want to forget my network.

dns4me Guides - Android 4.x

Find Settings
Choose Wi-Fi by actually pressing Wi-F
Press and hold your network and a window will open up
Choose Modify Network
Check the Show advanced options checkbox at the bottom of the screen
Set IP settings to Static
Simply keep your IP address, Gateway and Network prefix length the same
Input the dns4me DNS servers: 54.169.113.231 & Secondary Server 119.81.182.189
Press Save
Restart your device
For Netflix and most other services to work make sure you disable location services on your device.

Dont forget to enable the services you want to use in "User Console > Services"

Paiseh, I have a similar issue with my $39 MXQ S805 too. The reason is that for most setup boxes, you can only change its DNS via wifi, and it cant be changed if you use wired internet.

So to change the DNS to that of DNS4me, I had to use wifi instead of wired.

RedsYWNA

hi, i have just register and tried. it can watch VST and the Cat TV(cat icon). stream the youku and tudou source. but for the bee tv and mangotv etc cannot watch. it still keep saying can only watch in china mainland only i done the most minimal set up key in the dns as instructed in the dns4me website in my router. then for the rest like ip access zone i set to "automatically update this zone".

at the set up guide:

dns4me Guides - Asus

Connect to the router by going to http://192.168.1.1 in your browser.
Login into the router - use admin/admin if you have not changed the password or username before.
On the left hand side scroll down to WAN and click it.
Scroll down to WAN DNS Setting.
Select No for Connect to DNS Server automatically?.
Under DNS Server1 input: 54.169.113.231
Under DNS Server2 input: 119.81.182.189
Scroll down and click Apply.

i just follow the above.

It's kind of complicated to watch other links liao.... How DNS works is that it just unlocks specific websites you want to go to, so that your normal browsing speed is unaffected, unlike VPN which affects all sites.

If you go into user console/services, it shows the list of unblocked sites. DNS4me has another add. feature to enable you to customize your own unblocked sites (up to 20).

You have to use its DNS logger feature to uncover the URL for bee tv and mangotv. Then, add those links to custom domains using China server, and then save. If still cannot, you can request for its helpdesk to help out.......

Pinkey

It's kind of complicated to watch other links liao.... How DNS works is that it just unlocks specific websites you want to go to, so that your normal browsing speed is unaffected, unlike VPN which affects all sites.

If you go into user console/services, it shows the list of unblocked sites. DNS4me has another add. feature to enable you to customize your own unblocked sites (up to 20).

You have to use its DNS logger feature to uncover the URL for bee tv and mangotv. Then, add those links to custom domains using China server, and then save. If still cannot, you can request for its helpdesk to help out.......
i tink boycott mango and bee tv better...haha. i have tested so far. youku is ok via my configuration to my asus router 192.168.1.1. only way to configure on my end. no wifi setting can be done. i do run on wifi for my ubox though.

RedsYWNA

i tink boycott mango and bee tv better...haha. i have tested so far. youku is ok via my configuration to my asus router 192.168.1.1. only way to configure on my end. no wifi setting can be done. i do run on wifi for my ubox though.

I see I see. I have never tried on my router. I had previously used DNS4me to gain access to the full range of Maige's channels (some were geo-blocked), but it looks like it's becoming handy again.

It's not ex too, around A$21-25 a year, and you can use up to 3 locations (eg own home and in-laws).

Surviving on Kodi add-ons (Phoenix, Genesis, AZdrama) and HDP/VST now, but I do miss the live Astro and TVBs...... Hopefully Maige will recover by Christmas!

Pinkey

I see I see. I have never tried on my router. I had previously used DNS4me to gain access to the full range of Maige's channels (some were geo-blocked), but it looks like it's becoming handy again.

It's not ex too, around A$21-25 a year, and you can use up to 3 locations (eg own home and in-laws).

Surviving on Kodi add-ons (Phoenix, Genesis, AZdrama) and HDP/VST now, but I do miss the live Astro and TVBs...... Hopefully Maige will recover by Christmas!
It already say new year 2016...very hard and hopeless. Still testing now. Ubox cannot install too many apps. Thats a problem too.like Astro and tvb ubox have.

RedsYWNA

It already say new year 2016...very hard and hopeless. Still testing now. Ubox cannot install too many apps. Thats a problem too.like Astro and tvb ubox have.

Clinging on to the fact that Maige hasnt switched off the VOD server yet..... Doesnt make sense for them to continue to pay hosting cost, if they want to run road. Hopefully they are preparing for the shift of servers to overseas.

I also read that Maige installs satellites to capture the live TV programs, before uploading the live streams onto their server. This ensures the stability of the live TV streams.

Maybe the challenge is how to install these satellites in overseas, say Taiwan, India etc, rather than purely the shifting of servers to overseas.....

testerjp

They might had paid for those hosting by annual/quarterly terms.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.