Man and woman charged with killing woman's 4-year-old daughter and burning her body

diequick

not easy, spore is a lawful country, cannot anyhow do house visit and take action..

got many steps to take before can enforce law to parents/caregiver..

first, proof
second, witness
third, report

nowan came fwd, authority oso dun dare take action based on hearsay only...
unless a vigilante dare to take action..
Not true. See something like Health Products Act 2007, note w/o warrant

So, the MPs gotta go look at the Children and Young Persons Act 1993 to address if CPS or any relevant agency, needs to have the powers to do so. Shorten the steps.

imho, if they push it to BSS (I think they have done sufficient, i dun blame them, unfortunately they are the ones who have to shoulder the burden who have to wonder "could I have done more"), to file police report, then really war over leow.

diequick

I now wonder what is the definition and threshold of severity ?

At what point is considered small case can just KIV and what is considered big case enough to take immediate action.

I mean to be fair, every organization probably fighting fire of all sorts on every front. It's not so simpur as everyone imagines.
I think think, we hire helper, need to send for 6 mthly med check up. If the kid is suspected "kena child abuse", just use a similar system, "send letter to household, bring kid to ANY GPFirst clinic, for med check up (machiam like FFI)", then can close case or follow up 6 mthly until the kid is taken off the list. The med doc will assess.

i.e. our rules/laws protect MDWs against SGan/PRs against abuse, but our laws dont do something similar for young kids.

PaulLevesque

Child abuse not as serious as vaping one lah. If report them got vape i think more efficient. Straight send officer to spotcheck house liao like the MRT vaper

What a bloody joke

otakuflick

oh wow . . so the school actually reported to ECDA and they just shook off cause report never fully describle the severity of the injuries? and eventually then girl was pull out from the school and no one gave a shiat?

well done ECDA. you literally got blood on yr hands.

really pity megan and god bless you in a better place now. not only ur parent failed you, even the government who keep yapping abput the tdr failed you

bc they hired overqualified students doing paperwork and DEI based projects. Ie, pay to be there. Literally, there are nothing to learn from sch on this. The person has to be sensing, caring by nature, and more importantly, it has to be NOT following the system toa be effective when facing errand parents.

Government is doing lip service that does nothing

Bumblebee Man

1) Apr 2019 - case worker worried after seeing bruises and injuries, submitted report to ECDA. ECDA concluded no leh, you never describe injury properly, she still going school, she's happy what. No case.

2) Sep 2019 - case worker worried cos toddler removed from pre sch and not contactable, emailed ECDA. ECDA says ya hor, she is not registered with other pre sch. But if you worried can call police.

Knn don't tell me there is nothing wrong here...still can turn around and try to pin blame on others.

otakuflick

not easy, spore is a lawful country, cannot anyhow do house visit and take action..

got many steps to take before can enforce law to parents/caregiver..

first, proof
second, witness
third, report

nowan came fwd, authority oso dun dare take action based on hearsay only...
unless a vigilante dare to take action..

Pls lah, see the vaping news. Can't go on house? Don't make me laugh.....

The core of the issue is that they have no hands-on service. So it's difficult for them to ever take over the caring duty of a kid. So they don't do it. ie, they're relying on phone, meeting, paper assessment and talk, etc.

yildun

Keyboard warriors and their 20/20 hindsight.

Blame ecda, social worker instead of blame the laobei.

rbtr8r

1) Apr 2019 - case worker worried after seeing bruises and injuries, submitted report to ECDA. ECDA concluded no leh, you never describe injury properly, she still going school, she's happy what. No case.

2) Sep 2019 - case worker worried cos toddler removed from pre sch and not contactable, emailed ECDA. ECDA says ya hor, she is not registered with other pre sch. But if you worried can call police.

Knn don't tell me there is nothing wrong here...still can turn around and try to pin blame on others.

Well said! So how come headlines say it still community fault.

Meemoosaa

I think think, we hire helper, need to send for 6 mthly med check up. If the kid is suspected "kena child abuse", just use a similar system, "send letter to household, bring kid to ANY GPFirst clinic, for med check up (machiam like FFI)", then can close case or follow up 6 mthly until the kid is taken off the list. The med doc will assess.

i.e. our rules/laws protect MDWs against SGan/PRs against abuse, but our laws dont do something similar for young kids.

Interesting concept but it cost extra time, effort, manpower and money. Like that need to up taxpayer contributions liao. lol

Don't forget social work is non-profit, all suck money and no returns one. You can imagine the priority is low on the deck of other fires to fight lor.

The 6 months checkup is bore my employers ma, not taxpayers.

otakuflick

What kind of human would torture and kill his/her own flesh and blood?
Hope they go to hell for the hideous crime.
Even animals fiercely protect their offspring.

Most animal don't protect their offspring, it's a Cinderella story from sch bro.

XcoVar

An innocent Singaporean child has suffered inhumane torture and died in horrific and painful conditions. The law needs to change and EDCA needs to step up and improve processes so that these 💩 never happen to any child ever again. Meghan’s story should be immortalised into education/documentary so that future Singaporeans will remember this incident forever and never allow any of these future abuse incidents to go unnoticed and leading to this kind of horrific tragedy.
In Google, ECDA's rating only 1.5 stars niah. Super cui siah.

consigliere

ECDA is trash

diequick

Interesting concept but it cost extra time, effort, manpower and money. Like that need to up taxpayer contributions liao. lol

Don't forget social work is non-profit, all suck money and no returns one. You can imagine the priority is low on the deck of other fires to fight lor.

The 6 months checkup is bore my employers ma, not taxpayers.
Young persons (defined <=14). If they are in school system, safe, so that leaves kids nt in pri sch yet (since pri sch is compulsory). Yearly 30k births? x 7 = 210k. Assume SGan likes to abuse kids, 1% which is 2100 cases x 2 check ups per year 4200. Alot of crimes against teenagers usually with a visit to the medical institution.

4200 visual inspection, means baru consultancy fees, probably $50. Means 2.2M? Unless we really whacking the kids left right centre, or the reports of suspected abuse exceeds 2200 per year, means ~6 per day, then i rest my case.

Assume there are a few ECDA person (70k all in comp and ben, thats 3 person) that replies to this sort of queries. If BSS send in, lets say we automate sufficiently to know child is not in school, and CPS is notified and/or automated med-check up letter is sent. If comply, ECDA fork out $50 (well, the act of sending someone down take Grab to/fro probably around there). If dont comply, then no need sit ard, go enforce action pls. It wont cost the non-profit in this case, It will also resolve the "i dun think this is serious enuff" issue.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.