Man regrets buying HDB flat after realising it faces the western sun — says he and his wife get BBQ-ed every afternoon

jumpthepig

Ya hor, think like that also very siong... landed property...
Big landed property like GCB… west and east Suns toasting cannot be avoided…2 sides(west and east facing) will surely tio roasted more or less everyday.

Try go ask those JHKs who live in big JH landed houses. 🤣

eflash

SINGAPORE: A man took to social media to vent about a big mistake he made when buying his HDB flat — its sun-facing orientation.
In a recent post on the r/askSingapore Reddit forum, he talked about his regret, saying that his flat basically turns into an oven from noon onwards, making it super uncomfortable to even hang out in the living room.
“Me and my wife were sold by the view of the unit. When we were at the viewing. Aircon is on as usual. However, after purchasing and signing the OTP. I realised it has the western sun!!!” he exclaimed.
“Now every afternoon between 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. We are BBQ-ed. To the extent that I even got a heat rash in my living room while playing a game.”
Still, despite the sweltering afternoons, the man said he and his wife “love the flat” because everything else is perfect, and that they “can live with this one regret”.

The Independent Singapore

tnoosrdpeS9fds a00gt1l5a50fc7eg8tu9r:31aa0 YaM4eyi4i gA932ig ·

https://www.facebook.com/#
Well, that's a classic case of "should've thought of that before buying, huh?" Maybe they can start a new trend of outdoor cooking indoors! Or invest in some heavy-duty curtains. Lesson learned, I guess!
Man regrets buying HDB flat after realising it faces the western sun — says he and his wife get BBQ-ed every afternoon

theindependent.sg
Man regrets buying HDB flat after realising it faces the western sun — says he and his wife get BBQ-ed every

Or double glazed windows since they like the views and don't want to cover it up with curtains

KPO_SAHM

Tis I can agreed. Just need to find a solution... or simply sell or move out... if really intolerable

Common for buyers to be hooked by the view but usually such good view doesn come with convenience ( not near to mrt) . Everyday wakes up with such good view but never thought of going to work or other places would cause inconvenience to buyers if they do not own a car

daniel_83

20240505-190135.jpg

I bought my resale 2years+ ago without checking the sun orientation

turns out my living room windows was facing northwest
while the kitchen and rooms facing North

pleasant surprise to see sunset very often

sibei song

And i dont feel it is hot? Maybe because my living room is big so the heat cant spread deep enough
But i also have a thermometer on every wall, dont see that part being hotter than rest of the house

daniel_83

20240505-190135.jpg

Btw the sun moves throughout the months, as depicted by the blue arrow

only knew these after staying high floor and seeing sunsets so often

Bad kids

Big landed property like GCB… west and east Suns toasting cannot be avoided…2 sides(west and east facing) will surely tio roasted more or less everyday.

Try go ask those JHKs who live in big JH landed houses. 🤣
He must go learn from that guy who put solar panels at the side of the windows....

Unclemun

The sun moves its direction across the year.. so at most 6 months
In Singapore, the western sun is in the north-west from March to September and in the south-west from September to March.

Hence, all year round, it is still west facing.

coolhead

Yes, getting a property always needs to avoid
- west facing
- rubbish chute centre
- next to main road or expressway
- next to mrt track
- next to basketball or tennis court
- next to temple, mosque or church
Nowadays also need to put pickleball court. This one also can be :mad::mad:

NintendoSwitch

SINGAPORE: A man took to social media to vent about a big mistake he made when buying his HDB flat — its sun-facing orientation.
In a recent post on the r/askSingapore Reddit forum, he talked about his regret, saying that his flat basically turns into an oven from noon onwards, making it super uncomfortable to even hang out in the living room.
“Me and my wife were sold by the view of the unit. When we were at the viewing. Aircon is on as usual. However, after purchasing and signing the OTP. I realised it has the western sun!!!” he exclaimed.
“Now every afternoon between 4 p.m. to 6 p.m. We are BBQ-ed. To the extent that I even got a heat rash in my living room while playing a game.”
Still, despite the sweltering afternoons, the man said he and his wife “love the flat” because everything else is perfect, and that they “can live with this one regret”.

The Independent Singapore

tnoosrdpeS9fds a00gt1l5a50fc7eg8tu9r:31aa0 YaM4eyi4i gA932ig ·

https://www.facebook.com/#
Well, that's a classic case of "should've thought of that before buying, huh?" Maybe they can start a new trend of outdoor cooking indoors! Or invest in some heavy-duty curtains. Lesson learned, I guess!

theindependent.sg
Man regrets buying HDB flat after realising it faces the western sun — says he and his wife get BBQ-ed every
He left out night time sibei jua as the heat all trapped insai dat flat longer. Actually easy solution to solve. HDB can build it as a mix of commercial cum residential building. North, East, South facing si residential. West facing for commercial. See so easy. Monitor leezards brain hibernated liao.

Cyber_Ghost

heng me buyed the 2 rm BTO facing south, no such problem.

why they never read up or do some research before buyed?

put simi curtains, blinds also no use cos the wall absorbed all the heat during day times and will "release" it when weather cool down during evening or night.

free oven for bbq.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.