Manulife

dendii

Ermms you mean people dont know got pre-existing will be a problem? Got medical conditions will be a problem? Yet to go through this but i believe still on a case by case basis for what you are warded for.

Seriously like that also can let you turn around :s22: If i had listen to you and only gotten government plan my medical problem now also havent solve.

Anyway is up to you. But dont need to the extent this one also say agents do it for comm. And this is just to correct you when you say need pay first for private shield plans.

These shld be made clear to pple before they buy the isp

And also limiting it to one hosp grp?

Jeez and many agents are still "encouraging" consumers to buy pte shield plans and riders, maxing out the comms gao gao

akwl88

Ermms you mean people dont know got pre-existing will be a problem? Got medical conditions will be a problem? Yet to go through this but i believe still on a case by case basis for what you are warded for.

Seriously like that also can let you turn around :s22: If i had listen to you and only gotten government plan my medical problem now also havent solve.

Anyway is up to you. But dont need to the extent this one also say agents do it for comm. And this is just to correct you when you say need pay first for private shield plans.

U be surprised many pple dont know :)

I nvr advise anyone to get govt plans. I only say its up to them and to dyodd

Nope. This is not the exception. I have friend who works in pte hosp and i know how it works. He even called up the patient's agent and f him over the phone for misleading the patient, saying what no need cough out cash 1st

Comms is a fact, no matter how u want to see it. Unless u tell me u dont receive comms la lol

dendii

I think it is always good to be clear at the very start. Yeas comms is a fact but it is also a fact that hospital plan is necessary imo.

By the way which hospital plan are you on and with which insurer? Is it AXA?

U be surprised many pple dont know :)

I nvr advise anyone to get govt plans. I only say its up to them and to dyodd

Nope. This is not the exception. I have friend who works in pte hosp and i know how it works. He even called up the patient's agent and f him over the phone for misleading the patient, saying what no need cough out cash 1st

Comms is a fact, no matter how u want to see it. Unless u tell me u dont receive comms la lol

akwl88

I think it is always good to be clear at the very start. Yeas comms is a fact but it is also a fact that hospital plan is necessary imo.

By the way which hospital plan are you on and with which insurer? Is it AXA?

yup i always advise on here to have term and hosp plan as a minimum if they have dependents

i am on AIA goldshield max B

do AXA employees have staff discount for insurance?

dendii

I suppose so? I am from AIA though. Maybe Bigoya can advise about that.

yup i always advise on here to have term and hosp plan as a minimum if they have dependents

Bigoya

I suppose so? I am from AIA though. Maybe Bigoya can advise about that.

Nope. No stuff discount unless you consider our recurring comms as a disc.
Is that a troll question? Where did that even came from?

akwl88

Nope. No stuff discount unless you consider our recurring comms as a disc.
Is that a troll question? Where did that even came from?

I mean backend employees la

Agents not employees hor

HWZ1973

Saw my annual Manulife statement today $28k surrender value...my yearly premium is $2200 for 18 years liao... see oredi very hot!
Avoid this coy! Always reduce the bonuses and give crap excuses!

blurpandasg2014

Saw my annual Manulife statement today $28k surrender value...my yearly premium is $2200 for 18 years liao... see oredi very hot!

How different is the value as compared to ur original benefit illustration

Mecisteus

Your policy could include some non-cash riders?

Shion

Senior Mentor

Wa...Serious ?

soneat

Try to get hold of the current bonus structure as well as the current projected BI they use for the policy. I suspect Manulife is similar to AIA - the terminal bonus will only kick in after year 20.

HWZ1973

The values are very different from the original BI as they had cut bonuses 3 times within 18 years and no, I have no other cash riders for this whole life policy. This coy really sucks to the max!

soneat

The values are very different from the original BI as they had cut bonuses 3 times within 18 years and no, I have no other cash riders for this whole life policy. This coy really sucks to the max!

AIA also the same. The other thing is the extent of the cuts. AIA cuts are substantial such that around 50% of the projected protection value was wiped off. My guess is from year 20 onwards, you will see a better chance of breakeven with perhaps some low returns. That would be a good time to say bye bye man-u-lie

akwl88

Many agents say buy investment linked policies sure huat.

But they didnt mention that it is them who huat, NOT you.

Kekeke

YammyT

Up for awareness....
Hi HWZ1973

Reviving this thread as i recently reviewed the cash value of this (crappy) policy from Manulife again. Good that I heed your advice way back in 2016 not to terminate the policy. Appears that Manulife declared a terminal bonus at the recent anniversary (Yr 20) which boosted the cash value abit more. Still a long way from breaking even on the premiums I have paid but well.. that's water under the bridge...

Anyway I'm now looking at the possibility of converting the policy to a paid-up one, as I do not need that much death benefit anymore (dependent self sufficient) and also to put the premiums to better use given the latest BI on the policy does not look promising.

To my horror when I enquire with Manulife I was told that upon conversion, the reduced policy will not pay out for Dreaded Disease (DD) as it is deemed a supplementary benefit. When I looked through the policy documents, only the Benefits Schedule indicates the DD as supplementary benefit - the main plan document and policy application form (filled up by and signed off by the agent) did not spell out DD as a supplementary (note: I have other riders such as TPD and term which are clearly marked as Supplementary Benefit and attached to the main plan doc). It makes me wonder if Manulife made a error with the Schedule! Or worse, a case of mis-selling as the agent had presented it as a Whole life cum DD policy but the truth is otherwise.

Before I take this up further with Manulife, thought I should check with you if my understanding is correct. That the DD cover is part of the Living Choice core plan and NOT a rider?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.