March BTO 2012

gnixer

u people only know complain n complain.
beggars cant be choosers.
if u choose the good location hdb of coz is expensive otherwise when u ballot is like striking lottery.

if those good location is cheap, other group of people will start complaining n the cycle goes on. one group complain if not e other will start LOL. in e end always got ppl complain
get a life man. no one owes u a living

yes no one owes any of us a living but WE PAY GOOD AND HARD EARN MONEY here which peg to market price. Every estate also start off with nothing and eventually all estates will have the common amenities FYI.

IF having a MRT station within 1km or 2km nearby which justified the sky rocket price then I would say you are just a slave to the people up there. Lastly MRT station will be everywhere by 2020 so what the damn big F about it. Looking into the bigger picture, how the heck couple who earns average about 4k-5k to finance a ****ing close to 1/2 million shoebox flat. If you are someone with strong backup or sliver spoon, don't try to act like the Ferrari driver say "lai lai lai"

unless you can prove the major (at least 70%-80%) of the 20s - 30s couples are harvesting 8k-10k every month.

if young couple cannot finance during their late 20s what make you think in their 30s or even 40s they can finance it in comfort?

i stay in amk but my bf stays in bedok. he is really keen to go for this bedok BTO but as a girl who stays in north side for so many years, i really like the place here.

is the current bedok bto really good?

any idea if there will be a BTO in north side this year?

and damn the hdb website, so slow. rah.

Why not try SOBF in Yishun. Quite a number of units available.

CPL_Raju

this clementi bto is the best of the lot.. much better layout but the price is kind of expected..

the prices are determined by the world economy.
recently lots of ppl (singaporeans) r doing well thus driving the price up..
i believe there will be corrections coming just depending how long the players delay it. those big players.

if the economy is not doing well, resulting not much ppl can afford, dont tink the developers will let them collect dust. if u have the data on house pricing, u will see the trend on its ups and downs n u will be surprised how lucky those tat striked during its downturns.

I dun quite believe lots of ppl (singaporeans) r doing well recently. Seriously.

tololoe

then choose within ur comfort zone.
no one pointing a gun to ur head forcing u to choose the expensive ones.:s22::s22::s22:

yes no one owes any of us a living but WE PAY GOOD AND HARD EARN MONEY here which peg to market price. Every estate also start off with nothing and eventually all estates will have the common amenities FYI.

IF having a MRT station within 1km or 2km nearby which justified the sky rocket price then I would say you are just a slave to the people up there. Lastly MRT station will be everywhere by 2020 so what the damn big F about it. Looking into the bigger picture, how the heck couple who earns average about 4k-5k to finance a ****ing close to 1/2 million shoebox flat. If you are someone with strong backup or sliver spoon, don't try to act like the Ferrari driver say "lai lai lai"

unless you can prove the major (at least 70%-80%) of the 20s - 30s couples are harvesting 8k-10k every month.

if young couple cannot finance during their late 20s what make you think in their 30s or even 40s they can finance it in comfort?

limpoop

Anyone know where is the site location for May BTO 2012 - for kallang whampoa?

Cannot find any link in HDB web....

how can you miss the big icon?

sKallangWhampoa.jpg

http://www.hdb.gov.sg/hdbvsf/eampuadp.nsf/0/SA_BTO_201205/$file/KWNmap.pdf

limpoop

this clementi bto is the best of the lot.. much better layout but the price is kind of expected..

More people apply BTO than SBF for day #1!

BTO 4153 1013
SBF 3825 697

Hottest BTO:
Bukit Batok 4-room 517 173
Clementi 4-room 312 140
Bedok 4-room 236 102

ketua

WTF!?!?! WHY IS THE ****ING HDB PRICES EVEN IN THE MOST NON MATURED ESTATES ALSO SO EX?

IS IT REALLY NECESSAR TO PEG IT TO MARKET AND RESALE PRICES? WHEN HDB SHOULD BE A PUBLIC GOODS MADE AFFORDABLE BY GOVT?

IF THEY PEG IT TO RESALE PRICES HOW CAN IT BE EVEN REASONABLE WHEN THE PROPERTY INFLATION RATE IS SO MUCH HIGHER THAN WAGE INFLATION RATE?

SERIOUSLY??????

You see how peg-to-resale + valuation + COV works.

1. Valuation based on neighborhood transacted prices, and adjust according to factor in all the good points (high floor, facing, proximity, etc);
2. Owner asked for COV based on the good points (yes, means factor in TWICE. Once in the valuation, once in the COV);
3. Buyer bite. Transacted price used as reference for nearby resales.
4. Valuation for nearby unit, goes back to point 1.

That's how the vicious circle formed, for Resales.

Then New BTO pricing consideration:
A. Based on nearby transacted prices of Resales;
B. Adjust accordingly (premium type, facilities, etc), and give symbolic 'discount' to buyers;

Now back to Resales. The formula become...

1a. Valuation based on nearby BTO and neighborhood transacted prices, and adjust according to factor in all the good points (high floor, facing, proximity, etc);
2a.

...and the cycle goes on, that's how we're screwed.

Milo-Dino

I personally believe most 20s-30s couples would have about 5-6k combined income per month.

6k *23% = $1380 (20% employee cpf + 16% employer cpf of which 23% of this 36% goes to OA cpf account)

I believe this $1380 should be enough to buy non-mature 3/4room flat at least.
Based on hdb's monthly loan calculator. A loan of $300,000 for 30 years at 2.6% (hdb loan rate), requires a payment of $1,202

chocolatemelt

thanks to whoever who vote this cabinet. honestly, we can only diam diam and accept the fact that the prices are like this.

bto have to wait for 4 years. didnt they say they will speed up on building process?

acetylcholine

Then who are the people balloting for all the HDB flats such that it is almost always oversubscribed every month? Foreigners? :s8:

Those with strong backup or silver spoon, why would they be looking at BTO? More like GCB... :s13:

Ultimately, the idea is still willing buyer willing seller. HDB choose to sell at this price and the flats are still selling hot cakes...if you think you cannot afford, then why not purchase a flat which is cheaper? I think the lower price brackets are still considered reasonable, especially if you take into account the additional housing grants. Just my two cents.

Milo-Dino

thanks to whoever who vote this cabinet. honestly, we can only diam diam and accept the fact that the prices are like this.

bto have to wait for 4 years. didnt they say they will speed up on building process?
yes they are speeding up

but based on what my dad says (he is in the construction field), the demand from HDB is overwhelming the supply of materials from those steel and precast manufacturers.

MBT screwed it up....

that's why i also llst booked a bto from last sept...

I personally believe most 20s-30s couples would have about 5-6k combined income per month.

6k *23% = $1380 (20% employee cpf + 16% employer cpf of which 23% of this 36% goes to OA cpf account)

I believe this $1380 should be enough to buy non-mature 3/4room flat at least.
Based on hdb's monthly loan calculator. A loan of $300,000 for 30 years at 2.6% (hdb loan rate), requires a payment of $1,202

But a monthly installment of $1202 for 30 years sounds really frightening... Which means to say both husband and wife muz ensure they have employment for the next 30 years. And not forgetting one's contribution to OA in CPF will gradually reduce starting from 35 years old. All family planning issues (having kids) will face obstacles.

Then who are the people balloting for all the HDB flats such that it is almost always oversubscribed every month? Foreigners? :s8:

Those with strong backup or silver spoon, why would they be looking at BTO? More like GCB... :s13:

Ultimately, the idea is still willing buyer willing seller. HDB choose to sell at this price and the flats are still selling hot cakes...if you think you cannot afford, then why not purchase a flat which is cheaper? I think the lower price brackets are still considered reasonable, especially if you take into account the additional housing grants. Just my two cents.

You have a point there. Juz like Centrale 8. So many ppl complain but in the end still sold so many units.

ketua

People buy HDB because no choice. Public housing supposed to be cheapest.

Affordability is assumed both working for 30years.
In the past just 1 working can pay off in 5-15years.

In this case of 'strong' commitment, of cos everyone wants to get a good unit. Who wants to be at 2nd floor smelling the rubbish chute facing MRT track with such a '2 person 30 years commitment'?

ketua

yes they are speeding up

but based on what my dad says (he is in the construction field), the demand from HDB is overwhelming the supply of materials from those steel and precast manufacturers.

MBT screwed it up....

that's why i also llst booked a bto from last sept...

Not sure if I've shared in this thread.

The overwhelming releases of BTO, plus escalating landsales for private housings, building / construction industries will certainly contenting for resources:
Not just raw materials, but labourers, managements staff, machinery, etc, etc...Even HDB staff also may have a bottle neck.

And so, what if your BTO is delayed? Due to the various contentions?
Last time my Punggol unit delayed 1 year. HDB compensated me with a 100year lease (instead of usual 99 year).

Song boh?

acetylcholine

People buy HDB because no choice. Public housing supposed to be cheapest.

Affordability is assumed both working for 30years.
In the past just 1 working can pay off in 5-15years.

In this case of 'strong' commitment, of cos everyone wants to get a good unit. Who wants to be at 2nd floor smelling the rubbish chute facing MRT track with such a '2 person 30 years commitment'?

Yeah, I agree. But that's in the past...and while we youngsters are complaining about high prices today (frankly, I do feel indignant at times), arguably our parents are the ones who have reaped benefits from the general appreciation of property prices throughout the years.

I guess at the end of the day, HDB should provide more grants and subsidies for the lower income (and possibly, first timers) so those who really need help will get the necessary assistance. But that will necessarily mean that the middle/high class (or the second timers) will be saddled with supporting the lower income (or first timers). It's almost impossible to make everybody happy at the same time. It's a zero sum game after all.

Milo-Dino

But a monthly installment of $1202 for 30 years sounds really frightening... Which means to say both husband and wife muz ensure they have employment for the next 30 years. And not forgetting one's contribution to OA in CPF will gradually reduce starting from 35 years old. All family planning issues (having kids) will face obstacles.
yes. You have highlighted the downside.
Thus i shall highlight on the upside. There's still to be bonus and increments yet to factored in. Thus, I'm learning to make my money work harder for me by investing in both stocks and having adequate coverage in insurance for both medical and savings.

So end of the day is, people must workout their finances and determine what they can afford and not over commit. Paying that extra 100k (which u cannot afford) just for the fact that the flat is in a better location, will add unnecessary stress and in the long run, will not be worth it.

Hence, my gf and I decided to just wack punggol and we got a unit that is reasonable close to MRT. We worked out finances and decided we can afford it and it's always better to own our home rather than share/rent.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.