March BTO 2012

lampano

Is the CPF Housing Grant for Family and Additional CPF Housing Grant for those applying for bto new flats or for buying resale flats?
if you thinking to use AHG to use on Clementi BTO,
I suggest you better dont go above 3rm.
It already means your income is moderate only.

Dont over commit

jeffheng

Seem like Geylang really is not popular. Subcription really low despite the location.

Anyone living near there? What are the reasons besides the obvious one that "geylang" is not a good name due to association with certain industry?

Geylang area is very close to industrial area. flats surrounding the sites are old will en-block soon. 4 more days to go...

HunterXtreme

hehe im nt sure. but if u look strictly at the hdb annual report.
they are indeed nt making money.

yup and markup some admin cost and staffing cost.

HDB does not price the land.
they bought it from SLA lol
u shld go to SLA website to read how they price instead of HDB for land cost
well, they may nt sell it for private developer wat.
SLA can always rezone the land from residential to office or commercial or CASINO right?

yup! thats nt wrong.
technically, its still a subsidy lah. lol
altho ethically, it is objectable.

the govt is smart la, on paper they sure balanced the sum to let the public see that they did not make any money
then where all the money went? Left pocket in, pass to right pocket lor....
Costly land prices and high payment to other govt agency like PUB/NEA/LTA to create utility line/sewage piping/road, etc...
So maybe HDB did not make much profit, all the profit went to other govt agencies
Just my theory :)

babylana

ya, why some people still say they will wipe off entire CPF? :s11:

clarifications:
10% staggered (5% at signing of lease & 5% upon keys collection) downpayment applies if 1 applicant is below 30 yrs old... However if both applicants above 30 then signing of lease will be 10% downpayment

if expected BTO completion is Dec 2015 & u happen to get your keys earlier like June 2015, HDB will commence the lease payment only on Dec 2015 so then tats when ur CPF will be wiped out to pay for the flat & the remaining bal is deducted mthly thru CPF or cash top up depending on ur HLE approved amt (which HDB will do another assessment during keys collection)

** I may be wrong... so do correct me if Im wrong...
cheers!!! :D

alwaysnforever

I applied for the macpherson area. Although surrounding is not as good as those vibrant neighbourhood, the distance to mrt and pretty central location is what I love.

If the surrounding area enbloc soon, newer developments will come up which may make the area better

Jarlaxle

the govt is smart la, on paper they sure balanced the sum to let the public see that they did not make any money
then where all the money went? Left pocket in, pass to right pocket lor....
Costly land prices and high payment to other govt agency like PUB/NEA/LTA to create utility line/sewage piping/road, etc...
So maybe HDB did not make much profit, all the profit went to other govt agencies
Just my theory :)

transfer pricing ftw!

ketua

Higher standards to make new buildings accessible to all ages

"Singapore's building authority will soon be upping the standards to make builders include universal design features in new buildings, which will make the environment friendly to residents of all ages. "

Another reason for HDB to increase prices of their future BTO flats?

This is something I really hate.

Always build with a flaw left deliberately then later come in like white knight to upgrade to cater for the aged and handicap.

alexis10

One quick question... if i applied for the BTO and gotten a number.. if i never choose a flat or turn up for the appointment.. will the new ruling that barred one to apply for a new BTO/DBSS/EC ruling for one year apply to me? or the new ruling is for those who have paid the option fee but opt out after that?

hwaa

clarifications:
10% staggered (5% at signing of lease & 5% upon keys collection) downpayment applies if 1 applicant is below 30 yrs old... However if both applicants above 30 then signing of lease will be 10% downpayment

if expected BTO completion is Dec 2015 & u happen to get your keys earlier like June 2015, HDB will commence the lease payment only on Dec 2015 so then tats when ur CPF will be wiped out to pay for the flat & the remaining bal is deducted mthly thru CPF or cash top up depending on ur HLE approved amt (which HDB will do another assessment during keys collection)

** I may be wrong... so do correct me if Im wrong...
cheers!!! :D

yeah. u're right. need to do another HLE wks before key collection.

got my keys on end jan 12. balloted on dec 08.

F3Rm1nat0r

One quick question... if i applied for the BTO and gotten a number.. if i never choose a flat or turn up for the appointment.. will the new ruling that barred one to apply for a new BTO/DBSS/EC ruling for one year apply to me? or the new ruling is for those who have paid the option fee but opt out after that?
yup, you're right!

mAtcHz

singaporean jus love to over commit and buy things that is more than what they can afford.. haha no wonder the gov did not feel any impact to really consider to reduce the flat price.

RedShoe

i just don't understand why it cost so much for a 4rm BTO at bedok this time...$400,000 - $464,000 (too high), as compared to previous Jan BTO price of a 4rm in tampines was $292,000 - $353,000. Both were mature estate and the only difference was the Bedok BTO is near to the Bus Interchange...still deciding whether to apply for it because a punggol prem 5RM BTO also cost ard that
H88 say the Bedok BTO is good value for money leh.

H88.com.sg » HDB Reviews » Ping Yi Greens review part 1: Location and prices

frozened

I applied for the macpherson area. Although surrounding is not as good as those vibrant neighbourhood, the distance to mrt and pretty central location is what I love.

If the surrounding area enbloc soon, newer developments will come up which may make the area better

there's been talks about the blocks going enbloc since eons ago :s22:
however so far there's only upgrading works constantly going on around the older blocks, i doubt it'll be placed on en bloc any time soon..

idolcritic

singaporean jus love to over commit and buy things that is more than what they can afford.. haha no wonder the gov did not feel any impact to really consider to reduce the flat price.

This is because of the nature of housing, which is:

1) a necessity and a luxury at the same time
2) paid over installments, so the impact is not apparent
3) social expectation and perception of housing to status
4) ties to family, familiarity with surroundings, comfort

Let me use an example. Let's say a family of parents and 2 sons. The father last time can well afford to buy a 4-rm flat at Clementi, with single income, and raise the 2 sons and provide for family.

Now, grown up, let's say the elder brother marries early and buys a 4-rm flat in Clementi, near the parents, say about 10 years ago. (when it was still affordable)

Now that prices have risen so much, the younger brother (who married late) is still expected to do the same thing. He is expected to be able to afford the same 4-rm flat with his wife at Clementi, even though prices have risen much higher than since his father's and brother's time. If he go and buy a Punggol or Sengkang flat, the mother and father will not understand why. They won't do the math and say, yah, prices now are so high my younger son cannot afford 4-rm flat in Clementi. They will say eee, why you go and stay so far? Your brother can afford, why you cannot afford leh?

Remember, we are not dealing with pure logic, where you take out calculator and do the math. You are dealing with a social thing, where it's about relatives' opinion, parents' perception, wife's parents demands, etc.

So some pple, when deciding where to buy, will not do the tough math and decide. They will decide based on social norm and expectation.

qitt

hmm..do we need to submit documents when we apply for bto? i remember submitting some docs the previous time.. but how come now, there isnt an option to submit..

Kevin10

hmm..do we need to submit documents when we apply for bto? i remember submitting some docs the previous time.. but how come now, there isnt an option to submit..

No documents needed for balloting , U will only be asked for your documents upon selection of flat.. :D

idolcritic

there's been talks about the blocks going enbloc since eons ago :s22:
however so far there's only upgrading works constantly going on around the older blocks, i doubt it'll be placed on en bloc any time soon..

What type of upgrading is being carried out now? Not lift right? It's the addition of either toilet or utility room that kind right?

hazardous

Then how? Don't buy flat? Don't get married? Or buy flat at ulu location and live far away from parents? I think all of us buy out of necessity rather then backside itchy die die want to over-commit. Thats why we buy already still make so much noise, coz we LL must buy.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.