mark lee nominated for 金馬獎 best leading actor

lala24

To each his own. You yourself already drew a boundary box between what you hate and what you like, thereby shutting yourself out from all the great Chinese films like Zhang Yimou, Chen Kaige, etc. I wonder how do you improve like that. There are other modern Chinese films that are just as good as the 80s and 90s.

China is a country of copycats and fake stuff. I dont need to improve on how to be a copycat. XD Their environment is not ripe for creativity, only good for milking money out of the gullible. Just listen to the songs written by the china songwriter as another example. The so called big names failed to excite people outside China. On creativity front, they trail a long way behind Taiwan.

lala24

No loss after 2018.

The only two good movies recently from China are in 2018 (我不是药神)and 2017 (芳华) after a drought after 让子弹飞 in 2010

Then I realized in 2019 till now, not even a single good movie that worth the stage. And if u look at the long list of best movies, many are not from China, or it is that only few good directors who are also punished by China’s own censorship

To be fair, there are some exceptions of good movies that are original, creative and well made. The last I can recall is 七月與安生. But even then the director from HK. These exceptions are few and far in between.

A Better Tomorrow

Wah lao why you all 酱 bad de. Mark lee work very hard huan from long time ago chao beng bo tak cheh to being able to speak good english entreprenuer.

It is true that Mark Lee worked hard, however there are still rooms for improvements when it comes to improve his willing to say English and using it more frequently so that his fluency is better.

I respect him for going forward despite against the odds, be it his humble background, and now this covid19 and adapt to transform his business and career.

lala24

No standard after hk and china movies are left out...the most prestigious one now is 金像奖...actually prc 金鸡 is even better than 金马

No one watch golden chicken or golden elephant. Golden horse is the most unpolitical awards, regardless of country and thats why its highly regarded.

zoossh

To be fair, there are some exceptions of good movies that are original, creative and well made. The last I can recall is 七月與安生. But even then the director from HK. These exceptions are few and far in between.

Actually hk had the most good movies more than tw and China, the best being 十年 and 天水围的日与夜,and of cos the commercially successful 无间道。but after 十年,good movies in hk start to die down due to a long time piracy environment and increasing ccp surveillance, and now with widespread police brutality, hk is gone case now. Can johnnie to make a trilogy of the recent police brutality and not have to run road?

Tw on the other hand have been a long time small art house market which only pertain to a small group but fortunately there are new directors like wei tesheng who is both commercially successful and making some of the best movies recently

China on the other hand cannot produce enough good movies despite having a large population. Is it that they dun have talented people or creative ones? Of cos not. A lot of banned movies or almost banned movies are the good ones. That’s why they are like u say few and far in between. These directors dun have a good time either. For those who wanted to watch good Chinese movies, I recommend that u watch 盲井

zoossh

No one watch golden chicken or golden elephant. Golden horse is the most unpolitical awards, regardless of country and thats why its highly regarded.

Golden horse is the most highly regarded and the most established. The only thing is they are more or too art house. It’s like most people listen to kpop and not classical music but that doesn’t take away its prestige.

Chicken on the other hand is like Obama winning peace prize. Only thing different is every time is like that.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.