mark lee nominated for 金馬獎 best leading actor

tokong

To each his own. You yourself already drew a boundary box between what you hate and what you like, thereby shutting yourself out from all the great Chinese films like Zhang Yimou, Chen Kaige, etc. I wonder how do you improve like that. There are other modern Chinese films that are just as good as the 80s and 90s.

No loss. I still cannot recall any good china made movies that scores high in creativity, artistically appealing and well produced.

zoossh

To each his own. You yourself already drew a boundary box between what you hate and what you like, thereby shutting yourself out from all the great Chinese films like Zhang Yimou, Chen Kaige, etc. I wonder how do you improve like that. There are other modern Chinese films that are just as good as the 80s and 90s.

Chen kaige best movie is farewell with concubine and the best part is the portion on cultural revolution. Many of the good movies survived by self censoring which could be even better movies. Some barely survive the ban in China, some self censored until it is tolerable in China and some dun survive the ban. It is in golden horse and other international awards that they are given a chance to shine again so actually the loss is on China (not ccp) side.

Zhang yimou golden time is up to the mid 90s. His movie hero is an utter rubbish propaganda movie. He later go for more commercial movies like 黄晶甲 and the Great Wall which are ok but not award winning categories. His time is long gone as an art movie director

As for golden horse they can’t do anything. The boycott is by ccp due to broken hearts. The words are said by a guest and those words are not wrong either. Golden horse can neither stop the guest from saying nor disagree with the guest. So can only say boh bian.

It sure isn’t as bad as an award is being given to the movie 战狼 which is now a modern day mockery term for ah Q type of ultranationalism and spiritual warmongering - that is the real pathetic trend compared to just being a smaller award.

It just means lagi best for the others cos the other movies gets to shine. That’s all.

_hulk_

Mark lee acting is very good one. U watch some of his recent movies.

Much better than most Medicorp actor and actress.

matey1982

tl-marklee-f-300920.jpg

zoossh

Mark lee acting is very good one. U watch some of his recent movies.

Much better than most Medicorp actor and actress.

Some people only go for good looking actors with atas roles

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
to get nominated himself is alrd a winner :o
can hope for the best, just not high ones

whitecabbage

that is the most prestigious in this area already. i wouldnt trust other awards.

No standard after hk and china movies are left out...the most prestigious one now is 金像奖...actually prc 金鸡 is even better than 金马

zoossh

No standard after hk and china movies are left out...the most prestigious one now is 金像奖...actually prc 金鸡 is even better than 金马

Not really. Golden rooster is too politically tainted, definitely far below horse at all time including past two years. There is no guarantee if hk will go the same Way in the future, cos up to 2019 they gave the best movie to hk movies but in 2020 it turned tiong - it’s like suddenly Nobel peace prize give to Obama then I Chua tio.

Look no further on the award holders for the chicken
2021 my guess is 800
2019 流浪地球
2017 开罗宣言,日本战犯忏悔备忘录
2015 智取威虎山
2013 周恩来的四个昼夜
2011 建国大业
2009 集结号
2007 我的长征
2005 走近毛泽东
2003 英雄 邓小平
2001 毛泽东在1925
1999 一个都不能少
1997 鸦片战争

chuakboon

Actually it really depends on what type of film you like la.

Chen kaige is one wave before Zhang yi mou leh. Their style can be quite different le. What u like about them

demongod

his movie not even released so many keep kp low class , lousy , really is kan loser.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.