Massive layoffs incoming in tech sector - in supposed stable companies

KakiMeow

那时我已经 say already,AI will cause many to be jobless,got people dun believe sia。

One AI can do 3-10 person job,and do it way faster and way more accurate,plus the AI
will
  • Never take leave
  • Never take MC
  • Never feel tired
  • Work more than 996,it can be 0-0-7,working 24 hours daily
  • Never have office politics
  • Never give problem to management
  • Always give analytical and logical decisions,meaning non-emotional

trento

this coupled with AI development, advancement and replacement of jobs ... I've said this will cause massive social impact and unrest around the world and this is a worldwide issue ... just how fast it'll come ...
But AI actually replace what job? I so far didn't see anyone say they kena replace by AI, at least in sg

Alan.Oryon

Then why are the big coys like MS, Cisco ... etc retrenching?

Tiagong Cisco going to have another round this year.

Microsoft is changing some of its policies.

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us...softs-ea/9a231316-1d9e-4ef4-9b2e-b18bbac0ac4b

Companies with less than 2400 users, they are letting CSP partners handling all the sales and support. Previously they are handling directly for some of the customers above 500 headcount.

Plus Copilot Studio itself also reduced the manpower requirement for frontline customer support.

tazzycorner

But AI actually replace what job? I so far didn't see anyone say they kena replace by AI, at least in sg

AI + tech

web developers, coders, graphics designers

a more visible one which could be coming is driverless public transport
bus and cab/phv drivers could be made redundant

pwongkk

The news whether fake or true is totally irrelevant.

If you are true blue Sinkie male who served 2 yrs NS, the truth is finding job is gona be extremely difficult every year regardless of market conditions.

However, if you are from a certain country and equipped with Uptron degrees, then finding high paying jobs with great career prospects in the tech and finance industry is extremely easy and quick!

So dun blame the market conditions, US trade war, AI revolution etc etc.... it's becos SG has a open leg policy where Uptron degrees > NUS/NTU/SIM etc
Something big must be brewing towards the direction of major retrenchments or recession.

Foreigners doing Grab is nothing new, already been happening for years. I even seen msian bikes at checkpoint wearing Grab t-shirt years ago. The timing which the gov acts is very suspicious.

And why limit only to these platform workers? Other foreigners are also taking up sinkies jobs or making it even more difficult for sinkies to get a job, yet we don't see the gov acting on this.

Being in the workforce for over 30 years, I can safely say in time to come, the dependence of these economic refugees will drag sg down. With a ready supply of cheap experienced economic refugees, how many companies are willing to hire fresh grads to train them up? In time to come, all expertise that sg has attained in the past are all eroded.

Look at all the job portals, how many actually accept fresh grads with 0 industry experience?

pwongkk

Microsoft is changing some of its policies.

https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us...softs-ea/9a231316-1d9e-4ef4-9b2e-b18bbac0ac4b

Companies with less than 2400 users, they are letting CSP partners handling all the sales and support. Previously they are handling directly for some of the customers above 500 headcount.

Plus Copilot Studio itself also reduced the manpower requirement for frontline customer support.
These retrenchments affects sinkie workers as well. There are some truth in the article.

And with these layoffs, how are these mncs creating jobs for sinkies?

Alan.Oryon

These retrenchments affects sinkie workers as well. There are some truth in the article.

MNCs operate in various countries with the primary goal of generating profit. They are not inherently responsible for job creation; rather, it is the government's role to communicate with them regarding job creation initiatives.

If you were to establish a company in South Africa, would your primary concern be local employment, or the well-being of your own countrymen who could easily lodge complaints with their government about your company?

DragonFire

Consider that they are good stable companies because they react fast to positive business developments.

yesman2978

Normal for profitable companies to hire and fire

And to fire and hire. Fire the overpaid workers and hire underpaid desperate grunts when times are bad. The savings goes into their profit, and CEO take credit and get higher salary for himself

DragonFire

Gg for the junior tech staff. There is no place for entry level knowledge workers in the new economy. Senior knowledge workers are still needed to countercheck the AI at least until they mature enough to be at least as accurate as an experienced engineer.

daveteo88

Fear-mongering rubbish by redditor who claims to have heard from inside connections.

Quote:

For those from SIT & SUTD especially with CS, Comp Eng degrees & other IT degrees, the pay they're being offered is shocking. With reference to the GES survey between SIT & SUTD, a basic graduate salary from CS would be between $4.8-5.5k/mth. However HRs are only offering a max of $3.5k/mth. They're not willing to offer them anything above $3.5k even with degrees being from local autonomous unis.

A few of them I asked what is causing even telecom companies & GLCs which are considered to be the safest employers to lay off people, it is simple, lack of profitability and HRs claiming inflated salaries being paid to these uni grads in comparison to the skills they are bringing to the table. Hence they are planning to suppress the salaries as quickly as possible.
Bring down all the salaries and reduce inflation. Singapore overloaded with graduate now and cpy pay them so much end up overall Singapore labour too expensive. Later cpy shift to JB how?

cyke69sg

Exactly bro. I support massive and colossal retrenchment. Inflation will be down, interest rates will be reduced, stocks will chiong, and jlb will be eliminated to welcome hardworking work force.
No more work force anymore.
It will be either rich own the companies that run the world or dirt poor people. Earn dividends or be penniless.

toolbox03

Something big must be brewing towards the direction of major retrenchments or recession.

Foreigners doing Grab is nothing new, already been happening for years. I even seen msian bikes at checkpoint wearing Grab t-shirt years ago. The timing which the gov acts is very suspicious.

And why limit only to these platform workers? Other foreigners are also taking up sinkies jobs or making it even more difficult for sinkies to get a job, yet we don't see the gov acting on this.

Being in the workforce for over 30 years, I can safely say in time to come, the dependence of these economic refugees will drag sg down. With a ready supply of cheap experienced economic refugees, how many companies are willing to hire fresh grads to train them up? In time to come, all expertise that sg has attained in the past are all eroded.

Look at all the job portals, how many actually accept fresh grads with 0 industry experience?
Because one world govt is coming to control the world, no more such thing as country, all will be spread out

pwongkk

Gg for the junior tech staff. There is no place for entry level knowledge workers in the new economy. Senior knowledge workers are still needed to countercheck the AI at least until they mature enough to be at least as accurate as an experienced engineer.
AI are mostly self learning. Feed in garbage it will work on the garbage it's being fed with.

Public AI services can give me multiple different answers when I check it over a period of time, while there is no change to the actual answer.

trento

AI + tech

web developers, coders, graphics designers

a more visible one which could be coming is driverless public transport
bus and cab/phv drivers could be made redundant
Wonder which companies

DragonFire

AI are mostly self learning. Feed in garbage it will work on the garbage it's being fed with.

Public AI services can give me multiple different answers when I check it over a period of time, while there is no change to the actual answer.
The move forward is to highly specialized LLMs instead of the general poisoned crap open to the public. You might have a network engineer LLM which can service you as well as a CCIE in a particular subject might. What it is allowed to learn will be highly controlled, and free from undesirable influence.

You might have an AI trained in deptjh on COBOL to replace the elderly COBOL expert who may not be around in another 20 years. Maybe said COBOL engineer will be hired in their sunset years just to guide that AI.

Sky's the limit.

These LLMs will primarily be polled by other AI agents rather than humans, with their services being offered for a price.

Only need a few highly skilled humans in the middle to wrangle the whole lot.

testerjp

AI only replace those who don't use AI for now.

Coding is really more efficient with Claude. I read one overseas uni is revising their curriculum for IT to exclude the importance of coding.

But studying IT is more than just coding. Is to piece together and integrate everything as a nice piece and you need to validate that the code matches what you are exactly asking for and get the result you want.

Currently if you ask the AI to do a minor revision in th code, it has a tendency of redoing the entire code. If your core is tens of thousands of lines. You may need to break up the code into different sectors and ask ai to do sector by sector then piece togerher and hope it works. But like I mentioned, the AI may redo the whole code for a minor revision and it will not match nicely with the rest.

It's indeed useful but if you have no knowledge trying to integrate, it's not going to work that well without a supervisor. It does help to reduce the number of workers by alot. Bill gates just recommended people to learn IT.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.