Massive layoffs incoming in tech sector - in supposed stable companies

testart

I’m not surprised because the tech sector has been overheated for years, and people acted like the boom would never end. Many young Singaporeans jumped into tech, thinking the high salaries would last forever.

The issue isn’t just the layoffs, but how unprepared some of these people are. No savings, no backup plan. A lot of people underestimated how much global trends, like US tech cuts, affect our local job market.

This also shows how dangerous it is when everyone chases one hot sector without thinking about long-term stability. It’s a wake-up call to be practical, get useful certifications, diversify income, and stop blindly chasing hype jobs.

At the end of the day, what matters is whether you can survive and adapt, not what job title you carry.

kebinu

It’s currently an employer’s market, which means companies have the upper hand and can afford to offer lower salaries. That’s just how the cycle works, no industry stays on top forever.

This is exactly why upskilling is crucial. Eventually, many people will pivot into roles like property agents, content creators, or entrepreneurs. It seems that many fresh graduates today lack that kind of street smarts.

Some people think that graduating from a university means bao jiak for life, definitely not for today’s market.

I made it well with business and investment. If I were to have my current knowledge and I'm in my 20s again. TBH, I really doubt I can achieve the same level. It's just too competitive everywhere right now, maybe due to the influx and the situation in China. If only the country works towards innovation, I'm not sure if we will be better off anyway.

Philipkee

If you are the boss of a company be it small SME coy or big MNC coy, you think about it - if AI can save you potentially millions in salary + other bonuses each year will you go for AI? You dont need spend money to send them for courses or even overseas training and best of it all, they wont complain, give you attitude, take leave or MC
No need to think so far. Would you buy insurance online if it’s cheaper or would you buy insurance through an agent which is more expensive but he keeps his job? Assuming u have a choice la

duhduhduh

I’m not surprised because the tech sector has been overheated for years, and people acted like the boom would never end. Many young Singaporeans jumped into tech, thinking the high salaries would last forever.

The issue isn’t just the layoffs, but how unprepared some of these people are. No savings, no backup plan. A lot of people underestimated how much global trends, like US tech cuts, affect our local job market.

This also shows how dangerous it is when everyone chases one hot sector without thinking about long-term stability. It’s a wake-up call to be practical, get useful certifications, diversify income, and stop blindly chasing hype jobs.

At the end of the day, what matters is whether you can survive and adapt, not what job title you carry.
Never see some ppl down payment buy condo lol

Philipkee

But AI actually replace what job? I so far didn't see anyone say they kena replace by AI, at least in sg
Driverless vehicles and I heard call centres also where it’s not a human on the other line. Chat bots also

ramlee

No need to think so far. Would you buy insurance online if it’s cheaper or would you buy insurance through an agent which is more expensive but he keeps his job? Assuming u have a choice la
An agent if she ish chio bu :(

zhiguzai

Many are still in denial mode that the economic environment has changed. Microsoft, Amazon, Google and Meta are in record profits, but at the same time they are layingoff thousands of employees.

https://www.straitstimes.com/tech/5-high-profile-tech-layoffs-in-the-last-nine-months-to-2025

These companies invested heavily on AI and the direct benefits is that they can cut down the work force.

As AI implementation proliferate to more industries, there will be more layoff. MIW open leg policy in the last 2 decades will be backfired under the new economic environment. This is now first manifested on our fresh graduates who have hard time getting a job. They are now ask to lower their expectation to accept any job that come along. The worse is yet to be. This is not a passing storm. This is the new economy that all will need to adapt.

ramlee

Many are still in denial mode that the economic environment has changed. Microsoft, Amazon, Google and Meta are in record profits, but at the same time they are layingoff thousands of employees.

https://www.straitstimes.com/tech/5-high-profile-tech-layoffs-in-the-last-nine-months-to-2025

These companies invested heavily on AI and the direct benefits is that they can cut down the work force.

As AI implementation proliferate to more industries, there will be more layoff. MIW open leg policy in the last 2 decades will be backfired under the new economic environment. This is now first manifested on our fresh graduates who have hard time getting a job. They are now ask to lower their expectation to accept any job that come along. The worse is yet to be. This is not a passing storm. This is the new economy that all will need to adapt.
Then we spended so much on our chewren to send them for tuition and enrichment classes over the years and this is what we getted? :(

4Dluckystrike

Unker last time from tech.. pivot 2 times in my career , i am fortunate to be the only few still got job among my unker grp ..
i moved on to managing tech processes and less focused on tech itself liao..
tech anytime can bye bye but they still need ppl to manage processes

trento

I see it as job reduction. Can't see AI replace totally. My HR, finance all still have jobs for eg. Even friend in another design company no designers got fired, and they use AI.

Big tech maybe over hired during covid.

Philipkee

actually I dunno. Are these companies making huge profits even as they lay off workers or are they making huge profits because they are laying off workers?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.