Massive layoffs incoming in tech sector - in supposed stable companies

AnimeNewbie

“Yet” means can be done lah. Just that those lazy programmers refused to do it.

The current AI is half-baked. The 1st iteration of the AI generated code is usually very good already but you ask AI to add feature or fix the bugs, the subsequent iterations of generated code is very bad and difficult to fix manually.

Have to wait for future version of AI.

Milodrink

Many companies out there are struggling to trim their expenses.

To hire a fresh grad and pay 5-6k vs an experienced hire from oversea and pay 4-5k. No need to pay cpf. No need to worry about losing him to NS reservist. Straight away productive. No other gahmen incentives to hire local. No hurdles to hire FT as long as company apply for EP properly. U say leh?

Hope govt know @Itsnotfunny

Milodrink

Exactly bro. I support massive and colossal retrenchment. Inflation will be down, interest rates will be reduced, stocks will chiong, and jlb will be eliminated to welcome hardworking work force.

Er the true blue jlb are usually the ones as boss pet.

If not u really think so easy can be boss pet 365 days without others jjww meh

Visor9999

It’s expected since tech companies can use AI to cut their manpower at least 80% if done correctly

anchoraz

The current AI is half-baked. The 1st iteration of the AI generated code is usually very good already but you ask AI to add feature or fix the bugs, the subsequent iterations of generated code is very bad and difficult to fix manually.

Actually its good for those forgotten hw to code. Can give u idea how to code the function. Sometimes the code cannot compile due to they din indicate to include libraries.

Still, the coder him/herself mus noe the skill to code. If some salesman tell u AI can code everything, u noe he smoking you liao.

Many ai video jus wana get hits for viewing. The whole things still need to coder to compile.

Unless 1 day AI can code the whole visual studio or windows 11. Then i would say its ready.

But microsoft would not want tat to happen 1 day cos it will break its own ricebowl.

Jus take AI as pinch of salt then u ok liao.

charliebrown

layoffs are good for company to shave off those jlb who no contribution to the org.
they should start w those who insist to WFHs... .. :crazy:

tyhand39

the return quality from those code is uneven, and if something breaks, then need experienced coders to fix bugs.

but if they fire the junior pple who will be the future seasoned coders, eventually will lack folks to fix code generated by AI

BlackTortoise

My coy no pay Feb 2025 cpf & cleaner fee also all headcount’s salary late no give marketing budget. Siao Liao…

wwenze

Don’t need to keep harping on tech layoffs. Other industries got so many ppl get layout also never keep posting big big they just move on.
Coz edmw don't work in tech

Only reddit SPU can enter tech

wwenze

No need to think so far. Would you buy insurance online if it’s cheaper or would you buy insurance through an agent which is more expensive but he keeps his job? Assuming u have a choice la

The agent can con old people...

Meanwhile the same target market doesn't even know how to use internet...

Dracky

When there is a massive supply of IT grads, then wages should go down. Afterall, tech is not massively hiring right now. We all can see that.

DragonFire

the return quality from those code is uneven, and if something breaks, then need experienced coders to fix bugs.

but if they fire the junior pple who will be the future seasoned coders, eventually will lack folks to fix code generated by AI
I see that and you see that. CEOs and especially shareholders tho. It ain’t their problem.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.