May BTO 2012

keithster

so as of 4.30pm 25 4-rooms has been selected so far. If based on 41 Q numbers. the drop-out rate is almost 45%. 8-sa has been selected, which i assumed are all under multi-generation scheme which means 32/41 4-rooms flat still not selected under multi-generation scheme.

after minus all the malay/indian and multi-gen scheme and chosen flats, only 520 4-rooms still available for chinese selection at KW.

Your assumption is quite unlikely.

F3Rm1nat0r

i am toking abt 5 room bto from other area lah. lol.

i am staying in whampoa/kallang area now so i know the current value. yeah it is the damn PR which are pushing the price high, they wanna speculate on the flats not really buying one. I seriously think PR should be block from flat ownership.

support this, they don't want to spend money on rent so they buy (not really speculate), in the end when they go home like their living was completely free + maybe got profit somemore. PR should only be allowed to RENT and not BUY hdb

huangfuxing1980

support this, they don't want to spend money on rent so they buy (not really speculate), in the end when they go home like their living was completely free + maybe got profit somemore. PR should only be allowed to RENT and not BUY hdb
I bet you will be glade to see price go up after you have your own flat!

tanjhj

Hdb told me that for the past 2 days the selection was for the multi generation scheme. I asked him y they have no q no (since the q no remains the same at myhdb for yesterday and early half of today). The explanation was they are "special"

I wonder how many invisibly "special" q no. are we looking? I saw from the past few pages that the quota is 15%, since hdb is encouraging this scheme, if it is overwhelming response then they will still welcome it,right?

I feel the whole thing with this multi generation scheme is so messy n with 600+ q no i also dont know if i can get a flat!

dun worry to much. multi gen is limited to 41 units of 4 room flat. cap at 15% of the sa offered. or is it min 15%? lol

arsenal100

if you guys use the hdb webpage below to check, actually the selling price of nearby resale flats for KW are between $450,000 to $550,000 and highest $600,000 for the past 12 months.

I wonder how high the confidence we had for BL and MT to beat the current market range of 450k-600k in the next five year? Any property expert mind to share insight?

arsenal100

500k+ plus paying for Kallang/Whampo worthwhile compare to some of the few of SOBF last year location sort of Tiong Bahru 4room which was also 500k+ but with a better current market value of 700k+. Anyone could share for the confidence of that?

Khenith

if you guys use the hdb webpage below to check, actually the selling price of nearby resale flats for KW are between $450,000 to $550,000 and highest $600,000 for the past 12 months.

HDB InfoWEB: Overview : Buying a Resale Flat

You're right. I rather buy a 5r flat off the market at 600k now than a 4r 550k unit which can give me liquidity after 5 yrs as oppose to 10 yrs (bto)

wdblazer

HDB InfoWEB: Overview : Buying a Resale Flat

2crrq07.jpg

HDB based the selling price of the BTO on the surrounding resale price. The units that are near our BTO site is asking for above 650K last I check.

I wonder how high the confidence we had for BL and MT to beat the current market range of 450k-600k in the next five year? Any property expert mind to share insight?

500k+ plus paying for Kallang/Whampo worthwhile compare to some of the few of SOBF last year location sort of Tiong Bahru 4room which was also 500k+ but with a better current market value of 700k+. Anyone could share for the confidence of that?

Thats the thing, we are paying the same price, but we have to wait 4 years for them to build. They are using our money to build the BTO, and if anything happen (mad property price crash, dun say investing, even if you buy for family usage you will also feel abit sian one), we kanna the ****. Like one guy posted, all the risk is passed on to us.

McHill

You're right. I rather buy a 5r flat off the market at 600k now than a 4r 550k unit which can give me liquidity after 5 yrs as oppose to 10 yrs (bto)
find me a 600k 5r near town plz, let me know and i'll buy it.

Khenith

i think it is 4 rm at 500k to 600k range. but he does make sense.

I saw this listing that day with a price ~660k (now the price is gone?)

13 Saint George's Road (D12) - Listing #10359029, HDB For Sale, Real Estate | Property Guru

another one would be the following (700k negotiable)

6 Boon Keng Road (D12) - Listing #9747924, HDB For Sale, Real Estate | Property Guru

And I was thinking as a first timer I would anyways get a $30k grant to reduce the damage (to close to 600k)...
Comparing the slight price difference vs the space & 5 years of waiting to build vs 5 yrs of rental.. > the maths is easy :D

arsenal100

Hi all,

Saw some mortgage sort of

$600,000 at $2,984/mo.
1.35% rate (1st Year)
19 Years Fixed Rate

does that necessary mean that throughout the 19 year rate fixed @ 1.35%? Or normally the subsequent years rate would surge to how many percent?

arsenal100

13 Saint George's Road (D12) - Listing #10359029, HDB For Sale, Real Estate | Property Guru

6 Boon Keng Road (D12) - Listing #9747924, HDB For Sale, Real Estate | Property Guru

And I was thinking as a first timer I would anyways get a $30k grant to reduce the damage (to close to 600k)...
Comparing the slight price difference vs the space & 5 years of waiting to build vs 5 yrs of rental.. > the maths is easy :D

the only merit point was near MRT for the new BTO. Worthwhile?A tradeoff of SPACE (4room space)vs nearer to MRT.(4 room near to MRT.)

Khenith

agree that 100m to 300m walking difference can be quite significant after a long day's work

but anyways, i have chosen SK bto as I am too poor.. (500m walking for me!)

mariachi

The resale flats in kw area are mostly quite old, at least 25 years. Plus old flats probably incur higher renovations especially if u need to redo the whole flat and knock down alot of stuff.

Not to mention the killer cov which cannot be offset by any grant that hdb may give..

wdblazer

the only merit point was near MRT for the new BTO. Worthwhile?A tradeoff of SPACE (4room space)vs nearer to MRT.(4 room near to MRT.)

Indeed those resale location are further away from the current BTO to MRT, however it is not an only merit point, its a major merit point. For me, I need a home where its relatively easy for me to go to work and back to relax after a long day, hence transport accessible is a major consideration.

Amenities wise, the BTO have more choices as well. The only thing attractive to me about those units are their larger space, however at this stage of my life, I don't need so large a space. Even with $30k to offset, it will exceed the BTO by a noticeable margin, as COV are not included in the price tag yet.

Unless you are rich enough, to get one in the same location ($700k onwards, not those fringe units) and pay the COV in full, then the math is easy.

The resale flats in kw area are mostly quite old, at least 25 years. Plus old flats probably incur higher renovations especially if u need to redo the whole flat and knock down alot of stuff.

Not to mention the killer cov which cannot be offset by any grant that hdb may give..

The factor that kill my dream of buying resale :s13: Oh yeah renovating the old flats would cost more too (hidden cost).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.