May BTO 2012

huishann

Not true lor... I have a friend who got 1xx number told me that she is going to go for MT no matter what.

I ask her why and she told me MT is more quiet and feels like residential (more for living) as compared to BL. Most importantly, amenities like DBS bank, SingPost, KFC, MacDonald, Sheng Siong Supermart really attract her a lot as compared to BL.

As for MRT accessibility, she finds that walking from Boon Keng MRT to MT is really shorter and more time saving for her. She believes that in long run, it is more beneficial for her since she works late every day.

Lastly, she told me that she only wants full-length windows in the living room and she wants a big living room. Current BL living room is too small which she find it impractical and squeezy esp when there are many guests.

She also shared with me about the nearby childcare centre (@Blk 106 which is next to MT) and Whampoa Police Post (@Blk 104 if I am not wrong). She is more convinced that MT is truly a place to stay as compared to the noisy and complicated BL. She is not sure next time if her kids can grow up safely and well in BL.

Personally I am going for BL becos I have no choice (due to budget constraint) and I don't think I have the luxury to go for higher levels too. But if I have money, I will definitely go for MT. :s12::s12::s12:

i guess its all up to individual's preference haha. anyway, i was just wondering, if both MT and BL units are of the same sqm, and BL's living room is smaller, technically speaking, something in BL must be bigger than that of MT's right ? but from the layout images from hdb, like bo leh :s22:

keithster

i guess its all up to individual's preference haha. anyway, i was just wondering, if both MT and BL units are of the same sqm, and BL's living room is smaller, technically speaking, something in BL must be bigger than that of MT's right ? but from the layout images from hdb, like bo leh :s22:

quite obviously the bedrooms are bigger :p

wdblazer

Ya I believe once the queue goes back to normal, BL will be flying off the shelves :s13:

As for MRT accessibility, she finds that walking from Boon Keng MRT to MT is really shorter and more time saving for her. She believes that in long run, it is more beneficial for her since she works late every day.

Current BL living room is too small which she find it impractical and squeezy esp when there are many guests.

[/QUOTE]

For MRT, I am looking at the future MRT station that will be built nearer by, can anyone confirm is it 1 or 2 more MRT stations?

Agreed on the point of BL living room, think they make it such that MT will stand out more as a premium unit.

Ya appear to me like bo also. Think its the arrangement of the living room space, thats why BL appear smaller.

IS IT? :eek:

techielim

From e eye is hard to tell. Unless u hv e floor plan with measurements u can calculate e sq ft and u can get e answer. If any nice ppl who have gotten their floor plan can upload to here will be the best. Only for ppl who hv selected their units shld be getting their floor plan.

keithster

From e eye is hard to tell. Unless u hv e floor plan with measurements u can calculate e sq ft and u can get e answer. If any nice ppl who have gotten their floor plan can upload to here will be the best. Only for ppl who hv selected their units shld be getting their floor plan.

yes, you are right... i am reading it based on my naked eyes. they do not provide scale so i cannot tell.

but based on the diagram, bedrooms are really larger. you may need to print it out if need be.

alizegirl

I just called up HDB to check on the application status for these past few days. MGPS (Multi Generation Priority Scheme) selection has been scheduled from 4 July to 10 July. So today will be the last day for the MGPS selection and tomorrow's queue number 55 will be back to the public :)
First queue time starts at 830am.
My SO and I will be selecting our unit tomorrow morning and hope we will be able to get the desired unit we want :s12:
I prefer BL as it will be near to both MRTs (upcoming bendemeer downtown line and Boon Keng Mrt). No doubt it will be noisier as compared to MT, but resale value for BL would be higher than MT for its centralize location, accessibility and most importantly, the view.
Downside of MT is the drain. I've been there at 12am and the pungent smell from the drain is quite unbearable... so to those who are choosing MT, i would recommend you guys not to choose the one facing the drain. It may seem nice on the map but in reality its just another drain isn't it?;)

keithster

I just called up HDB to check on the application status for these past few days. MGPS (Multi Generation Priority Scheme) selection has been scheduled from 4 July to 10 July. So today will be the last day for the MGPS selection and tomorrow's queue number 55 will be back to the public :)
My SO and I will be selecting our unit tomorrow morning and hope we will be able to get the desired unit we want :s12:
I prefer BL as it will be near to both MRTs (upcoming bendemeer downtown line and Boon Keng Mrt). No doubt it will be noisier as compared to MT, but resale value for BL would be higher than MT for its centralize location, accessibility and most importantly, the view.
Downside of MT is the drain. I've been there at 12am and the pungent smell from the drain is quite unbearable... so to those who are choosing MT, i would recommend you guys not to choose the one facing the drain. It may seem nice on the map but in reality its just another drain isn't it?;)

ohh... never know about the drain smell thing... thanks for the info.

will take note of it.

keithster

also congrats on the selection tmr for you and all the best too.

keithster

Alicegirl,

Just an important pointer about BL which you may not experience.

My wife and I went up to Level 40 of the CityView residence (which is just next BL facing the road). To our surprise, the noise is as loud as Level 1.

Since then I believe that noise really travels up which initially we do not really think so.

If you are going to pick BL, be prepared to face the noise level no matter which unit you pick. You will hear that traffic noise no matter what. The vehicle travelling noise, the horning especially in traffic junction. Do note.

Do not just believe what I say, climb up the CityView building and experience it yourself.

Do look out for elderly or people with insomnia problems cos the noise will further irritate their sleeps.

I think I better not continue otherwise many will start thinking that I am trying to discourage those BL chooser.

I really hope you people can make your choice carefully because a home is for us to stay peacefully and quietly and not to consider the amount of monetary returns in future in terms of investment. Who knows you may stay there for 10, 20 years or rest of your life.

Good luck!!

alizegirl

hey keithster thanks for your advice.
i went up to city view to experience it already.
guess im used to the noise as im currently staying on 2nd level. can hear all sorts of noise from traffic to neighbours baby crying..
so u're choosing MT?

AlfieH

Stats ending 9th July 2012:

Total MT Units Taken Up: 26
Total BL Units Taken Up: 7
Total Number Of Units Taken Up: 33
Last Queue Number Of The Day: 48
Number Of Drop Outs: 15
% Of Drop Outs: 31.25

Malay Quota Allowable: 197
Malay Quota Remaining: 196
Chinese Quota Allowable: 747
Chinese Quota Remaining: 718
Indian-Others Quota Allowable: 107
Indian-Others Quota Remaining: 105

Wow... I only happens to know that there are so many drop-outs... 31.25%

Thanks for the summary, doode!

AlfieH

guess im used to the noise as im currently staying on 2nd level. can hear all sorts of noise from traffic to neighbours baby crying..
so u're choosing MT?

Hi! Since you will be choosing tomm, any chance u can share the exact layout blueprints with us here? I guess many of us are perplexed at how MT's layout looks much bigger than BL when in fact, they are of the same size. :) all the best tomm - may u get ur desired unit! Good number, sia!

keithster

so u're choosing MT?

I know it sounds ironic but I am choosing BL.

My wife and I love all the benefits of MT but so sad that MT is more expensive than BL. We will be spending a lot on wedding dinner so would like to save on housing.

keithster

Afternoon Update for 10th July 2012:

MT, #15-230 Chinese
MT, #18-230 Chinese

For those who missed out the morning fun :p

mariachi

I know it sounds ironic but I am choosing BL.

My wife and I love all the benefits of MT but so sad that MT is more expensive than BL. We will be spending a lot on wedding dinner so would like to save on housing.

the difference in price between MT and BL is average of $30K (for the same floor). This will calculate to about $1500 difference for the 5% downpayment. And using HDB's instalment calculator, if u take HDB loan, the difference in monthly instalment is less than $100.

From this, affordability for MT is actually not far off from BL. If you think that $100 extra per month (probably using CPF too) is affordable and manageable, and u like MT, then u shld just go for MT..

keithster

the difference in price between MT and BL is average of $30K (for the same floor). This will calculate to about $1500 difference for the 5% downpayment. And using HDB's instalment calculator, if u take HDB loan, the difference in monthly instalment is less than $100.

From this, affordability for MT is actually not far off from BL. If you think that $100 extra per month (probably using CPF too) is affordable and manageable, and u like MT, then u shld just go for MT..

We thought about it already and we calculated that the additional amount in instalment does make a difference to us.

Probably starting a family is like that... everything gonna save.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.