Melbourne - Must buy/eat

beano

If you want supper, David hotpot in the city opens till 4am..

Awesom Andy

is it possible to share the food then? bc i know in certain country, they don't like the ideas of 2 sharing 1 food portion at their restaurants

It depends on the restaurant but most are fine with it. It also helps if there are more people - 2 pax sharing 1 meal would seem extremely stingy but nobody would care about 6 pax sharing 5.

beano

is it possible to share the food then? bc i know in certain country, they don't like the ideas of 2 sharing 1 food portion at their restaurants

Worse case there's always a take away option.:)

AL22DA

It depends on the restaurant but most are fine with it. It also helps if there are more people - 2 pax sharing 1 meal would seem extremely stingy but nobody would care about 6 pax sharing 5.

yeah, i can relate to the latter.
but there's only 2 of us :s13:

daveteo88

My experience with Aussie food is that yes their servings are all huge. Though the prices are easily $20+, it’s justified by the bigger portions.

Cannot finish leh. They do rike this is make one customer become two customer for them lor. Imagine if spore mcD Big mac become $16 per meal, and everything is double. Big Mac big big one and the beef also big big. French fries double quantity. Coke come in gigantic cup. U cannot finish your problem lor. They got two customers out of you liao.

daveteo88

U got see this post below or not? Two pax sharing $80 ++ is still bery sexpensive leh.

U want to overcharge ppl, but if they share, you say they stingy? So they must pay $80++ to please you so you dun say they stingy?

Me is go cbd famous restaurant place before/at 5pm n take their Chef menu, cost will be about $80++/pax

juxtaposition

AFAIK no min spent amt per pax
But places like the place selling Chinese dumpling got min/pax
9eSRPHo.jpg

pgN8Ezz.jpg

U got see this post below or not? Two pax sharing $80 ++ is still bery sexpensive leh.

U want to overcharge ppl, but if they share, you say they stingy? So they must pay $80++ to please you so you dun say they stingy?

beano

The Shanghai street dumpling, 2 person share dumpling quite reasonable.. and the one in the pic is always crowded, if you don't want to Q and have a better environment, go to the one at 360 Bourke st.

Awesom Andy

Unfortunately, common sense is not a mandatory requirement in opening restaurants.

seianko

My experience with Aussie food is that yes their servings are all huge. Though the prices are easily $20+, it’s justified by the bigger portions.
not for smaller places.

and it has been a new trend that food servings are getting smaller than it was compare to 15 years ago.
=============

as for 2 pax sharing 1 portion of food, it is possible. just dun go to resturant grade or expensive places where they hv a requirement written that everyone needs to order 1 main item. some places in the city have a minimum dollar value order requirement

seianko

not many ppl will or can afford to go meal places at 80++ per pax. those who do usually are high flyers. putting it in sg context, that will be a 7k per month take home salary ppl then will do that weekly.

again, thats an atas restaurant juxtaposition recommend. those places usually u have to order 1 main and 1 entre to share. but dependent on the size of serving. if it is fine dining, its not possible to share.

seianko

Worse case there's always a take away option.:)
using this post for extra info for readers

I usually use app such as home @ buy, easi, harkhark. these are takeaway app where they hv an option for you to self pick up in the shop without extra payment. but note that it may be sightly more expensive than u see in the shop.

IMHO, its not that bad, just 1-2 dollars extra, and i save time waiting n Q-ing just to order. for delivery i prefer home @ buy. but easi have english /chinese language option. easi also do personal shopping for you in local supermarket-coles, in the city.

harkhark delivery charges can be very rubber and they charge u for any payment option, so i dun like them.

apps such as ubereat, menulog, deliveroo dun have self collect option .

juxtaposition

:s22:
KqTjAcP.jpg

Eat this $12

not many ppl will or can afford to go meal places at 80++ per pax. those who do usually are high flyers. putting it in sg context, that will be a 7k per month take home salary ppl then will do that weekly.

again, thats an atas restaurant juxtaposition recommend. those places usually u have to order 1 main and 1 entre to share. but dependent on the size of serving. if it is fine dining, its not possible to share.

AL22DA

yeah,i understand, being a small eater :look: but people are still running a business after all :spin:

Cannot finish leh. They do rike this is make one customer become two customer for them lor. Imagine if spore mcD Big mac become $16 per meal, and everything is double. Big Mac big big one and the beef also big big. French fries double quantity. Coke come in gigantic cup. U cannot finish your problem lor. They got two customers out of you liao.

AL22DA

Cool! i will definitely check this place out as well!

The Shanghai street dumpling, 2 person share dumpling quite reasonable.. and the one in the pic is always crowded, if you don't want to Q and have a better environment, go to the one at 360 Bourke st.

AL22DA

using this post for extra info for readers

I usually use app such as home @ buy, easi, harkhark. these are takeaway app where they hv an option for you to self pick up in the shop without extra payment. but note that it may be sightly more expensive than u see in the shop.

IMHO, its not that bad, just 1-2 dollars extra, and i save time waiting n Q-ing just to order. for delivery i prefer home @ buy. but easi have english /chinese language option. easi also do personal shopping for you in local supermarket-coles, in the city.

harkhark delivery charges can be very rubber and they charge u for any payment option, so i dun like them.

apps such as ubereat, menulog, deliveroo dun have self collect option .

definitely saving this down, if i feel lazy to dine out, want to dine in my own comfort lol :s13: or for my other trips to Melbourne ;)

thank you :D

seianko

:s22:
KqTjAcP.jpg

Eat this $12
80$ i can feed 3 meals for family of 2 for 1 week, if I plan carefully still have spare change of $10 for that week

just that i m v cheapo and dun have massively backed resources... =(

beano

That day first time using uberEats, had $30 voucher.. got a free meal for 2 pax

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.