Mercs GLB180 vs GLB200

sglandscape

I prefer the looks of glb over eqb though.
It's quite a personal subjective thing.
And I don't think sg is fully ready for EV yet. I'm still waiting to make sure it is safe (no reports of battery fire, etc)
The GLB does look less boxy though. On battery safety, the Chinese EV with LFP tech likely the safest, most of the other brands still using NMC that will go up in flames if it rupture.

esandwich

Yup, if I cannot afford a luxury car I will say the same thing to save my own pride.

Luxury items are here for a reason.

Same as why people want to stay in condo, landed and people staying in HDB criticise them. People eating cai peng also bash people who eat dtf.

Actually, unless you are wearing leaf and staying in a cave and a freegan life, we are all trapped in lifestyle inflation to various degree based on financial abilities.

I don't find anything sad about it as long as you live within your means . The only sad thing is when you become salty about others who can afford more than you.

It is very funny because I'm asking about an entry level car and people who bash me for buying a "cheap" luxury car.
When I disclose slightly about my current status, people start to bash me for buying a branded car for face.

My thread was never about whether to buy a glb versus other brands of 7-seater.
I'm really asking people who have experience and knowledge of AD and PI glb to share more. That's all.
You are getting very defensive about your car purchase.
since when I said about affordability or dissing your choice. I only think what kind of friends or relatives will judge a person by their choice of car.

sglandscape

since when I said about affordability or dissing your choice. I only think what kind of friends or relatives will judge a person by their choice of car.
Most people in SG don't know anything about cars aside for the brand 😂 end of the day be satisfied with ones purchase is the most important since you'll be the one using it daily.

LoUsyGamER

Pls see my first post.

I was very clear asking about the difference between AD and PI glb.
I specifically say people who have experience with either can share.

Then all the jokers come in say what GLB is not real mercs, what must buy at least C, E, S, Maybach for Mercedes, etc. Got one guy even boosted how he drive 160kmh in bke and talked about performance vehicle when it is irrelevant to my thread.

In the first place I don't need their advice and neither do I think they drive any of those mercedes before.

As people ask more and I revealed my current car and status, people start to bash me buying glb for face lol.

So I must buy a korean car or skoda because it is better "value"? Or to be down to earth and make edmwers happy?

I find it more amusing than annoyed actually.

Same for you. You didn't read my first post and just bash.
I saw your first post, asking GLB. I'm not questioning your preference of GLB or other cars.

If you list down like must be GLB (no other car), warranty coverage, downpaynent options, loan options and etc, it will be more specific and lesser of people recommending other brands or models.

fulaien

There's the general sentiments that the A and B series are meant to capture a particular market segment and that strategy by Merc meant that A and B series come with certain compromises. Right or wrong, that's what some people think. Whether those opinion matters to you or not, it's for you to decide.

Slow in this context refers to the drive. Most cars can reach >110km/h. It's just how long and how hard. You don't need a fast car but a car with slow pick up can be quite annoying to drive. Again, that depends on the individual. If that does not bother you, good and well.

You will probably not buy a Kodiaq because of the badge, and not the price, and I think a resale Kodiaq (the 2L variant) is still priced lower than a GLB180. I could be wrong here.

PS. I think it's perfectly fine to state that you are only looking at these makes Audi/BMW/Merc given your job/profession or simply just your 'wants'.
Thanks for logically explaining things.

I dont really care about the opinions of people who bash entry level luxury cars, because their opinions is that people who buy A, B are poor posers who cannot afford C, E, S. I know i can well afford any of them if I want to.

I have driven for more than 20 years and my first car is a nissan sunny. I never felt that I cannot keep up with traffic even in expressway with that car. If need to i can floor. And as I get older and with family my driving is much less aggressive now. If I want speed I probably get an ev.

I agree brand is one thing, another is also uncommon brands is hard to get parts when spoiled. Again probably moot point since mercs parts will still be more expensive. And my missus will probably be pikachu shocked if I buy a skoda

fulaien

I'm not defensive, I'm responding to your post below.
Wah this is quite sad…buy a car also need to see face value.

As you can see, people are judgey, yourself included. I got judged to be "sad and buy car also need to see face value" by nameless strangers because I asked about a entry level mercs.

fulaien

I saw your first post, asking GLB. I'm not questioning your preference of GLB or other cars.

If you list down like must be GLB (no other car), warranty coverage, downpaynent options, loan options and etc, it will be more specific and lesser of people recommending other brands or models.
I think I am clear enough.

People will bash and say what they want no matter how clearly I state.

TopGun

Thanks for logically explaining things.

I dont really care about the opinions of people who bash entry level luxury cars, because their opinions is that people who buy A, B are poor posers who cannot afford C, E, S. I know i can well afford any of them if I want to.

I have driven for more than 20 years my first car is a nissan sunny. I never felt that I cannot keep up with traffic even in expressway. If need to i can floor. And as I get older and with family my driving is much less aggressive now. If I want speed I probably get an ev.

I agree brand is one thing, another is also uncommon brands is hard to get parts when spoiled. Again probably most point since mercs parts will still be more expensive. And my missus will probably be pikachu shocked if I buy a skoda

I think that the 'informal benchmark' places the C class and 3 series as a proper conti worthy of the brand and it's association with luxury and class. And naturally, you get comments that posers drive a base A/B 1/2 series. I guess there's some truth in it, given that for the same price, one can get better value in other makes, and the presumption being that a person chose <insert negative reason> over something of better value.

I admit that crossed my mind. I ended up with a full-spec VW group car because I cannot afford the equivalent (BHP, trim level) of an Audi/BMW/Merc, so I rather not make do with an entry level model.

Again, not talking about raw speed. It's the ability to get up to speed that matters. That boils down to personal preference however. Hearing the engine strains and groan each time I accelerates irks me lol.

Back to your question. Frankly, I don't think $$ is really an issue to you so even IF you regret your purchase, there's no stopping you from changing out your GLB in a year or two, and go with the higher spec since you can afford it. Time is also money for you, and at your life stage, you trade money for time so find an agent serviced resale and be prepared to pay the premium to service at AD, as contis are generally more finicky.

Dudick

After reading some of the posts here, surprised that despite how highly educated sinkies are, there still how should I say, ignorant people here. No wonder still got many kanna scammed.

The so call A and B class are not Mercedes bcos using Renault engine is so should I say nonsense. Even Rolex use non-inhouse movement for their Daytona last time

The simple reason why Mercs use Renault engine is bcos Mercedes produce mainly big engine system like rear wheel and 4 wheel drive system. They need a small front wheel drive engine for the small engine segment and it is very costly to build from the ground up. After doing market research, they chose the Renault bcos they are able to customize the engine enough to make it become a Mercs. u don’t go to Renault to service your A and B class mercs right? I am sure in the future if not for EV, chances are Merc will be able to come up with a full inhouse small front wheel drive engine. Also the reason why A and B are cheaper is simply because the engine is smaller and not because they are not Mercs. If u are able to fit in a V8 inside GLB, i am sure it will be expensive as well. When go for badges u look at the full packages. Like iphone, it is the IOS ecosystem. For Mercs, it is the MBUX, Gear shift on steering wheel and safety system etc. No such things as cheap Mercs is not pure Mercs

In fact their gear shift on steering wheel is so consistent in all mercs model that even some other brand like BMW and Audi also cannot match because their gear shift is different among the models

Anyway, I had driven s-class, e-class, GLC and GLB before and all I can say is the performance is expected because of their price point, but overall driving experience is consistent throughout the model in terms of control and dashboard layout. And MBUX is still one of the best out there if not the best I had used so far

In fact GLB is designed by Mercs for city driving due to the start stop nature of city driving ( many traffic lights) so it is a very good car to use in Singapore

TUV2008

After reading some of the posts here, surprised that despite how highly educated sinkies are, there still how should I say, ignorant people here. No wonder still got many kanna scammed.

The so call A and B class are not Mercedes bcos using Renault engine is so should I say nonsense. Even Rolex use non-inhouse movement for their Daytona last time

The simple reason why Mercs use Renault engine is bcos Mercedes produce mainly big engine system like rear wheel and 4 wheel drive system. They need a small front wheel drive engine for the small engine segment and it is very costly to build from the ground up. After doing market research, they chose the Renault bcos they are able to customize the engine enough to make it become a Mercs. u don’t go to Renault to service your A and B class mercs right? I am sure in the future if not for EV, chances are Merc will be able to come up with a full inhouse small front wheel drive engine. Also the reason why A and B are cheaper is simply because the engine is smaller and not because they are not Mercs. If u are able to fit in a V8 inside GLB, i am sure it will be expensive as well. When go for badges u look at the full packages. Like iphone, it is the IOS ecosystem. For Mercs, it is the MBUX, Gear shift on steering wheel and safety system etc. No such things as cheap Mercs is not pure Mercs

In fact their gear shift on steering wheel is so consistent in all mercs model that even some other brand like BMW and Audi also cannot match because their gear shift is different among the models

Anyway, I had driven s-class, e-class, GLC and GLB before and all I can say is the performance is expected because of their price point, but overall driving experience is consistent throughout the model in terms of control and dashboard layout. And MBUX is still one of the best out there if not the best I had used so far

What you said is spot on 👏👏👏

Buying a car is not buying the engine. It is the total driving experience.

In a reverse scenario, I remember Merc engines are used on one Korean made car also, so will it make the Korean car buyer feels better they are indeed buying a Mercedes car…. Ironically, despite that Korean maker openly claimed the car uses Mercedes engine it did not sell well.

LoUsyGamER

What you said is spot on 👏👏👏

Buying a car is not buying the engine. It is the total driving experience.

In a reverse scenario, I remember Merc engines are used on one Korean made car also, so will it make the Korean car buyer feels better they are indeed buying a Mercedes car…. Ironically, despite that Korean maker openly claimed the car uses Mercedes engine it did not sell well.
Think the engine conversation was because it is a Renault engine. If it is a Toyota engine, people will say it is very good, must buy. The stigma is there.

TUV2008

Think the engine conversation was because it is a Renault engine. If it is a Toyota engine, people will say it is very good, must buy. The stigma is there.

No, I don’t think so the same group of people can accept buying a Merc with a Toyota engine. 🤣… they will only silence if the Merc comes with a Porsche engine

LoUsyGamER

No, I don’t think so the same group of people can accept buying a Merc with a Toyota engine. 🤣… they will only silence if the Merc comes with a Porsche engine
With a lexus badge. Haha. Depends which porsche engine or vw engine

TopGun

In fact GLB is designed by Mercs for city driving due to the start stop nature of city driving ( many traffic lights) so it is a very good car to use in Singapore
Well there is a variant with 2L T engine designed and manufactured by MB.

Phongchi

T5 is their inline 5?
~ 240hp n 350nm?
Nope. All volvos now are standard 4 cyc. They have stopped using T2, T4 etc, the "T". Current Volvos are badged using "B", like B4, B5. Only exception is the Volvo XC60 T8 recharge which is a PHEV.

B4 has 194 hp and 221 torq. B5 higher at 249 hp and 350 torq.

No need to compare engine spec to any of the BBA to Volvo. GLA/GLB, BMW X1, Q3 to XC40. GLC, BMW X3 and Audi Q5 to XC 60. Or, even Merc E200 and 520 to S90. The result will be embarrassing.

niefeng80

I will suggest the Volvo suvs. Better built safer interior good and of cos more powerful then that 2 above.
Fully agreed on the solid built of Volvo. Except the depreciation now is catching up with Mercedes and also the parts are expensive.

Edixfan

TS don’t be sad. Looking at the depreciation of used GLBs, I think it’s pretty good value leh. So many on the market maybe can get one for about $18k depreciation, which would be similar to a Noah. Merc is not all about face lah. Merc quality generally quite good, at least better than BMW and Audi

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.