Mercs GLB180 vs GLB200

SquallLH

After reading some of the posts here, surprised that despite how highly educated sinkies are, there still how should I say, ignorant people here. No wonder still got many kanna scammed.

The so call A and B class are not Mercedes bcos using Renault engine is so should I say nonsense. Even Rolex use non-inhouse movement for their Daytona last time

The simple reason why Mercs use Renault engine is bcos Mercedes produce mainly big engine system like rear wheel and 4 wheel drive system. They need a small front wheel drive engine for the small engine segment and it is very costly to build from the ground up. After doing market research, they chose the Renault bcos they are able to customize the engine enough to make it become a Mercs. u don’t go to Renault to service your A and B class mercs right? I am sure in the future if not for EV, chances are Merc will be able to come up with a full inhouse small front wheel drive engine. Also the reason why A and B are cheaper is simply because the engine is smaller and not because they are not Mercs. If u are able to fit in a V8 inside GLB, i am sure it will be expensive as well. When go for badges u look at the full packages. Like iphone, it is the IOS ecosystem. For Mercs, it is the MBUX, Gear shift on steering wheel and safety system etc. No such things as cheap Mercs is not pure Mercs

In fact their gear shift on steering wheel is so consistent in all mercs model that even some other brand like BMW and Audi also cannot match because their gear shift is different among the models

Anyway, I had driven s-class, e-class, GLC and GLB before and all I can say is the performance is expected because of their price point, but overall driving experience is consistent throughout the model in terms of control and dashboard layout. And MBUX is still one of the best out there if not the best I had used so far

In fact GLB is designed by Mercs for city driving due to the start stop nature of city driving ( many traffic lights) so it is a very good car to use in Singapore

Highly educated does not mean people can't be ignorant of matters they're not familiar with. Also, not just sinkies think this way about A/B/GLA/B but it's the wider Mercedes community in reddit/MBWorld/MBF. Purists will always argue that "premium" german makes (Audi not included) should be at least RWD and in house engines so MB taking the economical route of sourcing renault engines will always be a stigma regardless how anyone spins it.

It's the same as Toyota using BMW engines for Supra, motor journalists/purists/general public will always call it a BMW Supra because the "heart" of that vehicle is imported from another make and not developed by Toyota. This exposes that Toyota did not have a good performance engine that's cost effective enough previously, Which is same for MB that didn't have an efficient low displacement engine.

Also, if you're comparing MB against BMW, MB's "DNA" has always more been comfort over trying to be a driver's car like BMW but it's gonna be hard pressed to find the comfort in A/B/GLA/B range. There's a reason why in Europe, this range is meant to target the students/young adults in hope that they move up to E/S/etc series when they grow up.

Lastly, you can't beat EVs' efficiency in city driving (i.e. start/stop traffic) but that's not what TS priorities.

End day, the general public sentiments still matters esp. if you're planning to sell the car subsequently unless the plan is to keep the car for good till end of COE.

kaixin18

@Dudick you're the only one who made any sense in the 20 pages i read. can recommend which workshop in SG or MY you go to for your merc repairs and servicing? what do you think about gla180 and 200 urban edition? i saw a few of those on sgcarmart for about 2 months now but no one has bought them yet. any idea why?

SquallLH

Think the engine conversation was because it is a Renault engine. If it is a Toyota engine, people will say it is very good, must buy. The stigma is there.

No, I don’t think so the same group of people can accept buying a Merc with a Toyota engine. 🤣… they will only silence if the Merc comes with a Porsche engine

End day, the public sentiment of C&C MB cars at even 7-9 years years old being more reliable and has value retention over Audi/BMW/Volvo shows when you look at the preowned market.
You can have the best driver's car like Alfa Romeo but if public sentiments are bad then their ADs also have to say sayonara :s13:

Same goes for BYD, where public sentiments have changed in regards to China EVs. I still recall the time when BYD offers unlimited free electric charging at their charging stations at JW and Bishan, the take up was still crap and they exited the SG market subsequently. 6-9 years later, how things and sentiments have changed :s13:

TS don’t be sad. Looking at the depreciation of used GLBs, I think it’s pretty good value leh. So many on the market maybe can get one for about $18k depreciation, which would be similar to a Noah. Merc is not all about face lah. Merc quality generally quite good, at least better than BMW and Audi

I don't think TS cares so much about the sentiments here since he already said he's asking about the diff for AD and Non-AD MB and I think he got his answer already :s13:

fulaien

I think that the 'informal benchmark' places the C class and 3 series as a proper conti worthy of the brand and it's association with luxury and class. And naturally, you get comments that posers drive a base A/B 1/2 series. I guess there's some truth in it, given that for the same price, one can get better value in other makes, and the presumption being that a person chose <insert negative reason> over something of better value.

I admit that crossed my mind. I ended up with a full-spec VW group car because I cannot afford the equivalent (BHP, trim level) of an Audi/BMW/Merc, so I rather not make do with an entry level model.

Again, not talking about raw speed. It's the ability to get up to speed that matters. That boils down to personal preference however. Hearing the engine strains and groan each time I accelerates irks me lol.

Back to your question. Frankly, I don't think $$ is really an issue to you so even IF you regret your purchase, there's no stopping you from changing out your GLB in a year or two, and go with the higher spec since you can afford it. Time is also money for you, and at your life stage, you trade money for time so find an agent serviced resale and be prepared to pay the premium to service at AD, as contis are generally more finicky.
Thank you for the sensible post.

Long time ago, before there was A/B class, 1/2 series, the then entry level C class, 3 series was seen by some as poser and only people not able to afford the "real luxury car", ie. E class, 5 series buy.

The sentiments shifted when a even cheaper category of cars were created (eg. A/B, 1/2, and even A1 A3 for audi).

Now they become the new cars for "posers who cannot afford real cars".
That might make sense when coe was low and these cars were like 120, 130k.

With the coe price now, most of these cars are 200k, hardly something people can afford with spare change.

And people will bash no matter what. You drive audi people say it's a VW. You drive a full spec VW people can bash you cannot afford an Audi or why you buy a car with unreliable electric system, you could have used the money to buy a reliable Toyota, etc...

I'm fine with the BHP of GLB, if not I could have gotten a GLB35. To me, I really don't need the power and its expensive. Maybe if I buy a GLB180 and then rebadged to GLB35 and mod the exterior to look like one, people can call me a poser.

Trim level of entry level mercs is ok. Not as good as the higher spec ones of course, but you get what you pay for. Tbh I think the mbux and screens and overall interior of mercs are really not bad even at entry level.

Yes you are right, I can change the car according to my needs and it will probably cost more to service than my lexus now.

I'm happy how this thread turn up. There are actually many hidden experts here, amongst the anonymous jokers. I've learnt quite alot from them.

fulaien

Think the engine conversation was because it is a Renault engine. If it is a Toyota engine, people will say it is very good, must buy. The stigma is there.
Hmm my experience is that alot of people think Toyota cars and engines are boring and uninspiring, despite being reliable.

There are people (who think they know cars) told me I'm stupid for paying so much to drive a Toyota (I'm driving a Es300h).

My response is that I love that it has Toyota reliability with added luxury comfort.

So yes, people generally look down on Toyota, sadly

fulaien

I prefer not to get a PI model because

1) it’s harder to sell;
2) maintenance wise it’s not by C&C and doesn’t have the same type of diagnostics affecting 1)
3) if you’re coming from a Lexus the second hand maintenance for merc will be more expensive after the 4th year so be prepared for it
4) glb isn’t that popular so the parts not necessary easier to find

I suggest going with a C&C model but definitely amg line is only Pi you can’t get that in c&c
Thanks for the tips.
For point 4, I thought it's very popular. There's so many in resale market. And i often see them on roads. Like the new facelifted 4 bars grill one, just came out and I saw a few on roads already

SquallLH

Hmm my experience is that alot of people think Toyota cars and engines are boring and uninspiring, despite being reliable.

There are people (who think they know cars) told me I'm stupid for paying so much to drive a Toyota (I'm driving a Es300h).

My response is that I love that it has Toyota reliability with added luxury comfort.

those folks saying that about Lexus will prob say that driving Porsche Macan is like pay more money to drive Q5 :s13:

puzzle

I had a E class from C&C before
I now GLA180 PI.
In between all Jap models with AD.

I would say go for AD, pay a bit of premium its ok if $ its not an issue.

TS - if 7 seater is not a must, GLC is better. i drove before.
I regretted on GLA180, most likely change 1-2 years later cause it feels so "small".

TUV2008

I now GLA180 PI.

I regretted on GLA180, most likely change 1-2 years later cause it feels so "small".

You sure PI got GLA180? May be the older model not the existing one. The existing one only AD has the 180

fulaien

After reading some of the posts here, surprised that despite how highly educated sinkies are, there still how should I say, ignorant people here. No wonder still got many kanna scammed.

The so call A and B class are not Mercedes bcos using Renault engine is so should I say nonsense. Even Rolex use non-inhouse movement for their Daytona last time

The simple reason why Mercs use Renault engine is bcos Mercedes produce mainly big engine system like rear wheel and 4 wheel drive system. They need a small front wheel drive engine for the small engine segment and it is very costly to build from the ground up. After doing market research, they chose the Renault bcos they are able to customize the engine enough to make it become a Mercs. u don’t go to Renault to service your A and B class mercs right? I am sure in the future if not for EV, chances are Merc will be able to come up with a full inhouse small front wheel drive engine. Also the reason why A and B are cheaper is simply because the engine is smaller and not because they are not Mercs. If u are able to fit in a V8 inside GLB, i am sure it will be expensive as well. When go for badges u look at the full packages. Like iphone, it is the IOS ecosystem. For Mercs, it is the MBUX, Gear shift on steering wheel and safety system etc. No such things as cheap Mercs is not pure Mercs

In fact their gear shift on steering wheel is so consistent in all mercs model that even some other brand like BMW and Audi also cannot match because their gear shift is different among the models

Anyway, I had driven s-class, e-class, GLC and GLB before and all I can say is the performance is expected because of their price point, but overall driving experience is consistent throughout the model in terms of control and dashboard layout. And MBUX is still one of the best out there if not the best I had used so far

In fact GLB is designed by Mercs for city driving due to the start stop nature of city driving ( many traffic lights) so it is a very good car to use in Singapore
Great post @Dudick!

It takes 20 pages to draw out an expert and someone who has experience with difference mercs to teach people real useful information, and its worth it.

Agreed with you on control and mbux. I think few makes can compare. I used to like Audi interior until they stagnated in recent 10 years.

Tbh I never think so much about the engine since I know it's an entry level fwd car and meant to ferry family and not race others. Your point about renault engine really slap those who keep bashing glb for it's engine. I couldn't articulate it better.

fulaien

I now GLA180 PI.

Sadly 7 seater is a must.
I need to carry 6 (including myself) occasionally.

I know glc is much better.
I love that it is less boxy esp the glc coupe

fulaien

TS don’t be sad. Looking at the depreciation of used GLBs, I think it’s pretty good value leh. So many on the market maybe can get one for about $18k depreciation, which would be similar to a Noah. Merc is not all about face lah. Merc quality generally quite good, at least better than BMW and Audi
Haha i know people bash me for looking at resale. And honestly I have never bought resale before (my previous jap cars all bought brand new).

I'm open to both brand new or resale if the price makes sense, but actually I prefer the pre-facelift version which can only buy resale? My preference in terms of exterior looks is single bar amg line > 2 bars progressive > 4 bars face-lift.

I already compromise with a boxy shape which i don't like, at least let me choose a face i like right?

fulaien

those folks saying that about Lexus will prob say that driving Porsche Macan is like pay more money to drive Q5 :s13:
These same folks will also bash Lambo Urus as a fancy RS Q8 when they probably cannot afford either.

puzzle

Haha i know people bash me for looking at resale. And honestly I have never bought resale before (my previous jap cars all bought brand new).

I'm open to both brand new or resale if the price makes sense, but actually I prefer the pre-facelift version which can only buy resale? My preference in terms of exterior looks is single bar amg line > 2 bars progressive > 4 bars face-lift.

I already compromise with a boxy shape which i don't like, at least let me choose a face i like ri
Sadly 7 seater is a must.
I need to carry 6 (including myself) occasionally.

I know glc is much better.
I love that it is less boxy esp the glc coupe
Then no choice. GLB already.
If you carry so many people, i feel GLB200 better or else the "drag" is there.

I looking at GLC for myself though...

SuperClubby

Between these two... GLB200 for me, although both are the same engines with different state of tune, although you can just get the 180 and do a stage 1. The extra torque is nice to have once you load it up fully.

Just don't like the drivetrain pairing for these A series MBs which is fairly jerky at low speeds, especially so if you're coming from a Lexus. Once you bring up the speed, it's okay. Some of the interior plastics is kinda meh when you start touching downwards. So far hasn't seen much issues yet with these models other than usual electrical issue, hoses and clock spring.

eeLoyH

I’m driving an ES as well, moved from a merc previously.

I prefer Japanese attention to detail and ride comfort.

only cons are really the ride height is too low front and back; and the turning radius is pretty crap. Apart from that not much complaints.

SquallLH

Then no choice. GLB already.
If you carry so many people, i feel GLB200 better or else the "drag" is there.

I looking at GLC for myself though...

Between these two... GLB200 for me, although both are the same engines with different state of tune, although you can just get the 180 and do a stage 1. The extra torque is nice to have once you load it up fully.

Just don't like the drivetrain pairing for these A series MBs which is fairly jerky at low speeds, especially so if you're coming from a Lexus. Once you bring up the speed, it's okay. Some of the interior plastics is kinda meh when you start touching downwards. So far hasn't seen much issues yet with these models other than usual electrical issue, hoses and clock spring.

Doesn't make sense to go GLB200 when you can stay at Cat A COE with the GLB180 and tune up to GLB200 since same engine for both, when reselling it after it's close to end of its COE, the next buyer could still renew based on Cat A instead of Cat B.

I had the same problem previously when driving B200 where my resale value wasn't that much higher than a B180 and potential buyers were lower due to this consideration.

The main issue with the MB DCT-7S is jerkiness at gear 1-2 lor and hesitancy in shifting when you don't accel hard, bo bian de :s13: VW 6S DSG still the best for entry level contis, smooth like butter 🥲

fulaien

Doesn't make sense to go GLB200 when you can stay at Cat A COE with the GLB180 and tune up to GLB200 since same engine for both, when reselling it after it's close to end of its COE, the next buyer could still renew based on Cat A instead of Cat B.

I had the same problem previously when driving B200 where my resale value wasn't that much higher than a B180 and potential buyers were lower due to this consideration.

The main issue with the MB DCT-7S is jerkiness at gear 1-2 lor and hesitancy in shifting when you don't accel hard, bo bian de :s13: VW 6S DSG still the best for entry level contis, smooth like butter 🥲
Oh I didnt realise that AD GLB180 is cat A while PL GLB200 is cat B.

The resale price in sgcarmart is quite similar for both. I guess this means PI is significantly cheaper for it's cat B car to price close to cat A car.

I don't think I will renew coe though, so it might not affect me that much.

I'm not too concerned abt performance so probably won't stage 1 tune if I get GLB180. Unless it's really slow to the point of being dangerous.

SquallLH

Oh I didnt realise that AD GLB180 is cat A while PL GLB200 is cat B.

The resale price in sgcarmart is quite similar for both. I guess this means PI is significantly cheaper for it's cat B car to price close to cat A car.

I don't think I will renew coe though, so it might not affect me that much.

I'm not too concerned abt performance so probably won't stage 1 tune if I get GLB180. Unless it's really slow to the point of being dangerous.

Yup, so you have your answer why the PI GLB200 price is so close to the GLB180 because more demand for C&C(adoption fee consideration) GLB180 and tune up (500-800?) after warranty over.
The renewal of COE is more if you intend to sell/trade your car but if you're serious about driving it till scrap then it doesn't matter I guess.

As for tuning, it depends on individual drivers but I appreciate the extra HP and torque on my old B200 esp. when I'm hurling full load (i.e. 5 pax + grocery/ikea furniture) :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.