Microsoft Surface

LouisLoh

Ok here's a question.

can play Marvel's:Avenger Alliance on the explorer of Microsoft Surface or not?

I bought my Transformers Prime because I can play Facebook games on the go mah ... :p

Its a flash game right. Think RT browser added flash support some time ago, so it should play the game just fine.

If you get Windows 8 Pro version, theres absolutely no reason to worry, you can install your favourite browser and play any games like on the current Windows (or even Mac) machine you're playing on.

tt32003

DIY tablets could be the thing of the future

u can buy OEM windows 8 or free android from the "clouds", choose a ARM or Intel processor + mainboard bundle, battery, LCD, SSD, many colour keyboard, battery pack and casing

mobile computing is getting more powerful and using less power

keekeekee :s13:

Don't even have DIY laptop yet how to have DIY tablet ?

uncle168

if i remembered correctly, there was DIY laptops 8 years ago in SLS, when it was pirated CD paradise

i think about 2-3 shops allow customer to customise the parts because a simple laptop then cost $3-5K

a few years back think got DIY servers

now laptop is so cheap, no reason to DIY plus DIY laptop although can be very powerful but is too bulky

young man never say never, next time maybe got DIY smartphone neh

http://www.engadget.com/2012/06/07/mk802-android-4-0-mini-pc-hands-on-impressions/

keekeekee :s22:

ST20120622-B28-Microsoftstabletlookslikeawinner.png

kennyboy

Straits Times reporting is fail. Hardly any information, and it only got a weeeeeee little corner on page A15. Not even written by ST.

Digital Life even better. Today's issue was 90% Apple, 5% Razer and 5% Coffee.

You know it's a sad day when people kpkb about the Straits Times being crappy for not printing about MS news and then suddenly rely on them when ST prints something positive on MS. :D

Fail is fail all the way I guess? :D

ClockWork

i read digitalife once in a while to have a lol @ their pathetic and WOLS reviews

sG_KYo

You know it's a sad day when people kpkb about the Straits Times being crappy for not printing about MS news and then suddenly rely on them when ST prints something positive on MS. :D

Fail is fail all the way I guess? :D

dude, the point here is ... LOOKS like a Winner. Not a winning formula ...

GC is quite good with her words in this sense.

kennyboy

dude, the point here is ... LOOKS like a Winner. Not a winning formula ...

GC is quite good with her words in this sense.
So she should have written "Microsoft's tablet looks like a loser"? Depending on POV, it means the same thing as what is printed there - glass half full/empty. :)

Come on....even Nostradamus don't dare to say it WILL be a winner lor. :D What did you expect her to write? The contents of the article is already damn generous liao.

I bet even ReignOfComputer don't dare to bet his balls that the Surface will be a surefire hit. :)

mocax

when will windows 8 pro version come out? :s11:

my laptop now no battery... can only use indoors.... :(

poisondrone

Surface Pro version works for sales people who need computing on the go, the key questions remain for Microsoft 's Surface is Mobile Connectivity options and battery life. if battery life can last about iPad battery life...its a winner...lol. SHUT UP & TAKE MY $$$$ hehe ;P

sG_KYo

Ahem ... price is "leaked" ...

A bit on the high side don't you think?

Microsoft Surface Models Priced at $599 for RT and $999 for Pro

Especially considering the rumours that it is a Wifi only version. Not that I cannot live with it, since i have been living with TFP for the last 5 months without 3G and always tethering.

TFP for sale, anyone want? LOL!
Ok seriously, Microsoft Surface Pro needs to bring down by USD350 ... PRONTO!

kennyboy

So many bozos want them to price below ipad...Apple already has economy of scale on their side, for MS to price even below them would be to make a huge loss. :(

sG_KYo

So many bozos want them to price below ipad...Apple already has economy of scale on their side, for MS to price even below them would be to make a huge loss. :(

Haiya! Got threshold one mah.

With 3G - Threshold is 1.2K SGD Max
Without 3G - Threshold is 900 SGD Max

Must also do budgetting mah ...

Though I am asking myself over and over again, why the higher price?

NFC? TypeCover? ... what else?

kennyboy

Haiya! Got threshold one mah.

With 3G - Threshold is 1.2K SGD Max
Without 3G - Threshold is 900 SGD Max

Must also do budgetting mah ...

Though I am asking myself over and over again, why the higher price?

NFC? TypeCover? ... what else?
Look at this gem from the comments in ur link. :D

The RT needs to be competitive with the cheapest iPad (v2 at $399) and the Pro with the most expensive @ $699 it doesn't matter that they can do more and have better spec - that's what they need to draw people away from a slick, sexy, tried and tested product that your mates will envy. If the price is more than an iPad they may as well not even bother manufacturing them. No one will pay more nor these, not a chance...

That's like at most S$510 for the RT, S$900 for the Pro.
But what to expect, it's human nature. :D

mocax

since they're making the hardware.... it's possible that they'll sell at loss and hope to make up for it via the native app licenses.... :o

unless the OEMs start suing MS for anti-competitive practices.... :crazy:

s7460597

Microsoft is using the pro version to attract and retain the corporate segment and hopefully attract prosumers. Corporate budget and requirements are different from consumers. Should MS be successful in doing this, a market share taken from Apple and Google would be a bonus.

sG_KYo

Microsoft is using the pro version to attract and retain the corporate segment and hopefully attract prosumers. Corporate budget and requirements are different from consumers. Should MS be successful in doing this, a market share taken from Apple and Google would be a bonus.

Ok, I am looking for the perspective that everything needs to be balanced (and hardly a MS Fanboy) like how the Covenant of Primus taught us that Unicron and Primus is the balance of good and evil ...

But by the matrix, the Dark energon known as iPad and Android Tablet has already ran deep within a lot of companies, especially iPads in financial sectors ....

So wouldn't that be a long shot?

roflolmao

Ok, I am looking for the perspective that everything needs to be balanced (and hardly a MS Fanboy) like how the Covenant of Primus taught us that Unicron and Primus is the balance of good and evil ...

But by the matrix, the Dark energon known as iPad and Android Tablet has already ran deep within a lot of companies, especially iPads in financial sectors ....

So wouldn't that be a long shot?

the pro version uses windows 8. you could probably use alot of windows stuff on it like a normal computer. and the usb port will be very useful.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.