Mid-Career Dilemma: Is Moving into Management the Only Way to Progress? 🤷🏻‍♂️

Optrex

u don't want to go up, u also have to go up. they will load u with so much that the work u do will force u to take on the responsibilities of managers. whether those ppl are directly under u or indirectly cos u need to collaborate is another story. Just move up lah. u want to be IC, how to go far? and u are doing a lot anyway. it is better to have power to go along with responsibilities instead of having responsibilities alone. Just choose the lesser evil.

Soracak

Why need to go management? Non-management role already can easily earn 10k. Not good enough? Use the free time to do other stuff if needed. Not gonna check emails at night or weekend man.

A lot of people feel insecure and behkan if they don't promote. Too bad for them lol.

I think this is correct and sound advice.

Mephist0pheLes

To wat extend u wan to be an individual contributor? Would u okay to be a team lead, if not a dept head?

I am also facing similar dilemma. While Im quite sure I don't wan to be a dept head if the time comes, I'm not so sure whether Im okay with being a team lead

Soracak

sorry hor, when u promote u go into middle manager role, and thats where most companies are chopping now

Thats a rhetorical question la my point is u dun go mgmt. And u dun want to climb to the point where u r way too expensive as an engineer. U got 10k celery dun push to 15+k. Do yr side biz, whatever.

EdenHazard

If not during cny, when relative ask about job is very lao kui if still not mgmt

Soracak

u don't want to go up, u also have to go up. they will load u with so much that the work u do will force u to take on the responsibilities of managers. whether those ppl are directly under u or indirectly cos u need to collaborate is another story. Just move up lah. u want to be IC, how to go far? and u are doing a lot anyway. it is better to have power to go along with responsibilities instead of having responsibilities alone. Just choose the lesser evil.

That is exactly what the bosses want u to do. Work harder get promoted to work even harder, easy exploitation and there is no end to it. The general solution is to choose to say no to some requests once they start forcing u to go down this route.

uni_user

worse if you kena pushed up to manage some troublesome colleagues. For a little more money, much more stress and headache.

Senfai

Yes there are peopwho rejected a promotion because of this very issue.

The “promotion” was too much of a change. It is as good as changing 100% job scope. Like you got retrenched and forced into new role.

Instead of working on marketing design and media, it became a client-facing sales pitch role, days become flooded with meetings, managing up and down, internal and external.

The $300 increment didn’t justify the additional stress.

Senfai

worse if you kena pushed up to manage some troublesome colleagues. For a little more money, much more stress and headache.
Setup to fail.

Picture this:

$250 increment and a fancy team leader title to be in charge of the duty roster. But you have no power to hire additional headcount.

if anyone want to take leave, you become the bad guy to reject their leave if not enough people to fill the projects. If people take MC, you are the one to beg other people to cover, else you must ownself cover all the unfilled projects.

no additional pay for taking on more projects. “Included” in the $250.

vangug

are locals really so naive? people play politics and want to go up the snakes and ladder in the company not only for money... the chief prize is actually authority... the higher you go up the snake and ladder... the more authority you have to influence your own destiny in the company... once you reach high enough you also get to decide other employees destiny within the company... that's when you up level and play ridiculous politics where with your influence you decide the destiny of companies... any farmer or worker in SG's chief aim should be to reach director level by the time they're 40.... only then can you have a safe base to plan for retirement and play these ridiculous games to make or break companies....

Soracak

Then mg and agm Ad levels don't wan to sack these jlb ?

That is where office politics come in, which is not the point of this thread. In civil service, which is by far largest employer in sg, u also dun and u can’t anyhow sack ppl. Jlb so what, not yr money anyway.

elvintay07

I don’t like management role although I am in 1. Sibei politics. Need to protect your people get sometimes need to deal with cock request from some ppl. Want to wfh because cannot leave dog at home, or need to go early Zumba or pole dancing class etc….

charlieangel123

Something I see happening to quite a few friends hitting mid to late career in Singapore—especially those in tech, finance, or corporate roles.

Once people reach a certain stage (think late 30s onwards), there seems to be this invisible push to go into management. The logic is: if you want better pay, job security, and to stay “relevant”, you have to start managing people, aligning stakeholders, attending more meetings, etc.

But what if someone doesn’t like all that? Some folks genuinely just prefer to focus on their craft and be strong individual contributors (ICs). They don’t enjoy managing others or dealing with office politics.

A few questions for discussion:
  • Is management really the only viable path after mid-career?
  • Can staying as an IC still offer career growth and stability in Singapore?
  • In layoffs or restructures, who’s actually safer—ICs or managers?
  • Anyone here stuck to the IC path and didn’t regret it?

Would love to hear from folks here who’ve walked either road. Curious what worked for you and what didn’t.
please find below answers

• Is management really the only viable path after mid-career? NO
  • Can staying as an IC still offer career growth and stability in Singapore? YES
  • In layoffs or restructures, who’s actually safer—ICs or managers? IC

in most big companies, IC can go to senior staff , MTS, principal , fellow and scientist engineer.

this is eqquivalent to Manager, Senior manager, Director, Senior director and VP

swenson

Maverick ended with Captain
Iceman ended with 4-star Admiral

so, in terms of rank, who earns more? Up to you to decide whether go management or stay IC

grevq80o

Something I see happening to quite a few friends hitting mid to late career in Singapore—especially those in tech, finance, or corporate roles.

Once people reach a certain stage (think late 30s onwards), there seems to be this invisible push to go into management. The logic is: if you want better pay, job security, and to stay “relevant”, you have to start managing people, aligning stakeholders, attending more meetings, etc.

But what if someone doesn’t like all that? Some folks genuinely just prefer to focus on their craft and be strong individual contributors (ICs). They don’t enjoy managing others or dealing with office politics.

A few questions for discussion:
  • Is management really the only viable path after mid-career?
  • Can staying as an IC still offer career growth and stability in Singapore?
  • In layoffs or restructures, who’s actually safer—ICs or managers?

Would love to hear from folks here who’ve walked either road. Curious what worked for you and what didn’t.
Can be principal. If u teacher in moe can be senior teacher.

chari-men

Management is not everyone... Most go for the money (if the increment is substantial) but not everyone is suited to be a leader... Need to have some elements of passion if not very miserable down the road...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.