Mid Life Reflection

fandango

U r absolutely right. Still got stamp duties also n many other misc costs e.g. Reno + rental while waiting etc.
Hard to find a good size inter terrace that doesn't require A&A for under $4mil. Missed the boat already.

NardinJohn

U r absolutely right. Still got stamp duties also n many other misc costs e.g. Reno + rental while waiting etc.
I mean ppl need to understand how money works for us which in terms how the individual need to work or work harder to have money … the traditional way is of course being your own boss but yet not many ppl have tao Kay Mia then being a TK technically there will be greater sacrifices…. Then u accumulate your wealth at certain lvl perhaps 10-15 years later you start to up grade to a terrace .. and due to inflation things get more expensive and also so does those stuff u sell, right ? Whether assets or cash they move in par sub consciously ppl don’t realise … like u brought 4m 5 years back then you had to work on it for another 2 years by the time all done now your ppty already 8m … so now u of course very happy spending, right ? So do you complain it was expensive to buy 5 years back then do you complain I can’t have ppty cos I have not enough money to purchase ?! lol … the end game is talk is free … you need to action and see results … we have limited years in life to do it

jeremy1980

I mean ppl need to understand how money works for us which in terms how the individual need to work or work harder to have money … the traditional way is of course being your own boss but yet not many ppl have tao Kay Mia then being a TK technically there will be greater sacrifices…. Then u accumulate your wealth at certain lvl perhaps 10-15 years later you start to up grade to a terrace .. and due to inflation things get more expensive and also so does those stuff u sell, right ? Whether assets or cash they move in par sub consciously ppl don’t realise … like u brought 4m 5 years back then you had to work on it for another 2 years by the time all done now your ppty already 8m … so now u of course very happy spending, right ? So do you complain it was expensive to buy 5 years back then do you complain I can’t have ppty cos I have not enough money to purchase ?! lol … the end game is talk is free … you need to action and see results … we have limited years in life to do it
I'm not exactly clear what your long narrative is driving to?

sellbuyboy

too long hor..

Coffeelix

Just buy bto or resale in good location

Room rental under mop then consider selling

Or change to unit rental after mop
TIs is exactly what I suggested to my son.

The wait of 5 years for the bto to build has finished the resale flat mop.
Time is $ in business…

Coffeelix

I mentioned before a radical idea lah which is to get a divorce

Some couples actually do that to min-max their profit margin
Ooi ooi ooi …
It is illegal to decouple anymore…
Also sending the wrong messages to your kids…
Bad example …
We can always make $ but not in this way.
I know of a friend who did it…
I totally lost my respect for her and keep my distance since…
Can do anything for $ speaks volume of her …

Yuripa

Ooi ooi ooi …
It is illegal to decouple anymore…
Also sending the wrong messages to your kids…
Bad example …
We can always make $ but not in this way.
I know of a friend who did it…
I totally lost my respect for her and keep my distance since…
Can do anything for $ speaks volume of her …
This one personal preference liao so I cant comment much

More importantly, I didn't know decouple to purchase private property/hdb was illegal

I only know 99/1% is illegal lah

Thanks for sharing!!

MoeLanYong

This one personal preference liao so I cant comment much

More importantly, I didn't know decouple to purchase private property/hdb was illegal

I only know 99/1% is illegal lah

Thanks for sharing!!

Decoupling is not illegal. Don't have to tell kids or anyone. I considered it. But in the end too lazy to chiong another hdb.

Sometimes, people overplan their retirement. When older, we need less, not more.

jeremy1980

I mentioned before a radical idea lah which is to get a divorce

Some couples actually do that to min-max their profit margin
Divorce already I can buy hdb? Single parent can buy 5 rm hdb or nt?

Yuripa

Divorce already I can buy hdb? Single parent can buy 5 rm hdb or nt?
Singles in Singapore can buy a 2-room Flexi flat, whether it's a new flat from Build-to-Order (BTO) or a resale flat, in any location. Additionally, they can buy Standard or Plus flats of any size (excluding 3Gen flats) in the resale market. For resale Prime flats, they can buy a 2-room Flexi Prime flat.
Here's a more detailed breakdown:
New Flats (BTO):
Singles can apply for 2-room Flexi flats in all locations across Standard, Plus, and Prime projects.
Resale Flats:
All flat types (except 3Gen flats) in Standard and Plus locations.
2-room Flexi flats in Prime locations.
Eligibility:
To qualify, you need to be a Singapore citizen, a first-time homebuyer, at least 35 years old (unmarried, divorced, or widowed), and meet the income ceiling requirements for certain flat types.

If you buy using your children's name its no longer under single scheme liao

It will be under family nucleus scheme

https://www.hdb.gov.sg/about-us/new...ons/hdbspeaks/helping-singleparent-households

jeremy1980

Singles in Singapore can buy a 2-room Flexi flat, whether it's a new flat from Build-to-Order (BTO) or a resale flat, in any location. Additionally, they can buy Standard or Plus flats of any size (excluding 3Gen flats) in the resale market. For resale Prime flats, they can buy a 2-room Flexi Prime flat.
Here's a more detailed breakdown:
New Flats (BTO):
Singles can apply for 2-room Flexi flats in all locations across Standard, Plus, and Prime projects.
Resale Flats:
All flat types (except 3Gen flats) in Standard and Plus locations.
2-room Flexi flats in Prime locations.
Eligibility:
To qualify, you need to be a Singapore citizen, a first-time homebuyer, at least 35 years old (unmarried, divorced, or widowed), and meet the income ceiling requirements for certain flat types.

If you buy using your children's name its no longer under single scheme liao

It will be under family nucleus scheme

https://www.hdb.gov.sg/about-us/new...ons/hdbspeaks/helping-singleparent-households
Thanks for sharing. Very informative. But divorcing to get hdb a bit extreme I think.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.