Mid Life Reflection

esandwich

Just sold off my FH 3 bedder. 45yr old.

Now sitting on $1.1m in cash and $0.815m in cpf (500k ordinary, 75k medi, 240k special)

Am I doing ok?

Any good advice on how to invest my cash+cpf?
the reflection you get here and in other forums (eg ppty, car brand forums, porsche club) will be quite different.

for me, you are not poor but not rich. you have no ppty so any purchase gonna wipe out most of what you have. alternate view, most of the current pte owners are basically in same financial state as you.

end of the day, most of the middle class group is actually same same but different. so maybe thats why need to ask if im ok. the 2 ends of the spectrum - the poor and real rich wont bother. always the middle class :)

fandango

TS, I would have hold on to the 3 bedder FH apartment. But I know you have your reasons, so water under the bridge already.

I will now:

1. For each of the 3 kids, transfer $20k from your OA into their SA.

2. The children schools location will determine your next property purchase. Wait 30 months, buy a cheap resale flat. This will be your home/base.

3. Concurrently, "strategise" such that you buy a private property AFTER buying the resale flat, and try to avoid ABSD

jeremy1980

TS, I would have hold on to the 3 bedder FH apartment. But I know you have your reasons, so water under the bridge already.

I will now:

1. For each of the 3 kids, transfer $20k from your OA into their SA.

2. The children schools location will determine your next property purchase. Wait 30 months, buy a cheap resale flat. This will be your home/base.

3. Concurrently, "strategise" such that you buy a private property AFTER buying the resale flat, and try to avoid ABSD
I'll consider pt 1.

For pt 2, my spouse owns a private. I guess I can't buy any hdb at all unless she sell hers?

Yuripa

I'll consider pt 1.

For pt 2, my spouse owns a private. I guess I can't buy any hdb at all unless she sell hers?
Divorce her and take your time to get a good location hdb but try to find a 4 room flat unit that is priced as low as possible, can consider getting lower floor units.

HDB rental yield is 7% pa. I can't believe my ex-colleague rented out his 4 room hdb at $4300.

I think even if you do room rentals, you should be able to lease out at minimum $1.1k for common room.

sellbuyboy

Just sold off my FH 3 bedder. 45yr old.

Now sitting on $1.1m in cash and $0.815m in cpf (500k ordinary, 75k medi, 240k special)

Am I doing ok?

Any good advice on how to invest my cash+cpf?
Still got property to stay?

elloz123

the reflection you get here and in other forums (eg ppty, car brand forums, porsche club) will be quite different.

for me, you are not poor but not rich. you have no ppty so any purchase gonna wipe out most of what you have. alternate view, most of the current pte owners are basically in same financial state as you.

end of the day, most of the middle class group is actually same same but different. so maybe thats why need to ask if im ok. the 2 ends of the spectrum - the poor and real rich wont bother. always the middle class :)
Exactly but the boomer only wants to feel good about himself. Coping with black holes etc 😂😂

sellbuyboy

I feel TS is doing good leh. Asset despite no property now seems healthy and the fact, he has 3 kids. Quite amazing cashflow control?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.