Minix Neo G4

Gixxer1000

waiting for mine to reach......

Would prefer if it is jelly bean though

just received G4 via post from a Hong Kong retailer. Tested it and here's my review :

- i guessing $4 or more goes to the packaging? FULL details on the boxing itself. And first time i see a product got qr code and facebook support page ( or maybe that's just me haha). packaging is enough to confirm that this player is not your average china-made ones. Took the trouble to print those details and a presentable box.

- boot up is twice faster than a china android player (bought for fun, $70 only) i bought 2 months back

- wifi stronger too. WEP/WPA no problemo.

- used it to download some apps and games. smooth, no lag. tried playing some movies with my ext hdd. Movie size up to 1gb+ no problem. but failed when playing 20GB The avengers. downloaded different players that support mkv, can play, but super jerky. Maybe if play from SD card will be faster? not sure. dun have micro SD card. Appreciate if some1 can assist on this issue.

- more access to google store. Apparently i compared my 2 android players, g4 have more category pages and really could find my apps under SEARCH function.

- need another help here. dunno how to change from their interface to the standard android one. i prefer having my own background pic and theme. Their's is a very simple one. Good but not for me haha.

- 2 hours in, than i realise i forgot to close previous programs. click bottom left, and found out i was running with 20 apps !! 6 video apps on the 20gb avengers, 5 games, google store, not sure settings counts as one or not, browser, explorer, email, facebook, spiderman 3d wallpaper, forgot what else.

- lastly, heard that droidmate and airplaydmr can work with g4, haven try yet cuz i only got iphone, no android phones. cannot test.

Hope got more reviews coming in. Would like to exchange experience on G4, provided i got time haha.

Which site did you buy from?

pOki7

Have place order for a Neo X5, probably coming in first week of Dec. Will let u guys know about its performance then :D

coyote

can pm me the link you made the purchased. thks.

contemplating between X5 and the astone A108.

the later is available from local shops telling me couple of webcam models it works with.

X5, has audio and mic out, so as long as the video on the webcam works, it should work with Skype.

share your experience, i may get one also.

Have place order for a Neo X5, probably coming in first week of Dec. Will let u guys know about its performance then :D

pOki7

can pm me the link you made the purchased. thks.

contemplating between X5 and the astone A108.

the later is available from local shops telling me couple of webcam models it works with.

X5, has audio and mic out, so as long as the video on the webcam works, it should work with Skype.

share your experience, i may get one also.
getting it from a friend there. I am also getting a air mouse to see if it works well with the X5. Stay Tune :s12:

Biosector

Yup, I just saw the sitex brochures. Wish it wasn't Amconics that's selling it bec they have not been very upfront about some of their previous products like the Asiabox streaming tv box (lots of complaints) and the chuwi tablet.

They are also selling at a ridiculous S$199 when you can buy online for only US$73!

Erm.. just checked my receipt bought from sls. Amconics technology pte ltd. I don't have much to complain about them about the previous asiabox thingie cause i got my asiabox exchanged for mr cloud. quite satisfied on it for now though with some minor bugs here and there.

Anyways, i bargained from the pushcart on lev4 for $220 with extra F10 airmouse with keyboard, wireless mouse, and their special cloud program. Just realised they now selling at $188 at expo now SIAN !! And with the same free gifts !! KNS should have waited for SITEX.. can save 32 bucks to buy halo 4 lol.

- @Aroura: For the interface changing method, they replied me on email saying, Click on Browser, Click on Home button (bottom left), den 3 options will appear, Click on gallery, and you'll get the standard android interface instead of minix interface.

- The cloud program works fine so far so good. Got skyfall, ted, RE5 movie, walking dead season 3 epi 6, and my favourite Last resort. Can do search, change of category and latest content updates. But definitely not as good as what asiabox could provide previously, multiple filters of country/year and such.
one thing impressive is that, you can download it on multiple android platforms and use the same serial number. but only 1 android device can be online though.

- Airmouse kinda hard to control cause quite sensitive, but once you get used to it, better ba. same as when i first bought Wii, couldnt control the damn cursor. LOL

in1996

Yup, I just saw the sitex brochures. Wish it wasn't Amconics that's selling it bec they have not been very upfront about some of their previous products like the Asiabox streaming tv box (lots of complaints) and the chuwi tablet.

They are also selling at a ridiculous S$199 when you can buy online for only US$73!

a shop in Sim Lim square by the name of Classic dynasty selling this RK3066 Dual core + Quad Core graphics MINIX Neo G4 @$99 only. why pay extra $100 to buy at Sitex show?

photo taken at sim lim square lift lobby:

MINIX_S_88.jpg

surefire888

SLS selling @$88 only. why pay extra $100 to buy at Sitex show?

photo taken at sim lim square lift lobby:

MINIX_S_88.jpg

If that is really the same Neo G4 then its a very good price. But someone, i am suspicious - there shouldnt be such a huge difference between 2 SL shops. And most MIC imported products like tablets and handphones are priced higher than the online prices. Maybe there are conditions or it could be a clone of a Chinese brand (not unheard of!). If anyone happens to check it out, please share yr findings here

nats7798

this looks interesting.. any reviews from anyone here?

can this be used to stream live football?

nats7798

for those concern about keyboard and wireless mouse, you actually can dl droidmote client (needs root) and server..

you can convert your droid phone into a remote control..

im tempted to get the G4.. is it a pre-rooted device?

feedbacks?

rae0819

anyone know how i can change to typing chinese characters using the G4 keyboard interface??

nats7798

just check with amconics (sim lim), they selling Neo G4 at $188 (IT show price.. if purchase by this week)

online is USD77

Just Me

just check with amconics (sim lim), they selling Neo G4 at $188 (IT show price.. if purchase by this week)

online is USD77
Amconics.. if online can get USD77 who in their right mind will buy it from them at $188 (Only for Sitex) and $2xx normal price..

IMO, the only thing worth is their IT cloud player which needs a code? Anybody want to share it? :D

Not to mention for a few more bucks, can ship via DHL too and it's only USD81 : http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Remo...V-Box-Media-Player-1GB-RAM-8GB/694709499.html

Just Me

for those concern about keyboard and wireless mouse, you actually can dl droidmote client (needs root) and server..

you can convert your droid phone into a remote control..

im tempted to get the G4.. is it a pre-rooted device?

feedbacks?
Amconics website has a root guide for the Neo G4..

After u root it.. you can leave them a msg... "I paid a fraction of the price for the G4 and used your root guide.. kam sia li kepoh :D "

nats7798

Amconics website has a root guide for the Neo G4..

After u root it.. you can leave them a msg... "I paid a fraction of the price for the G4 and used your root guide.. kam sia li kepoh :D "

haha i wont do that la.. this is as good as trashing their rice bowl..

those who bother to do their homework will research here and manage to get kangtao at lower price..

however, buying online if faulty set is damn mafan..

if buy at sim lim effectively is majiam got local warranty lo.. but not for me.. since all is MIC

nats7798

Amconics.. if online can get USD77 who in their right mind will buy it from them at $188 (Only for Sitex) and $2xx normal price..

IMO, the only thing worth is their IT cloud player which needs a code? Anybody want to share it? :D

Not to mention for a few more bucks, can ship via DHL too and it's only USD81 : Remote Control MINIX NEO G4 Dual Core Pocket PC TV Box Media Player 1GB RAM 8GB Flash Cortex A9 1PC China Post Free Shipping-in Set-top Boxes from Consumer Electronics on Aliexpress.com

wah bro i paid usd16 bucks more.. this sucks lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.