moi need to talk

huanggua

If you move, you are giving up on yourself. There is always room for improvement.

cosmothecat

moi RO told me yesterday that he wants to extend my probation for 3 months due to "alignment" issues. I'm given the choice to either proceed with that or serve my notice. currently working at a statboard as an external payroll.

moi just feel that the JD was not well defined, as it was a "new" role by them, and in the first few weeks/months, nobody in the team had a clear understanding of what i am suppose to do, which ended up taking on stuff that is related to my title, then end up like that lo. but i dont want to point finger say who wrong or who right, cos i know i maybe should've done better do meet boss expectation/ideas of the role.

spend the whole night thinking, how to proceed with this. 70% of me says should just serve the 2 weeks and take a break/or ask my parent coy if theres any possible chance to transfer to different agency/role. i know market now tough, but if i take the 3 months extension, i also know i wont make it, given my boss lofty ideas of the role. other than that, i think i performed my assigned tasks properly

just want to get this off my chest. moi ish late 20s nia. first time fail probation jin sians nao. :frown:
You quite self aware.

Basically at the workplace, what you have said in bold is the core job scope. Doesn't matter what given to you is related or not related to your job scope on paper.

Based on my years of experiences, your best course of action is to jump ship to another company. Bosses usually remember deeply your bad points and you will always be ranked lower in their mind going forward.

FORSTA

depends on whether you're willing to take up the challenge. the belief part is the most crucial. if you believe you won't make it, then you have already failed before even attempting.
this is the fact of life. it won't be forever according to plan, if you can't adapt to the demands and adjust yourself over time, then it's gonna be tough.

5adisticD3vil

alignment issue?

another way of saying you dun fit the team or you dun bbbj him like others do.

Sforthought

moi RO told me yesterday that he wants to extend my probation for 3 months due to "alignment" issues. I'm given the choice to either proceed with that or serve my notice. currently working at a statboard as an external payroll.

moi just feel that the JD was not well defined, as it was a "new" role by them, and in the first few weeks/months, nobody in the team had a clear understanding of what i am suppose to do, which ended up taking on stuff that is related to my title, then end up like that lo. but i dont want to point finger say who wrong or who right, cos i know i maybe should've done better do meet boss expectation/ideas of the role.

spend the whole night thinking, how to proceed with this. 70% of me says should just serve the 2 weeks and take a break/or ask my parent coy if theres any possible chance to transfer to different agency/role. i know market now tough, but if i take the 3 months extension, i also know i wont make it, given my boss lofty ideas of the role. other than that, i think i performed my assigned tasks properly

just want to get this off my chest. moi ish late 20s nia. first time fail probation jin sians nao. :frown:

Late 20s just use the opportunity to quit and travel abit. abit I means min 6 months. SEA also good.

huattoeat

spoke with my boss again, first thing i said was, i want to work things out, ask him what concrete things he want me to achieve.

he say no concrete things, then keep harp on that 1 incident where i didn't stand up for the team and just blindly follow authority (i was just following proper process).

after that say many nice things, expect big things from moi, got chance promote in the future, etc. make moi giddy.

In my mind, after he couldn't gave me anything concrete, i just turn off my brain and just hmm hmm ok ok him already, cos end of the day, he nvr confirm moi.

Boss macham like manipulative gf.

shall dust off my resume and find new jod bah.

DulanMax

I know this is the logical choice, but become i go work with half baked attitude, dont like that feeling.

If want do things, will do properly. Moi is just honest hardworking chap.
Looking for job doesn't mean cannot do your current work properly

Notbbfa

Upz for this... Always go for choice of highest sustainability... Keep earning while possible then look for somewhere else in the meantime... :s12::frown:
Extend and look for a new job, as suggested by many....
My advice is to take the 3 months extended probation and start looking for a new job at the same time. Meanwhile, continue to aim for confirmation in your current job. It's not easy so jiayou!
Once are on same page as management regarding the type of attitude/ performance that is needed, take another 3 months to find out whether you can satisfy their requirement - MEAN TIME FIND ANOTHER JOB...
Extend and actively search for new job. This one seems like the dept just want additional headcount just incase only.
Take 3 months extension to look for another jod

:(

What if after 3 months still cannot find new job? How to explain to interviewers like that? Job market bad now.

devilcup

What if after 3 months still cannot find new job? How to explain to interviewers like that? Job market bad now.
Extend 3 months is to buy time and oso at the same time see any situation change. Looking at the last post from TS... It seems like the boss bo chap

devilcup

spoke with my boss again, first thing i said was, i want to work things out, ask him what concrete things he want me to achieve.

he say no concrete things, then keep harp on that 1 incident where i didn't stand up for the team and just blindly follow authority (i was just following proper process).

after that say many nice things, expect big things from moi, got chance promote in the future, etc. make moi giddy.

In my mind, after he couldn't gave me anything concrete, i just turn off my brain and just hmm hmm ok ok him already, cos end of the day, he nvr confirm moi.

Boss macham like manipulative gf.

shall dust off my resume and find new jod bah.
Take care, sometimes it is the workplace that let you down, no point keep on working on it.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.