money changer

Ruriel

Changed 5.73 at arcade today. :(

You managed to get smaller notes at arcade ma? Got once I changed there and they give me all 1k notes... Headache sia, have to go HK banks and change to smaller ones...

Whisper

You managed to get smaller notes at arcade ma? Got once I changed there and they give me all 1k notes... Headache sia, have to go HK banks and change to smaller ones...

$1k 8 pcs....I never ask for smaller notes leh. Why huh? $1k cannot use? Don't scare me leh.

Ruriel

$1k 8 pcs....I never ask for smaller notes leh. Why huh? $1k cannot use? Don't scare me leh.

Er... Not say cannot use, some smaller shops will reject coz scared fake note. I changed at fountain coz they willing to give small notes. My biggest note is hkd500.

Whisper

Er... Not say cannot use, some smaller shops will reject coz scared fake note. I changed at fountain coz they willing to give small notes. My biggest note is hkd500.
I changed $1.5k..then I get 8 pcs of $1k and 1 pc $500..

Because I also change ntd.. So he ask me top up a bit for ntd so I get swee swee figure for hkd.

at airport buy octopus card.. I will ask my mom queue behind me so we can use $1k note each. :(

Then at 7-11 buy sim card I will use 1 pc.

So left 5 pcs.. How huh??

Ruriel

I changed $1.5k..then I get 8 pcs of $1k and 1 pc $500..

Because I also change ntd.. So he ask me top up a bit for ntd so I get swee swee figure for hkd.

at airport buy octopus card.. I will ask my mom queue behind me so we can use $1k note each. :(

Then at 7-11 buy sim card I will use 1 pc.

So left 5 pcs.. How huh??

Going theme parks or anywhere that need to purchase admission tickets or not? Can use it when buying tickets together I guess, since ticket prices not cheap.

Whisper

Going theme parks or anywhere that need to purchase admission tickets or not? Can use it when buying tickets together I guess, since ticket prices not cheap.

Not going theme parks.. Not going citygate buy branded stuff as well.. :(

Street food if pay with $500 will kena scolded?

Ruriel

Not going theme parks.. Not going citygate buy branded stuff as well.. :(

Street food if pay with $500 will kena scolded?

Well you can try... They should be more understanding towards tourists ba? If really everywhere turn you away, just go into banks and change to smaller notes lor.

$500 not so bad. You can use $500 pay for one bottle of mineral water at Watson's and use the loose change for street food lor.

Whisper

Well you can try... They should be more understanding towards tourists ba? If really everywhere turn you away, just go into banks and change to smaller notes lor.

$500 not so bad. You can use $500 pay for one bottle of mineral water at Watson's and use the loose change for street food lor.

Tks for advice.. Means go those more established shops.. Like kfc and mcdonalds should be ok as well I guess.

Wow.. Just googled..smallest denominator is $10.

Does hk have coins?

luei74

can also go to any Bank (open at 9am) change to a smaller notes...try b4 3 mths ago...

Ruriel

Tks for advice.. Means go those more established shops.. Like kfc and mcdonalds should be ok as well I guess.

Wow.. Just googled..smallest denominator is $10.

Does hk have coins?

Yes, have coins..

Whisper

Change to smaller notes at banks in hk need to pay any admin charges?

Is it all banks can change?

darkmatt

er.

im going to macau and shenzhen for my next hk trip.

would it be better to change to macau dollars and china RMB in hk, or change all here

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.