Money Saving Techniques

seniorcare

i'm still their member but being marked as inactive. i haven't received their emails for the longest time leh. already forgot about them.

still have emails once a week i think?
of course not as many as last time. last time there was a lot of surveys and paid adverts going around.
got some telesurveys or visit some offices watch video and take surveys, i remember earning $120 pocket money for 30minutes of work.

nowadays not so much liao.... got a lot of those spammy 5 secs pages on the internet though. annoying.

hyperbole

of course not as many as last time. last time there was a lot of surveys and paid adverts going around.
got some telesurveys or visit some offices watch video and take surveys, i remember earning $120 pocket money for 30minutes of work.

nowadays not so much liao.... got a lot of those spammy 5 secs pages on the internet though. annoying.

i never got any emails from them le. dunno why. i checked spam folder also don't have. the earnings rate so low per email also that i think will take 10 years before i can even cash out a reward.

neanea

How and where to register?

slogd3ad

It's been a year plus I've been working and savings... just to share my savings.
Am planning to open a new bank account to separate my savings and expenses... is it good to have two POSB saving accounts or just open from other bank companies.

[Expenses]
Phone bills: SGD60
Ez-link: SGD100
Parents: SGD200

[Savings]
Bank-in: SGD1000 (usually consistent...if not got cheat month.. less SGD100-200..)... for future me later.

[Balance from Expenses]
Balance: SGS240 (more or less)...

[Cheat]
MRT Travel Smart Rewards: Monthly able to earn (read: get back tax money) SGD4 - 12
Foods: Eat home cooked food at office

Iseeyou888

I've been working for 2 years and have been consistently saving up. I am a financial adviser myself hence I always try to advise my clients to try to do the same.

As a self-employed, my salary is not fixed and I do not contribute to my CPF.

For this purpose, I will take my salary to be about $4k.

In this instance, I lose out to all employed persons out there because I have to set aside 17% on top of the 20% which your boss will pay to you.

"CPF" = $1480 (37%)
I save this amount in OCBC 360 which will generate higher interest for me because I could fulfill some of the criteria. This is the account that my salary is credited into.

I am left with $2520. I will try to save 30-40%, hence $1008.

Savings = $1008 (40%)

$2520 - $1008 = $1512

Insurance = $300
Mother allowance = $250
Transport = $100
Tax = $100
Entertainment/Food = $762

I also will slowly save up to set aside for an emergency fund. It will be about 4-6 months of your monthly expenses, in case of unforeseen circumstances like retrenchment and when your friends start to throw wedding bombs at you.

On top of that, I will attend focus group and surveys to make extra cash. I hope it helps!!! :)

Remember the ultimate rule: Pay yourself first before you pay others.

savetotravel

for married people earning 4k with kids, possible to save 1k monthly?

Now i have only 1kid. Planning to have #2 soon. Currently earning abt 4k. We do nt have car no maid. I can save min 1k every mth excluding other saving plans in insurance. Hopefully this can maintain even after we have #2

unhinged_loon

I've been working for 2 years and have been consistently saving up. I am a financial adviser myself hence I always try to advise my clients to try to do the same.

As a self-employed, my salary is not fixed and I do not contribute to my CPF.

For this purpose, I will take my salary to be about $4k.

In this instance, I lose out to all employed persons out there because I have to set aside 17% on top of the 20% which your boss will pay to you.

"CPF" = $1480 (37%)
I save this amount in OCBC 360 which will generate higher interest for me because I could fulfill some of the criteria. This is the account that my salary is credited into.

I am left with $2520. I will try to save 30-40%, hence $1008.

Savings = $1008 (40%)

$2520 - $1008 = $1512

Insurance = $300
Mother allowance = $250
Transport = $100
Tax = $100
Entertainment/Food = $762

I also will slowly save up to set aside for an emergency fund. It will be about 4-6 months of your monthly expenses, in case of unforeseen circumstances like retrenchment and when your friends start to throw wedding bombs at you.

On top of that, I will attend focus group and surveys to make extra cash. I hope it helps!!! :)

Remember the ultimate rule: Pay yourself first before you pay others.

My golden rule: set aside savings first, then spend for the month.

When I say savings, I don't mean savings for deferred spending (eg. holidays or car). I mean saving for retirement.

spiritGate

Meaning after cpf your take home is 4K right? Your 4K is total household income?

Now i have only 1kid. Planning to have #2 soon. Currently earning abt 4k. We do nt have car no maid. I can save min 1k every mth excluding other saving plans in insurance. Hopefully this can maintain even after we have #2

savetotravel

Meaning after cpf your take home is 4K right? Your 4K is total household income?

Hi
my take home after cpf is 3.3k
My hubby earn almost same as me. So our total tk home is abt 6.5k after cpf. I save 1k and he save 1k too. Then both of us contribute $700 each to our joint acct. Joint acct mainly for my gal's ifc fee, insurance n her expenses like diapers and milk powder. We do gv parents monthly allowance. And also we have to pay our own monthly insurance.
Overall, still can survive. We seldom eat restaurants but maybe once a mth. We also go holiday once a yr.
Now planning #2. Maybe after #2 lifestyle have to change again

havetheveryfun

am a 29 yo male here .. with alr a net worth of alr 400k (incl CPF).

I have quite a well-paying job and own a car, yet I still save about 70-80% of my income (incl CPF and bonuses).
p.s. best part is am not a lwayer, doctor, banker lol

the missing piece of the puzzle here is how much does ur "well-paying job" pays? My guess is at least 4-5k before CPF deduction or more. Mind sharing which industry also ?

slogd3ad

It's been a year plus I've been working and savings... just to share my savings.
Am planning to open a new bank account to separate my savings and expenses... is it good to have two POSB saving accounts or just open from other bank companies.

[Expenses]
Phone bills: SGD60
Ez-link: SGD100
Parents: SGD200

[Savings]
Bank-in: SGD1000 (usually consistent...if not got cheat month.. less SGD100-200..)... for future me later.

[Balance from Expenses]
Balance: SGS240 (more or less)...

[Cheat]
MRT Travel Smart Rewards: Monthly able to earn (read: get back tax money) SGD4 - 12
Foods: Eat home cooked food at office

Finally after a year and a half of working.. I've reached 10k target.
Still going strong~ It's not easy though for people like me with this kind of income. But luckily I'm blessed with a strict discipline on savings since at young age, and always buy when need and not want (but there will always be a cheat day :3 )

Next goal 20k.

My concern is when I get starting a family, all those savings will be back to square one. 😭

havetheveryfun

Still going strong~ It's not easy though for people like me with this kind of income. But luckily I'm blessed with a strict discipline on savings since at young age, and always buy when need and not want (but there will always be a cheat day :3 )

Next goal 20k.

My concern is when I get starting a family, all those savings will be back to square one. 😭

good job.. keep it up...

try to find ways to increase your income but retain the same amount of spending.. then u huat

hogrider88

Next goal 20k.

Dont let that scare u. With ur habits and discipline im sure u can do it. Govt baby bonus will tide u thru the short term.

My mthly salary as a civil servant nw is lower than most of my frens. With a baby 8 mths now my savings still got increase.. slowly, becuz u dont hv time to go out for gathering and spend money haha

The only thing that mde my savings square 1 was house reno.

akwl88

Dont let that scare u. With ur habits and discipline im sure u can do it. Govt baby bonus will tide u thru the short term.

My mthly salary as a civil servant nw is lower than most of my frens. With a baby 8 mths now my savings still got increase.. slowly, becuz u dont hv time to go out for gathering and spend money haha

how much did you spend on your house reno?

havetheveryfun

but if the person doesnt even go out for gatherings much in the first place?

greythorne

i intend to open another account purely savings for emergency funds. Right now with BOC what other bank to open to get high interest rates without any criteria like salary credit, $500 card spent blah blah...

Thank you

sentsggirls

i intend to open another account purely savings for emergency funds. Right now with BOC what other bank to open to get high interest rates without any criteria like salary credit, $500 card spent blah blah...

Thank you
CIMB fastsaver account
1% without any terms and conditions.
very good

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.